We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 ANNUAL REVIEW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Twelve in our party this year, average age 69. One disabled ambulant in wheelchair. This hotel is excellent for wheel chair users - the grounds around the pools complex all ramped. As usual the staff are the stars of the experience. Nothing too much trouble if asked for politely. The staff are the reason we come back year after year. One of our party, gluten intolerant, was catered for with special desserts. We were staying on a half board basis, and the meals were all excellent with a varied choice each day. Friday was a special themed Spanish night, which was voted by us all as the best.

Rooms were cleaned to a high standard, and the beds are so comfortable!

For younger vacationers than us - the night club centre of Paceville is just a short stroll down the hill from the peninsular position of the hotel, and a (presumably) a slightly longer stagger back!

I recommend that you seriously consider this hotel if you are contemplating visiting Malta.

Read my previous annual reports - I stand by all of them. That's why we return year after year.

Room Tip: Fifth Floor Sea View Rooms recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C2OPTIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your yearly review highlighting your experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

We all look forward to welcoming you once again for many years to come.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have stayed at the Corinthian next door on a previous occasion so as as this was the sister hotel and slightly closer to walk into town and cheaper we thought we would give it a go, and you could use the facilities of the Corinthian still which are excellent as they have lovely pools plus the lido for access to the sea. As we stayed second week of May and it wasnt full season yet the snack areas near the lower pools were not open and also there were no ladders to help you in/out of the sea, but this was minor and didnt stop people inc us going in we just found an easy spot to get in via the rocks. There were lots of staff around making sure it was looking nice ready for the peak season so its good to see they keep on top of maintenance and it doesnt interfere with your stay at all. Staff at the Marina were so helpful and friendly it was a lovely buffet breakfast the room was very nice too amazing views. The only negative, as has been mentioned before, was the room was very hot (as in full sun most of the day) so had to keep curtains shut during day til the sun moved and altho the air con was working as in blowing air out, it wasnt particularly cold air so we had to keep balcony doors open to let cool air in at night. I expect this would be in full working order when the season kicks off and temperatures get hotter outside, but as it was around 20 outside I can understand why they wouldnt put it on yet, but it was the sun on the room that made it too hot and I am sure tourists would appreciate it on a little earlier in the year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing but if its not the right time of the season the rooms could get very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank signalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort. It is so much of satisfaction to read that your stay with us was indeed a most enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When was the moment to choose an hotel in Malta I, having seen various opportunities, decided for this one. A lot of doubts arised in my mind: will be this Hotel too large?, too far from Valletta? and other.
The result was that I find one of the best one in Malta. A wonderful and exclusive location, rooms very large and always in order. The distance from Valletta very easy to cover with and without the help of the staff.
Just in front the Hotel you have the bus stop.
No problems at all in the Hotel and the friend with me:10 people agree with my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fastweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort with other people around the world.

We all look forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have just returned from Marina Hotel Corinthia and My friend and I had a brilliant time.
The reception staff are so attentive and most helpful - we arrived before check in time, the room wasn't ready but we were able to change and keep our luggage in a secure room for collection on check in.
The hotel is just round the little bay so location wise ideal for both a quiet time or 2 mins walk to lively area and shopping mall.
Our room was very spacious and very comfortable - lovely see view room too.
The breakfast was very ample - full English/fresh omelettes and eggs cooked as requested and fruit and yoghurts etc.
Value for money - a definite I would recommend this hotel and surroundings.
All staff very very friendly and everyone in the small bars on the bay were so friendly and accommodating.
Will definitely return and probably with a few more friends next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands. It would be a real pleasure to meet you and ensure that your next visit is even more enjoyable than your previous one.

With thanks and regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Marina hotel for 1 week and we had such a wonderful time, the reception staff are very helpful friendly, our room was very clean fresh and the bed was very comfortable, the pool area was very clean with amazing sea view. The breakfast on the terrace was very nice good selection of choices and again very nice view to sit and enjoy your breakfast.
Overall I just want to say everything about this hotel was amazing experience for us, all the warm welcoming staff here made this hotel a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine19992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your views on our property and services.

We all look forward to welcoming you once again at our Hotel in the near furture.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Malta for the first time and were very excited! We had done are research and felt st George's bay was the best location for us and located close to bars and nightlife.

We chose the corinthia marina and were not overly pleased with the issues that arose.

We stayed room only and payed a substantial amount for a bay view which we got, lovely! The major down side.... NO AIR CONDITIONING!

Our room so hot you could not sleep. We we complained to reception and we were told that it's not on as too early in the season (it was 26 degrees) and manager says no to turning it on. Whilst complaining there was a couple to our right COMPLAINING about the same thing and they were told no.

For a 4 star hotel you would think customers comfort would come first, this is NOT the case at the marina hotel.

I would definitely avoid this hotel if you are wanting a hotel were staff care about guests.

Malta was wonderful apart from are hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobynBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please be assured that your comments are being discussed at Management level. Due to a sudden change in temperature, it took us a few days to shift over our central system from heating to cooling.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you once again at our Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next visit.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at the Marina several times over the last 15 years and have always been very happy with all aspects of the hotel. This time, there were a few warning signs that it may be starting to decline.

The front desk personnel are faultless, polite, helpful, excellent English and very professional. The location of the hotel is ideal, right next to the sea, close to the local shopping and nightlife but far enough away to be peaceful. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with plenty of towels etc.

The problems that are creeping in are coming close to spoiling the experience however. Firstly, if you book over the internet and ask for an ocean view room (as I did) you will be allocated a ground floor room, on floor1. These rooms have a restricted view of the bay as they are too low to see over the railings and sun shades of the terrace that is right next to your room. You will also find that other guests are sunbathing 10 feet from your balcony. The sound of voices, music and scraping sunbeds is not very restful. Reception will offer you a room on a higher floor but they are never available as you check in. You always have to wait one or two days by which time you are settled in and just put up with it.

If you have a ground floor room near the lifts you will also have a further problem....the cleaning/maintenance staff! They congregate in a storage area near the lifts before they start work in the morning. I was consistently awoken by loud voices, clanking of trolleys and on one occasion the loud singing of 'O sole mio' at 6.40am! It seems they start on the ground floor first in the morning. You are also directly beneath the lounge and restaurant so be ready for all day furniture movements over your room. The best place to relax at the Marina is actually away from your room as the outdoor areas are excellent.

As other guests have commented, the service in the hotel restaurants is poor. I waited for 30 minutes to be even acknowledged in the main restaurant before leaving and walking into town. Two days later I was completely ignored at the Italian restaurant at the hotel. I know that the standards have dropped because it was never like this on my previous visits.

My main frustration however, is with the advertised Wi-Fi in the rooms. Truthfully, the only Wi-Fi available in the hotel is in reception and this is pitifully slow. Staff tried to get me any kind of contact in my room but I was left with distinct feeling that they knew it was hopeless. The manager offered me his office to work in but this wasn't the answer, I needed to work in my room.

Overall, the Marina is still a good hotel but they need to be aware of the bad stuff creeping in. The selection of hotels in the area is good and I will definitely be looking around for my next stay instead of automatically booking the Marina which I would normally do.

Room Tip: Avoid growing floor rooms especially 128!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns during your recent stay with us.

Your comments and observations were discussed at Management level and we have already taken corrective measures.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next visit. I will personally ensure that your next stay with us is indeed a most comfortable one.

With thanks and regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,053 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £72 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Lastminute, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing