We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for a week for a family holiday and would recommend this hotel. The staff at reception were very helpful when we arrived at 4am after a delay at the Airport. The rooms we had were clean and furnished well, although the bathroom was a bit dated. We had an excellent view over the bay from our room. The only down side was that you can hear furniture being moved around on the floor above you on the tiled flooring. This woke us up early one morning when the guests on the floor above had an early departure. The food at breakfast was very good and there was always a good choice.
There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols and definitely no need to go down before breakfast to reserve a sunbed. The main pool at the Marina does get a bit noisy as this is open to the locals and their children. The pool at the Corinthian is a lot quieter.
St Georges Bay has lots of nightclubs and is geared up for youngsters but you can find peaceful restaurants at St Julian's which is about a 10/15 min walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,153)
There are newer reviews for Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late August 2012 for 6 nights. Malta is an amazing country, wish we were there longer! The Marina Hotel was an ideal place for our stay. Situated on St. George's Bay, you can enjoy the ocean and sunrises. Paceville (for lots of nightlife) is a 10 minute walk (you won't hear the noise), the Baystreet Center is nearby, Spinola Bay is a 20 minute walk (great dining), Valletta and Mdina need a bus or taxi ride. We splurged for an ocean view room and it was well worth it. The rooms are large and clean. The balconies are huge, and we spent a lot of time sitting on ours and enjoying the view and fireworks from the St. Julian festa. This hotel has a few pools and lidos with ladders that lead into the ocean for swimming. There are tons of sunbeds. There's an onsite dive shop for water sports too. There are many restaurants and cafes with fresh food. We particularly enjoyed the Bayview Restaurant and the onsite cafe. WIFI is free at the cafe by the way, but not free in the rooms. The service was friendly and the front desk staff are very welcoming and helpful. For the price we paid, we got an excellent value and for all the positives, our stay was 5 star.

A few caveats though.... There are safes in the room, but you have to pay a small charge for the lock to use it. Malta is very safe, but valuables and passports should be locked up in any country. It was weird that you had to pay to use the safe. You won't hear the Paceville noise except for a place across the bay called the Beach Club which blasts some music on Friday and Saturday nights til 11pm. It was not so bad, not the hotel's fault, but 2 nights a week this happens. Between both resorts, there are 3 outdoor pools (and 2 indoor). One small pool should be designated adults only. Kids were splashing and running and shouting everyday at all the pools, and adults need a designated area that should be child-free. There were little to no kids on the lidos or in the ocean though.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view, it's worth it! Also, try to tie in breakfast.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank professorwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are very pleased to note that you have really enjoyed your stay in Malta and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Arrived at Marina Hotel on the 14 August, Reception was clean and the staff were very friendly, Our room was not quite ready and only waited for about 10 mins, was seen by Kristian, very helpful. All the staff were very courtesy. On many occasions, Kristian called us by our name, (dont know how he can remember, with all the customers that pass in and out of the hotel. The room was lovely, big and was cool (very good air-condition) we paid for a seaview room and was looking over the bay of st george, king side bed and my daughter had a put me up (good size and comfortable). Bathroom was spacious. Safe was 12.00 euros for the stay of holiday. We stayed on the 4th floor and didnt hear hardly any noise. The maid service was very good and all the housekeeping staff were very friendly.

Meal times were very nice, had themed a couple of times for dinner, Spanish, Chinese and Asian, soup, salads and cold meats to start, main...pork, beef, fish, wedges, pototoes, rice, etc, so many desserts to choose from. Breakfast, fruit, meat, salads, pastries, full breakfast, beef and pork sausages, bacon, grilled tomatoes, beans, scambled eggs, boiled eggs, cereals, toast, many differnet fruit juices, tea, coffee etc. All the staff at the restaurant was were friendly and helpful, especially Calande, Claire and the two Rebecca's, (once again, too many to name)

The hotel gives you complimentrary towels to use. The pool side is kept very clean, with cleaners around quite a few times a day to empty the bins. There are 5 pools to choose from. The pool terrace by the small pool was very clean and all the guys were working very hard, too many people to name them all. So many sun loungers and umbrella's to choose from.

Used the free courtesy bus a few times in to Slimea and Valletta, new shopping centre in Slimea and all the Captain Morgan boats, a nice stroll back from Slimea to Paceville.

Two computers at reception, which you can use free of charge ( up to 15 mins) Wi-fi is 5 hours 5.00 euros, 10 euros for 10 hours and 15 euros for 15.00 euros.

If you leave the Hotel and walk down hill, you will arrive at a small beach, and then into the night life of St Julians, gets very busy at high season, lots of small hidden bars to find in the side streets of St Julians.

Enjoyed the holiday very much, so thank you to all the staff at the Marina.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pikey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.We are very pleased to note that team members have indeed exceeded your expectations.

We really look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for 10 nights recently and were really happy with it. The manager kindly paid attention to my room requests and fulfilled them. The bedroom was really spacious and although the balcony was in need of a good clean and maybe a paint job, inside the room was very clean. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The shower wasnt great but the very effective Air con in the room balances that out. We only ate in the cafe and Henry J Beans American bar and both were very good. I loved that there was no shortage of sun loungers and umbrella's (unless you want to be at the edge of the pool). We really enjoyed swimming in the slightly more relaxing Corinthia Hotel's pool, as the staff regularly came around with complimentary soft drinks, snacks and freezing cold towels to cool you down! Lovely touch! Its not a really luxurious hotel as it does need some better upkeep in some areas (balconies, pool bar area, repainting of walls) but hopefully the mgmt will do that, The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the nightclubs in Paceville, but if you are over 25, you will be more interested in the restaurant area...Spinola Bay is 10-15min walk. Great Value, family and couple friendly.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the Sea is best
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sindisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to note that you have really enjoyed your stay in Malta and at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and encourages us to constantly improve our services and facilities offerred.

Should you plan another visit to the Maltese Islands please do contact me on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I am very fussy and research my Hotels on tripadvisor frequently, therefore please ignore any negative comments previously written for this Hotel, as I can definitely recommend it. Friends said we should book this Hotel, rather than the Corinthia San Gorg, as you get the best of both worlds; a cheaper rate but the benefit of the 5* facilities of the wholoe resort. We booked interconecting rooms on a high view with a seaview and the rooms were ideal. Couples travelling on their own could treat themselves to the suites, which I am sure were even better.

On arrival we were booked in quickly, and although our rooms were not ready as it was early morning, we had time to have a good look round, whilst our suitcases were stored securely. Stephen on reception saw we were travelling with teenagers and gave us the WIFI code, which allowed us full wifi throughtout the hotel and in our rooms. all over the resort, in the restaurants and at the Corinthia Pool, there was a free code for wifi, therefore we had internet access for the whole 10 days were were there!! (can't understand previous comments, who said they had no wifi!!). Rooms were usual 4* standard, with all expected amenities, and bonus of 3 pin plug sockets!. The mini bar was stocked, but we did'nt use it as therre was a M&S foods 10 mins walk away, so we bought drinks and put them in the fridge.

Breakfast was good with fruit, cold meats, salad, breads, cereal, pastries and full English breakfast. We booked bed and breakfast as there are a number of restaurants to choose from around the resort and you can sign the bill to your room, therefore felt like all inclusive!!. Until we got the bill at the end, which was less than expected.!! All the restaurants were good.

There are lots of sunbeds and pools in the Lido, which is open to non residents who pay a daily rate, so we opted for sunbeds at the Corinthia San Gorg pool. Towels were provided and as long as you were there at 9.00am there was no problem with gaining sunbeds in a good spot with a huge umbrella. You could even order drinks via twitter, although they were abit expensive, so we were happy to have the free soda and lime bought round twice a day, and a snack in the afternoon. They also provide cold flannels twice a day and cleaned your sun glasses! The Marina Pool bar is much better value for money and they have a great choice of menu, so a short walk there for lunch wasn't a problem.

The Hotel is in a good central position on the Island, you can walk to a beach, bars and shopping and a car is not necessary as there is a hop on hop off bus and boats trips bookable through the Hotel. A great find!!

Room Tip: High floor, Sea view, preferably 7545 or near
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a detailed and informative description on your recent stay at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you at our Hotel. Please do contact me on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have returned to this hotel year after year and the excellent service has been consistent. It is situated, with its sister hotel, the San Gorg, on a most attrractive peninsular on Malta. From ouside the hotel is impressive with it's numerous outside dining facilities. It is well maintained and improvements are constantly being made. The reception staff are, without exception, the friendliest and most professional that we have encountered on the island. They and are helpful and eager to please. The reception area is large, modern and has been improved and modernised throughout. The management has been carrying out many changes and renovations to the hotel which have all enhanced our experience of this hotel. The bedrooms are clean, fully air conditioned and modern. There is a daily maid service which we can only describe as excellent. They work around the clients to cause them the least inconvenience as possible.
There are several restaurants on site which cater for all different tastes and price ranges. Music is played on some nights to enhance your dining experience. But be sure to book in advance at some of these restaurants at weekends as the culinary delights are in high demand amongst guests and the local families. The restaurant staff are very polite, friendly, professional and are most eager to please. The hotel also operates its own nightclub. Outside the hotel has 3 swimming pools and a toddlers bathing pool. There are ample sunbeds (many of which have recenly been updated) and large umbrellas. There are numerous poolside cafes and restaurants and the whole area is regularly maintained and is constantly cleaned. Its gardens and grassed areas are regularly maintained. In addition to its own facilities, I understand that hotel guests can also use the facilities of its sister hotel, the San Gorg, e.g. 2 more pools, gym facilities, spa facilities, sauna and indoor pool as well as restaurants. The hotel has its own rocky beach and for the more adventurous there is a "fun in the sun" operation providing boat trips etc. The hotel is approximately 300 metres away from the sandy beach and roadside restaurants of the St George area together with its nightclubs and shops etc.
In summary an excellent holiday time and time again for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Guest,

On behlaf of the whole team at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your loyalty and choosing to stay at our Hotel year after year.

We all look forward to welcoming you next year.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is truly a fantastic hotel in an ideal location in Malta. It is walking distance from shops, bars, clubs and plenty of restaurants. There are lots of activities such as boat hire, jet skis, excursions and scuba diving courses. If this is your first time exploring Malta I highly recommend this hotel as it's a great base for exploring the whole island. The public transport from this location is excellent, just a 15 minute walk to a bus terminal. We were treated extremely well by the staff at this hotel and would definitely consider returning in the future.

POSITIVES -
If you have often stayed at 4* hotels this will meet or exceed your expectations.
The hotel is walking distance from shops, restaurants, bars and clubs.
The view from the 4th / 5th floor sea-view balcony rooms is truly breathtaking.
The room's air conditioning was perfect.
You have access to all 5 swimming pools and all the facilities of the 5* neighbouring Corinthia using your Marina key card.
At the 5* neighbouring Corinthia staff often came round the pool area with complimentary refreshments, small nibbles and cold towels.
Wi-Fi access is complimentary in the lobby and restaurant areas and you will find a lot of free Wi-Fi hotspots around Malta.
This hotel has great public transport links on air-conditioned buses (day pass is 2.60EURO) so no need to rely on shuttle bus.

NEGATIVES -
The hotel does not have a private sandy beach area, although there is one that is walking distance it is not very sandy (more like fine gravel) and it was very crowded in August. If sandy beaches are REALLY important you're better off in Mellieha.
Wi-Fi access in the room is charged at 5EURO for 5 hours (but you can log in and out over your entire stay) but in my room the signal was very poor so I don't recommend using this.
If you want to use the safe you have to pay a fee of 12EURO for the key.
The city centre (Valletta) is about 20-40 mins away depending on mode of transport.
Complimentary shuttle bus to the city centre is only at 9:30am returning at 5:30pm.

The negatives are really very minor things overall, and did not in any way affect the wonderful time I had.

Thanks for an unforgettable holiday!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are breathtaking, 4th and 5th floors have the best ones!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a descriptive review on your recent stay at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

On behalf of the whole team, we really look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you at our Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £75 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing