We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but could offer more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but could offer more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in the Marina in early July with our three children.We had an interconnecting room,which was great as they had their own bathroom which is a must with teenage girls!The rooms were fine,the beds great(very comfortable!),the balcony furniture ok,although a bit flimsy for a four star hotel!The rooms were cleaned daily,but at times not very thoroughly as our floors were filthy.We did get onto reception about it and had it sorted.On the plus side,we had fresh towels daily.

The hotel staff were helpful and courteous generally,especially in the bar.However,we did have an issue with our booking at reception,which was only spotted on our second week and with the kind help of Robert,it was all sorted.In light of that,I would say reception staff do need to brush up on their skills as our situation could have been avoided,as it hadn't been spotted on four separate occasions! The only other issue with staff would be the poolside bar,they were very slow to help and would leave you standing at the counter,came across as being a bit rude.
The hotel offers a courtesy bus to Valetta every morning,which is great if you can get on it!I would suggest a ticketing system(other hotels operate this successfully),as we had the experience of being first out to que,but not getting on the bus as a result of rude people pushing ahead,not nice!
The food in the hotel is good,lovely fresh fruit at breakfast,a good choice for dinner....loved the desserts!The bar menu was great and reasonably priced.
The pools were great,although the smaller ones seem to be open to the public who tend to take over and are very noisy.We tended to use the sister hotels pool,which my kids loved!

In relation to the area of St George,I was a bit disappointed.It's full of students,the noise is awful at night once you walk down the hill from the hotel and the beach area is filthy and smelly after a night of drinking,we never set foot on it.We actually had the experience of trying to have an evening in a local bar when an awful drink fueled fight broke out among a crowd of youths,not pleasant at all.Thankfully the hotel is far enough away from it,but could benefit from this if they put on a bit of evening entertainment as they have a very spacious bar area which we would have used more.The only other choice is Henry J Beans,which is not great....food awful and service worse.

Disappointed with the area but nice hotel

Room Tip: Definitely upper floor sea/bay view....lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting certain aspects that might have in some way hindered the enjoyment of your stay. We are currently looking into each and every comment and I can assure you that the relative action will be taken to avoid similar occurrences.
Should you plan another visit to Malta please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    710
    171
    57
    15
See reviews for
416
933
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

we have stayed at the corinthia 5 times and once again we were treated as friends . the staff can never do enough to help . joseh saydon the concierge is a mine of information if joe cant help then he knows who can . the small waiter Paul is a star ,nothing is to much trouble for him .Raymond who also works in the resturant is another who always has a smile and a greeting anytime of the day .If sunbathing is for you we have never seen the areas around both anything but clean , like the rest of the hotel . the rooms are great and the housekeeping a good standard .pity the old busses are being replaced as this has been a great part of the holiday fun even if they where over croweded and noisy .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anglia023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Dear Guest,
It is always of great satisfaction to have team members mentioned on review sites. The Management has already forwarded your review to the team members concerned and all of them appreciated your kind comments.
On behalf of the Management & Staff we all look forward to your sixth visit !
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit.

With kind regards,


Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
328 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We booked the Marina, rather than the sister one, that is chaper and perhaps less glamorous, but when you are in a sea resort, and you can use all the facilities, does it makes any difference?
Rooms are clean and size is ok to sleep, there is a balcony facing the marina. Airconditioning is working fine. perhaps annoying in the bathroom the fan noise..
As facilities there are 2 small swimming pools and a big one, a beach volley playground and lots of deckchairs. there is no beach, but access to the sea is guaranteed by a rocky beach with swimming pool like ladders (quite common in this area of malta).
Also you need to consider that locationwise, the corinthia is 5 minutes walk from peaceville, the heart of the Maltese night.. if you really cannot stand rock.. also towards peaceville (3 minutes from your room), there is a public sandy beach with a night bar on the beach.. that is also pickup location for the Malta Sighseeing and nearby you has busses to other nice places in Malta..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Management & Staff we would like to thank you for your kind comments. Should you plan to visit Malta once again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week when on business in Malta. I was harged €130 per night B&B rate.

The staff first of all were very efficient and welcoming. Thats the best thing about this hotel, they have managed to strike the right balance of helping when needed without being overbearing and intrusive.

The rooms were average, looking a little tired. Bathroom could do with regrouting and replacement of scratched / damaged handles. Aircon worked well so at least a good nights sleep could be had.

The hotel is on a steep bank by the harbour so may be difficult to reach for some.

The hotel located 200m from Pacheville (or Vomit city as the locals have told me). I had no idea that Malta had this Malia / Faliraki type pub scene. Fortunately the 4 streets of pubs is just far enough away for no noise to reach the hotel. I noted that there were other hotels right in the middle of it all (Intercontinental for example) that would be terrible for noise. The party is still in full swing by 4am full of teenagers from the island and parts of Italy in the main who come to St Juliens for the English colleges and schools.

Its sister hotel the St George looks bigger and has more facilities but you are free to use them without restriction and, as as its next door, there is a seemless link from one to the other.

One are for improvement is the breakfast. Quite poor really without variation. Cereals were poor quality as was the cooked breakfast with the plus side being the fresh fruit.

For a Maltese experience this is not the area you want to be in. Its quite expensive and because of the pubs / clubs you could be anywhere in the Med. Decent, quiet restaurants and those with passion for the local cusine are a long walk away.

Room Tip: Best to get a sea view on floors 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsnotclubbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and we are pleased to note that team members have provided the excellent service we are well known for.
Please do not hesitate to contact me on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt in the event that you, or any of your friends/family, decide to visit the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,
Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Myself and my now husband stayed in the Marina the week of the 2th July. We had a large group booking as we were getting married in a neighbouring hotel but stayed at the Marina due to it's cheaper rates. We were upgraded to a Suite which was beautiful with 2 balconies one of which had a fantastic sea-view.

The rooms were very well kept and after speaking to one of the managers we found out it had only recently been refurbished which explains this. As others have already said the beds were really nice and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and fresh. Not the most chic of places but definitely smart and comfortable. Any issues we had were dealt with quick and efficiently. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I only went to one of the pools but supposedly between the Marina and the Corinthia there are 5 to use and access to the sea also. Plenty of sun loungers too. Drink was well priced, very well by comparison to the hotel where the wedding was which charged Irish prices. Really well when you went to the bar at happy hour!

Overall I would highly recommend the hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGrauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Management & Staff we would like to thank you for your kind comments. It is of great satisfaction to note that your expectations were indeed exceeded.

In the event that you plan to travel over to Malta once again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Lovely sea view from our balcony,very comfortable beds the best ever,bathroom a good size,everything lovely and clean in room.Plenty of sunbeds always around the pool,quite a lot of noise from Paceville at night which could be heard from balcony.Good selection for breakfast every morning but tended to be only luke warm.Waitresses and bar staff all very pleasant .Snacks obtainable from bar area were very good value and very nice,but avoid Henry J Beans restaurant at all costs food wasnt up to standard waiter didnt care when told.Wouldnt return to St Georges bay but would return to malta.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to note that your experience at the Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort was indeed a memorable one. We are also looking into your comment on Henry J Beans to identify the cause for your disappointment with regards to the food served and the service you were offered. On behalf of the Management, I apologise for failing to provide the level of service Henry J. Beans is well known for.
Should you consider returning at the Marina Hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We (couple) headed off to Malta for a week for a friend's wedding, which was at the Radisson. The Marina had everything we wanted. The beds in room were the compfiest and biggest I have ever been on...brill night's sleep, had very large sea view balcony and modern bathroom. They even emptied the minibar for me so I could use for water, after sun etc which was great. The best thing about this hotel are the pools (plural!). Between the corinthia and marina there are about 5 swimming pools and around 8 restaurants/ cafes. We spent most of our time at the pools so having lunch options was brill. The beach at St Julians does not look nice at all. It is full of rubbish, quite small and very overcrowded so we did not even go once!

The staff were really friendly and I can not fault the hotel. The only thing I would say that rooms are not ultra modern/ stylish. But you would expect that in Malta. Would recommend to a friend!

Room Tip: booking.com or contact hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtyminx2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Management & Staff, I would like to thank you for your kind comments and recommendations.

It has been truly a pleasure to host you at the Marina Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing