We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is an average four star hotel but at a great price. While I might have some minor issues, you can't really expect 4 star experience when paying €55/night for a double room. It is excellent value at off peak times.

It is a nice hotel well located within easy walking distance of St Julian but yet just far enough away from the noise of the nightclubs for them not to bother you. For my taste, the hotel is a bit soulless and lacking in character. This probably isn't as evident in summer months but it felt like we were practically the only guests in the hotel in mid January. It did slightly bother me that the hotel was not prepared to offer us a sea-view room without paying an extra 20% given the hotel was practically empty and 90% of room have sea views. It had a hint of meanness about it but in fairness we didn't pay for sea-view room when we booked so we got exactly what we paid for and that was very good value.

We were only staying room only and didn't try the breakfast. It is the first time we have stayed anywhere room only and it is definitely the way to go. We had breakfast most mornings in a nearby restaurant at about what it would have cost for buffet at a time of our choosing instead of trying to rush down for breakfast.

The best point about the hotel is definitely its staff. They were polite, courteous and friendly. I found the lack of information available at reception a bit odd in a four star hotel e.g nobody seemed to know the time of buses to Valetta just that they went every 20 minutes. This is obviously not a big deal but it is the type of service that makes a four star hotel.

The rooms were fine, and the cleaning service was excellent.

Overall, this is a nice hotel and very good value. It is not a luxury experience but you are not paying a luxury price. You get a good clean hotel in a nice location with great staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10Dubiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review and pleased to note that your overall experience was a very positive one. The public transport previosly managed by Arriva is now being run by a different company. Unfortunately we do not have the exact bus timings in hand until new brochures are actually printed out.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you once again at our Hotel. Meanwhile, please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,153)
There are newer reviews for Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a fantastic dine out at Marina Hotel Vinoteca,bistro, the food was delicious served and decorated in a professional manner.we were pleased by our polite and professional waiter Mario and Anna. Well Done Guys. you delivered a best customer service. We will came back over and over again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Umbertino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments on both the Vinotheque Restaurant and Team Members. We will surely congratulate Mario and Sera Anna for their outstanding service.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you once again at our Hotel. Please do contact me directly when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands. It would be a real pleasure to meet you during your stay with us.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We decided to run away from the cold this Christmas and go to Malta! We picked Marina Hotel because it was affordable and, being part of Corinthia Beach Resort, offered a lot more than a place to sleep - there are many restaurants, bars, indoor swimming pool, spa, gym etc. within the complex so we thought that in case of bad weather - we would always find something to do. And we were right! 2 days out of 7 rained non stop but we did not get bored! :-)

The hotel itself is nice - spacious rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. We had a small issue with the toilet - right from the first day there was a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom but we thought it would eventually go away. After 2 days the toilet started leaking and the smell got even worse. We reported it to the hotel staff but the problem continued the following day. On Christmas morning I spoke to a lovely gentleman at reception (unfortunately I do not know his name) who offered us another room - which turned out to be an upgrade to an amazing suite with simply breathtaking views over St George's Bay! It was such a nice surprise, especially on Christmas Day - it felt like a Christmas gift! :-)

There is a lot to do within the complex. Definitely try a massage with hot stones at the spa. So relaxing! Vinotheque bistro restaurant for a romantic dinner, Ristorante Da Marina for delicious pizza and Henry J.Beans bar for a pint of local Cisk beer or a cocktail if you prefer.

There is a bus stop 5 minutes walk from the hotel with frequent buses to Sliema and Valetta. Buses are cheap and efficient - 2.60 euro day pass will get you everywhere on the island of Malta. You can't beat that. If you would like to hire a car, the staff at reception will arrange that for you. We hired a car for a day trip to Gozo - such a beautiful place - really worth visiting.

A couple of points to note - the hotel is situated just across Paceville - which is a party paradise if you want to go out clubbing every night but real nuisance if you are trying to get to sleep. If you are a light sleeper, request a room on the quieter side (inland view). Also, as pointed out in some previous reviews, bathrooms really need updating - toilet seat was in a very bad condition (not to mention the leak), bathroom tiles and grout could be replaced etc. Having said that, we had no problem with cleanliness - bathrooms and bedrooms were clean and tidy.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Marina Hotel and had an fantastic time in Malta. Amazing holidays! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Agzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort. with other people around the world.

It is truly a pleasure to read that both the facilities and services rendered exceeded your expectations.

Please do contact me directly in the event that any family members or friends decide to visit the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A superb hotel in all ways. No problems so thoroughly recommended.
The staff were extra polite and very helpfull,
All the food was very good,,
The hotel had that nice "to be in" feel and without fuss either.
We enjoyed a a particlarly warm week in November so that was a bonus for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you so much for giving thumbs up in your review. We are so pleased to note that your overall experience in Malta and at our Hotel was indeed a most enjoyable one.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I had never been to Malta. Having visited the travel agent and considered the options and reviews we decided on the Marina Hotel in St George's Bay. It did not disappoint. It is an excellent Hotel with all facilities as claimed. The staff from Reception to Domestic and all in between spoke excellent English and were very helpful and friendly with advice. Not just at the Hotel but throughout Malta we found that everybody really wanted you to enjoy your stay and would come back again. We went in November for 1 week and the weather was good for touring the country from the Hotel base. The country survives on tours and a large number of options are available and can be booked at Reception. There were numerous historic sites to visit and Gozo Island. The local bus service was reliable and reasonably priced. Sliema and Valetta were within easy reach. We didn't use any of the beautiful outdoor pools but the indoor pool next door was excellent and free to Marina Guests. There were 6 Restaurants within the complex catering for all tastes and price brackets. Local Restaurants were also good.
In our room we had coffee making facilities. The English speaking tv channels were limited but the wifi was excellent. The view from our room and balcony was also excellent. The room and Hotel in General were spotlessly clean. Malta is a very clean island. We did not find litter or graffiti anywhere. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank ken01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for such a detailed review on your recent experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the event that any of your family members or friends decide to visit the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was my first time in Malta, but the second time for my wife and she chose the hotel so she has to take the credit.We went with our daughter so we required a room for three adults if possible, no problem, this hotel has large family rooms with two queen size beds and a balcony overlooking St Georges Bay, perfect.We were there in April/May so the weather wasn't to hot and the air was lovely and fresh coming in from the sea.We only ate there once and it was fine but we usually ate in the town which is only a short walk away, fortunately it is far enough away so any party noise does not spoil your nights sleep.There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which came in very handy as we traveled all over Malta on the public buses, you can also buy day tickets for the buses from the reception which is another bonus.If you are not breakfasting in the hotel you can walk down the hill and get a good breakfast at a reasonable price in the bar/restaurants on the corner.The hotel is connected to the Corinthia Beach Resort and you can use all their facilities if you wish.The staff were always friendly and would always help you in any way that they could.We may go back to Malta in the future because we both enjoyed it, if we do this will be the first hotel we will try to book.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with other fellow readers.

It was truly a pleasure to read that both the location and services rendered indeed exceeded your expectations.

Should you decide to visit the Maltese Islands once again please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spent one night for Xmas eve there...the room was excellent, kind of a sanctuary. If you leave balcony door open yes you can hear noise, but with the door closed you don't hear anything. Staff are really nice and helpful and courteous, even on the phone. Always with a smile, courteous and address you in ENGLISH. To explain what i mean - I phoned on the day to see what time check in was, and by mistake I got through the Corinthia San Gorg - a lady answered me a told me loudly to hold on, immediately (in Maltese). She kept me more then 7 mins waiting, (I just wanted to know check in time), then she responded and told me ' Im trying to keep up with all the telephone calls' (loudly, angrily, in Maltese), I told he what was my query and she told me, again in Maltese, really p****d off, 'you should know what check in time is, and now i'll have to waste time and check for you', I was lost for words. She obviously could not find my reservation and asked me if it was for the Marina or the San Gorg, I told her Marina, and again, extremely p****d off, in Maltese, she told me 'you wasted my time as you got the wrong number, and boom she transferred my call. A lovely gentleman answered my call, in English, found my reservation, addressed me always as Mrs. XXXX politely, checked for me what time the room would be ready as basically if I could check in half an hour before it would save me a lot of logistical problems, he said the room will be ready, told me if he can help further, and looked forward to seeing me, always in English. That is the service I'm talking about. Since it was Xmas we found mince pies waiting for us in the room, and we also got a lovely fruit basket presumably for being repeat guests. We also requested an iron online, and it was there also in the room. Not one other hotel have we stayed (even 5 star) where we request things and they are there ready for you. Also, the hotel as a 4 star is much much better than other 4 stars and even some 5 stars - the bathrooms are a bit tired but they have full amenities, dental kits, shaving kits, also coffee and tea, they provided an ice bucket at no charge and no questions asked, and the room also has most amazing huge balcony right over the sea. I also appreciate greatly that the balconies are totally private (and huge!) which provided the most amazing view and atmosphere to have a drink. I think they also changed their TV and channel providers as they had huge choice of channels and the TV was very nice and modern. We recently went to a very well known 5 star hotel in St Julians for our anniversary and they ruined it all - staff, noise...and you are just a number. At the Marina we had the best restful night in months, pure blissful sleep. I wish I had opted for the Marina once again! In my opinion they can improve on the room service menu (and the charge), bathrooms, and breakfast, the rest, is perfect.

Room Tip: Seaview room. The view is to die for. Check the bathroom also
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort. Please be assured that your comments have not gone unnoticed and the Management at our sister hotel have been immediately informed to take corrective measures with the person who answered your call. We apologise for experiencing such an emberrassing situation as this is surely not a Corinthia standard. Alternatively we are glad to note that your stay at the Marina Hotel did make up for this situation.

Meanwhile, we all look forward to welcoming you once again and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With thanks and regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £75 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing