We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and very happy customers, we've been coming to this hotel for over 10 years and will continue to do so.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and very happy customers, we've been coming to this hotel for over 10 years and will continue to do so.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have just come back from Malta and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marina at the Corinthia Beach Resort. The staff are most helpful and very friendly, very professional. The hotel is clean and has such a warm welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are of excellent standard with modern decor, flat acreen tv's and massage chair. The food is of excellent standard too. We couldn't wish for a better holiday and will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty towards the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort. We all look forward to hosting you for many other forthcoming years.

Thank you once again!

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    710
    171
    57
    15
See reviews for
416
933
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

It certainly was a great choice to be here after many recommendations. It turned out to be absolutely 5 star. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. All staff are welcoming and make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as they can. The hotel has been recently renovated, lovely modern fresh look, a very attractive cafeteria with divine pastries and chocolates and beautiful cappuccino. Rooms are spacious and clean, deliciously air-conditioned and bright, with extremely comfortable beds, just as the pictures seen on the web, and great sea views.

The main restaurant really spoils us with choice. The breakfast buffet was fabulous by any standard. Whilst dinner was outstanding, me and my husband enjoyed the special nights that came together with our Half board supplement. We enjoyed a Maltese buffet on Tuesday, a delicious bar-b-que on Friday and also an Asian buffet night on Saturday and with no extra supplements!!!. The other restaurants within the hotel are of a very high quality and not overly expensive. Vinotheque had a lovely menu and great wine. Da Marina has a lovely terrace, and a great pizza that one cannot miss out!

We loved the hotel which was very central, the weather, the pools... everything. Definitely we will come back with our kids next time. Its an ideal hotel for couples and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed our Cuisine,freshly prepared by our dedicated team of Chefs.

On behalf of the Management Team and Staff , I would like to thank you for your recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

On arrival my first impression of the Hotel was not good it was very dated and old fashioned not at all modern, we proceeded to our room which I would only call much of the same the tiled floor area of bathroom bedroom and tiny balcony was filthy and had not had a good wash in some time the patio table was rusted and patio tatty the net curtains had never seen an iron and were hanging off the curtain rail. We were there in time for dinner while the selection was good the food was mostly overcooked and cold. The evening we arrived was very warm so we were looking fordward to air conditioning it did not work I spent most of the night on the balcony I was so unwell with the opressive heat because of this I was eaten alive by mosquitos and the bites on my husband and myself became infected as a diabetic this posed a serious health risk to me,we reported the AC and were told it would be looked at it was never repaired and never worked during our stay. On the morning we were leaving there was some conseridable noise next door, workmen had pulled down part of the ceiling and were trying to do repairs to the ac.

We availed of the complimentary bus to Valetta asked the driver where we would find some shops he pointed to the right we headed in that direction went full circle in the intense heat asked another person he said go to the left we found the shopping area. We made our own way home and were dropped about a 2mile walk from the Hotel the transport is terrible, dont bother going downtown at night all you will see are kids drinking and smoking in the sheesha bars while the filthy sreets are strewn with black bin bags of rubbish.

Another point the Hotel pool is open to non residents so you have the locals with their packed lunches taking up the best sun beds filling the pool to capicity while paying quests have to take whats left. There is no pool supervision and adults and children diving into the pool all the while make for a bad experience and the area is again dirty. I have nothing good to say about this Hotel or its location from the pompous receptionist who had no local knowledge and seemed to like to patronise the guest the only good thing was that it was time to go home. Our holiday ruined and 1800.00euro down. So please if you want a good quality Hotel avoid this one the holiday brochure is very misleading we were told by a rep in the airport that we had chosen a very bad location how right she was.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A-Harvey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are surprised that the decor and location were not up to your expectations. We will however, be looking into the areas of concern highlighted in your review in order to take corrective measures where neccessary.

Should you decide to visit Malta once again, please do contact me on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt . I would be more than pleased to making your acquaintance.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holter, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have never been super-enthusiastic about large international hotels for holiday puroposes. You know what you expect and what you get - it's kind of safe. We (two adults) booked this 5* hotel through hotels.com, because it looked like the better of most places in the St. Juliens area, and we found the cost very acceptable. Corinthia Beach Resort is large and met our expectations as a fairly cold hotel with a distanced atmosphere. Room and bed was very good (of course) - though, we are happy we invested some extre EUROS to have a seaside view.

The pool area is great if you want a sunbed 20 cm from totally unknowns, with very close company of families with small children from all possible countries. The gym was a rather exotic experience, with machines not being maintained for a while. The spa and the spa area (according to my wife) was great with good and friendly service - and not to costly. After all, we we were positively surprised by the "relaxedness" at the hotel in general. Except from the pool-side you don't get the impression of this being a big hotel. The breakfast was great, and we found plenty of space for sunbathing and swimming by the waterfront. Poolservice was non-existing at the seaside, but that was expected. Close to water-sports and water-fun activities was also positive, and we utilized both the jetty and parasailing with great joy. You can choose between several restaurants: The Grill Terrace (3111 or something like that) was good, and though Henry Beans served frozen margaritas, the menu and burgers were pretty tasteless. Hence, we took the opportunity to visit other nearby restaurants for dining. Free wireless access available only in the lobby (though a great lobby), is not acceptable (by Scandinavian standards) in 2012. You know what to expect - and that is what you get!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leifhenrikhusom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort. The Management is currently addressing the areas for improvement mentioned in your review.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you at our Hotel. I may be contacted on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in the Marina Hotel in July. The staff were very helpful, although we did miss some of the excursions because some of them were not very knowledgeable about the trips etc. The bathroom in our room was a bit dated but clean and the air conditioning did not work very well, if we put it on full it made a loud noise. We reported this to the staff but it was not fixed. The pool area was good although a lot of the sun beds were broken and it got very noisy with all the local children, especially at the weekend. The private beach which they advertised was not a beach but rocks with a ladder down to the sea. We decided to return one night at 12 o clock and go for a drink in one of the bars in the hotel. Unfortunately they were all closed which we thought was unusual for a hotel bar to close so early. The poolside food was excellent and the staff were very good. In all we would not return to this hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the pool in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marybee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting certain areas in yourreview that need improvement.

Our lido forms part of a rocky beach however a public sandy beach may be found just 5 minutes away from the Hotel.On a seperate note we are pleased to note that the food served by the pool was to you liking.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt in the event that you decide revisiting the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just returned from there. Location - really excellent: two steps to sea waterline, four steps to Paceville with music, pubs, eating, drinking, impressions and many other things. If Paceville became boring - move four steps back and enjoy silence, sea and cigar. Advantage to other hotels in this area - not far to anything.
Room - clean and big enough to have a rest. Bathroom clean, equipment works good. AirCond capacity is enough to create comfort in 3-5 minutes after switch on. View from balcony - nice, sound isolation (Paceville is noisy in Fri and Sat nights) - perfect.
Staff - friendly and supportive, but same time invisible. My acknowledgements.
Poor points:
free wifi is absolutely absent! Receptionist advised me to seek for "Marina-open" network (or something like this) but signal was absent even in reception area. It's not up to 5-stars hotel! It means nothing if you want to forget about your job and world around you, but not in other case.
Another: quite scanty breakfast - unstable menu from day to day, narrow choice, some kind of food/specials absent absolutely (e.g.mustard). Apple juice decanter was empty each time when I tried, nobody replenished it.
And: no any sport channel on TV in the room. In Olympics time! Ops...

Nevertheless - my opinion is: great place, nice premises, good staff. I truly recommend this hotel to anybody.
Thank you, Corinthia Marina people!

Room Tip: Ask for 2-3 floor (if you'll get groud floor you will meet a lot of people going to beach and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralex65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole Team at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism.

Our open network for complimentary WIFI has been checked by our tehnicians and I can assure you that the signal and connection are working fine. On certain occasions mobile phones & Laptops may need some setting adjustments. We would have gladly checked your electronic device in the event that you approached any of our Guest Care Hosts.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed in the Marina Hotel for 9 nights with family in August 2012 and found it to be excellent value for money. We are already looking at returning next year for a week in April. Overall everything went very well, bar a few small issues.

Check in
Arrived early, and rooms were not ready, but were told where we could get drinks etc, and to come back at the check-in time. Unfortunately one of the rooms was not ready still, and we had to wait nearly an hour beyond the specified check-in time which was a bit annoying.

Rooms
We had sea view rooms on the ground floor. Views were great, and there were no noise issues. The quality of the beds were outstanding. Air con was brilliant. Rooms were very clean and had plenty of storage space. The fixtures, bar the beds were a little bit tired. I would expect better TV's for a 4* property (in one of our rooms it didn't always work and they were very old style) and there was a crack in one of the tables, a piece of wood hanging off the desk drawers, and one of the plug sockets was hanging out. We also had an issue with our shower that we reported at 8am, and by 4pm hadn't been dealt with. Staff were very apologetic though and had it sorted quickly. However, these really were minor things, and certainly didn't spoil our stay

Staff
The majority of the staff were very friendly, personable and willing to help. Some of them though did not have a great knowledge of the local area, and had to defer to others. There were 2 waiters who were especially friendly, one who had lived in the UK and the other one was often there at breakfast and was young, and quite muscular. Sadly I didn't get their names, but they were great. There was one Spanish girl though who really let the team down. I speak fluent Spanish, and it was sad to hear her moaning about things to guests, and other members of staff. She also was quite rude to colleagues in front of guests.

Food
I cannot rate the quality of the food highly enough. The on-site restaurants are outstanding. Yes, the service can be a little slow especially at the pool bar (nearly an hour for 2 pizzas and there were only 2 other tables!) but the quality is well worth waiting for. We ended up eating in the hotel on a number of occasions, and tried The Pool Bar, Vinotheque, The Bayview Restaurant, Cafe 24 and also Da Marina. We weren't so keen on the Bayview restaurant, which is more of a buffet, but what was brilliant was the way in which they provided something different for a member of our party on the Maltese night (it was the young waiter I mention above who arranged it) as there weren't any options she could eat. We also saw them sorting something out for some children who weren't keen on the choices either, which was above and beyond what we would expect. Portion size is HUGE and prices reasonable.

Facilities
The pool facilities are brilliant. I love the towel system, so you don't have to bring your own. Staff are friendly, and it is great to be able to use the pools and facilities at the 5* next door, not that we actually did in the end! It would be nice if the gym was open a bit later, as we were planning to go, but thought it would be open until later than it was. There is an abundance of sun loungers to say the least, and you never felt crowded. Check them though, as a lot are broken and you have to move them around if you want to find one that works. Saying that, there are staff who will help you, and are very visible throughout the day. One thing that I feel does need addressing though is the monitoring of the pools. It does quite clearly state no jumping or diving in, and there are constantly children, and adults- nearly all locals- doing this. Only once in 10 days did I see a member of staff say something, although they all saw it. I appreciate that people will always break the rules, but a fair few times they were back flipping, hitting other people, and generally causing issues. When some hotel guests one day asked them to stop the parents got very rude and aggressive saying that they pay a lot of money to use the facilities and basically they will do what they like. It was brilliant that the hotel sold stamps, and had a post collection daily. This was really convenient, and was an excellent service

Location
The hotel is in a wonderful location, and the views from around are spectacular. There is a great public transport system, and places like Spinola, Balluta Bay and Valletta can be reached very quickly and easily.

All in all a wonderful stay, and very much looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britbird1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to highlight certain aspects which were of concern during your recent stay with us.
Please be assured that your comments have not gone unnoticed and that, where possible, relevant action has been taken. Furthermore, stringent steps have been taken in order to avoid the recurrence of any of the other points you mentioned.

I can be contacted on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt in the event that you plan another visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing