We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many of us might have a cappuccino machine at home; but it is the never the same as at a cafe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My review is solely based on the Hotel's Mediterranean Wine Bar & Bistro. The Vinotheque.

Nothing beats a good coffee, great atmosphere, a bit of a buzz and a good chat. Our choice, Vinotheque Bistro right in the heart of St. George’s Bay, a sleek coffee shop/restaurant . The décor and furnishings are pleasant and charming. Staff very friendly. We managed to park right across. Being Monday there was ample parking space. Though I wanted to sit outside, as it was not too cold, my wife had no problem finding an empty table inside. The venue was busy with both old, young, business types and more!
A waiter quickly served us. Although the menu had a lot to offer, we ordered a cappuccino and an Ainisette Maltese, or as it was formally known ‘kisra hobz’. The coffee was at our table 3 minutes later. It was a generous cup and very well made. The coffee was delicious, rich and creamy. Our bread order came when we were almost half way through our Cappuccino. Nicely presented in a plate of Hors dóeuvres, the bread had tomato paste spread inside it and neatly surrounded with various delicacies: peppered cheeselets, stuffed olives, anchovies, capers, tinned tuna, bean paste (bigilla) and olive oil. Black olives replaced the sun dried tomatoes which was listed in the menu. Unfortunately even the bread was not the genuine Maltese hobza. The waiter made up for this shortcoming by offering us a free drink and 2 pieces of dark chocolate truffles.
All in all we spent an hour of relax chatting and eating something traditionally Maltese, something we miss doing at home, in a nice atmosphere and without putting holes in my pocket. Three cheers go to Juanita our server at the table…(I hate calling her waitress). She was fantastic. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GorgGorgaSciberras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent dining experience at the Vinotheque Restaurant. We are delighted to learn that our cuisine, decor and service have impressed you.

We really look forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt for any future bookings.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

The kindness that has been shown to me on many occasions that I have stayed here, none more than this stay. I was taken ill while on holiday in Gozo and came here in a frail state .the way all the staff cared for me was amazing . A wonderful hotel. And the adorable staff at the reception, especially Monika, Mark, Kristian, Ritienne, are the flagship of this hotel. Look forward to seeing you all again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort for your yearly visits in Malta. We are delighted to learn that our team members at Reception have once again exceeded your expectations.

We really look forward to welcoming you back next year and please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just back from a weeks stay, we had emailed hotel 2weeks prior to flying out requesting a room on a higher floor and we were allocated a lovely recently redecorated and furnished room on fourth floor with king size bed, flat screen TV and bathroom with modern fittings. Excellent sea views. It was hot all week but the aircon in room coped well. All staff friendly and helpful, no complaints there. Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice, both hot and cold foods. There are rooms directly below the restaurant and they must suffer from noise, scraping of furniture on the tiled floors etc. We used the Da Marina restaurant twice, eating on the outside terrace, food quality and service good. Rest of time ate in St Julians which is only a 15 min walk away. There is an M & S Food store within 10mins, very handy for wine and water.
We did not use the Marina pools at all, preferring to use the pools at the Corinthia next door. These were much quieter as not open to the public and can only be accessed using your guest key card. A nice touch was the complimentary soft drink and snack which were brought round to guests in the afternoon in this area.
Getting into Valletta and round the island was easy, plenty of buses and the hop on hop off variety stop right outside the hotel, offering a free harbour cruise in with ticket so good value.
Paceville next door is quite lively especially at weekends but if you just want a quiet meal out St Julians is the place.
Overall a nice hotel with plenty of amenities close by, but far enough away not to suffer from noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth or fifth floor, they have the best views. Avoid the second floor beneat...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wotthebutlersaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the services rendered exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just back from a ten day stay in this resort. The staff in this resort were fantastic, very friendly and full of knowledge of the island and it's resources. We found that some areas were lacking, the toilets by the pool were not in great shape, the service in the restaurants slow, in our opinion due to shortage of staff as the staff that were there were very hard working, the spa and fitness centre were in it's sister hotel nearby which was an inconvenience. There is a notice in reception about accessability to their two private pools by way of your room key, we didn't see this notice for a few days and were not aware that the pool which we used initially was open to the public, this explained the noise level and lack of cleanliness there, we would suggest that guests are made aware of this on arrival. We loved Malta but would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting certain aspects that in your opinion need improvement. The Management is currently looking into each and every comment mentioned in your review in order to take the necessary action.

In the meantime, please do contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt when planning your next visit to Malta. We really look forward to welcoming you again and experience in person the improvements done.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here room only for 3 nights back in June. Like most reviews, this hotel is a good choice and does what it says on the tin. It could do with some updating, but unless you've paid through the nose for your stay you will be satisfied.

There is plenty of pool space and loungers, staff were helpful and the sea (no direct beach) drops off from the hotels edge. The resort beech is about 300m away.

Plenty of places to eat on site and in the resort. The american diner onsite is popular with hotel guests and locals at the weekend. Not cheap, but if you catch happy hour this reduces costs obviously. The resort itself is littered with lively bars, a very young crowd (18-25) with bars and clubs going on til 3-5am.

Would I go back? Not to Malta, but that's just a personal choice. I wouldn't be put off going to the hotel though, but only really if I was looking for a few quiet days in the sun and around the pool, followed by some lively nights in St Julian's resort :-) Again, that's just a personal choice

Room Tip: Make sure you get sea view room, they are all mostly sea view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Malta, as an Island, has so much to offer and it is a real pity that you have missed the most interesting places of interest that might have changed your perception.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt in the event that any family or friends plan to visit our Island. I would be more than pleased to direct them to the main highlights in order to sample our history and culture.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent one week in this hotel. The first night we slept in room7239, at around 6 in the morning there was a continous noise , of people moving tables chairs etc.We realised that we were below the restaurant. We went down to reception and they changed us straight away to room 7412, which was much quieter.
We found the breakfast very good with plenty of choice to suit everyone. We had a very helpful waitress by the name of Candela, thank you.
There is a very good deal for 26 euros, you can have one evening meal in the hotel's Bayview restaurant ( excellent self service buffet ) plus a pasta/pizza and dessert meal at the Di Marina restaurant, good pizzas and pasta.The wines are good value and good quality.
We found the receptions' staff very knowledgeable and helpful especially Kevin.
The rooms were fine with nice balcony overlooking the Bay. THe only criticism is the charge for the safe key 12 euros a week, I would suggest to management that they offer this for free with a substantial returnable deposit .
We found it very expensive to hire a jet ski 50 euros for 15 minutes.
There are 5 pools. As one person has commented ,the Marina pool is very noisy, and it seems like people from outside the hotel can also use it but if you go to the hotel next door you will find it more secluded as you need your room key to gain access.
We will recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on upper floor i.e forth or fith floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TITOsudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review on the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

We are glad to note that you have really enjoyed our leisure facilities, dining experiences and service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt in the event that any family or friends decide to visit our Island.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Situated a few minutes walk from the centre of St. George’s Bay this hotel is well located being close enough to the bars and entertainment to be convenient but far enough way not to be affected by the noise. All of the staff we dealt with were extremely friendly, helpful and willing to offer assistance. Our room was of a decent size and was always kept clean but in terms of décor it could do with a little TLC. The bathroom had a hideous false ceiling that wasn’t particular well executed and looked as if it belonged in an office block, the bath was rusting and the shower head wasn’t great. In the bedroom there was adequate storage space but if you want to use the room safe you have to pay to rent the lock which struck me as being a little tight-fisted so we elected to lock our valuables in our cases instead. We did ask for a quiet room and while we were away from the centre of the hotel our room was level with the road and barely twenty feet away from it so using the balcony wasn’t really an option and as a light sleeper I resorted to using ear-plugs. I’m sure the hotel would have tried to move us had we asked but we only stayed for four nights so stuck with what we had rather than have to move. The TV in the room was functional but fairly ancient and the buttons on the details on the remote control had all been worn away. It’s not a huge deal as we don’t go on holiday to watch TV but it goes to show how long it is since the room had been updated.

The hotel facilities were fine with five pools of varying sizes to choose from across the two neighbouring Corinthia hotels at the resort. Some of the sun loungers were very tatty and needed replacing and we had to go up two floors to reception in order to collect and deposit towels for use around the pool which was a minor inconvenience. There are a variety of places dotted around the pool areas where refreshments can be obtained and the prices charged weren’t as excessive as we’ve experienced in other hotels. Having travelled after the end of the UK school holidays to specifically try and get a bit of peace and quiet we did find that the hotel was awash with children and as a result the areas around the pools were extremely noisy at times. That wasn’t what we wanted but clearly the hotel is very popular with families so if you fit into that particular bracket then it may be perfect for you.

The resort has a number of bars and restaurants to choose from offering different styles of cuisine at reasonable prices. The breakfast buffet offered a reasonable selection of meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pastries, juices, toast, eggs, sausages etc and there always seemed to be plenty available.

The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus service to Sliema and Valetta for those interested in exploring a little but it’s recommended that you book your seats in advance as it does get booked up.

On the whole the hotel has decent facilities with professional staff who provide a good service and willingness to offer advice. The hotel is perhaps more suited to families than those wanting a quiet and relaxing break and the only real negative is with some of the room décor and facilities which is the only reason for less than full marks.

St. George’s itself seems to attract a younger crowd, particularly in the evening, as it has a large number of bars and clubs although the hotel seems popular with all ages and the town does have a range of shops, a multi-plex cinema (most films are shown in English) and bowling alley among other things. Nearby St. Julian’s Bay, which is within walking distance, seemed more relaxed and offered a better range of restaurants and once we’d discovered it we tended to walk there each night instead. We used the hotel shuttle bus to visit Valetta which has various museums and places of historical interest and a good range of shops. From there we took the ferry across to Sliema (€1.50 for a single far, €2.50 for a return) and walked back from here to the hotel. It’s a fairly long walk but manageable and in doing so we did find places around Balluta Bay and St. Julian’s Bay that we would likely have missed otherwise. St George’s does have a small sandy beach just a couple of minutes from the hotel although we did see rats on the beach at night which didn’t exactly appeal to us.

If travelling to the hotel to or from the airport then personally I would recommend doing so by taxi and not using the X2 bus service offered by Arriva. The bus is interminably slow and the nearest bus stop is about a ten minute walk from the other side of town. The taxis are reasonably priced and we found the drivers to be extremely friendly and helpful compared to the bus drivers. Taxis are booked within the airport at a fixed price so you know you’re not going to be ripped off and the hotel can arrange your return journey upon request.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,011 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £75 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing