We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, Superb food, superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, Superb food, superb staff”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Thank you very much for making our stay pleasurable, We were unable to fly home due to the ash crisis and Easyjet placed us at this hotel. The room was excellent, very light with a balcony. The bathroom was bright, modern and clean. The whole hotel was a pleasure to be in. The food was superb (the only holiday abroad I have had with a great Vegetarian choice) My partner loved the fried breakfasts and roast dinners. The cakes were gorgeous !!! The hotel was in a great location, with the beach and town just down a couple of minutes down the road. We would certainly pay to come back. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a4mdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    765
    179
    63
    18
See reviews for
447
1,004
68
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Agree almost word for word with nnmercman review in March. We were also on a 52 euro per room per night deal including breakfast for 3 which is excellent value for money for a 4* (it's not really a 5*). Breakfast outside on the patio overlooking St George's Bay is very memorable.
Internet access should be better than one computer and having to try to beat the teenagers on Facebook! Take a laptop and pay 5 euro per hour or internet cafe 3 min walk away 3 euro per hour.
Car parking near the hotel was OK in April, you'd probably have a longer walk in the summer or pay to go underground.
I would like to praise the SCUBA diving setup based on the hotel jetty, Starfish Diving. It is run by a Russian couple Mikhail and Gulya who are excellent, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Kit is good and their approach very professional. They gave me a really good refresher and my 13 year old son his first 3 dives including Gozo. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
Good restaurants in St Julian's were Bianco's, Paparazzi and for a more expensive and stylish option Zest, all only 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no where
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The location of hotel was fine, bus stop right outside and walking distant to shops and restaurants. Hotel itself didn't feel like a 5*, I actually thought it was a 4 until the reception told me it was 5!
The rooms are average, clean, good shower and has all the shampoo and hair dryers, there are no dressing gowns, slippers or cotton pads/buds!

The view was nice but the balcony is so dirty and it has white plastic chairs and tables that has turned yellow- really tacky.

There was a power cut on the whole island and this '5*' hotel doesn't have a generator we were in darkness for a couple of hrs. Reception told us power cuts on the island happens often- so surely they should get a generator! Intercontinental has generator and therefore unaffected and we were hanging around there for ages!

After power cut, the fuse went in our room, we called reception thinking it was a power cut again, but it wasn't, it was just our room. Instead of sending someone to fix the issue, he offered us torches! TORCHES?! in a 5*? I went a bit crazy. Reception also had to cheek to ask 'have you never been in a black out?' he asked me twice, as if black outs were such a common occurrence & I was stupid not to have experienced it.

Anyway in the end I demanded for a room with lights!!! and he had to send us to the sister hotel San Gorg up the road, all this happened at 4am! Reception dealt with my madness v.well.

Other than having no lights in our room, the hotel is fine, clean and staff are friendly, I would recommend because its cheap but you might not have lights!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalalatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Booked the hotel in St Julians based on previous reviews and were not disappointed.
First time visitors to Malta we had a very enjoyable and relaxing 5 night stay. The hotel is located on the edge of St Julians enjoying a very pleasant setting overlooking the bay.
As the wife is almost 6 months pregnant and had recently celebrated her 30th birthday the girl at reception kindly changed the room we had been allocated to a room with a seaview on the 4th floor. A nice gesture which she really didnt have to do, and throughout our stay the staff were more than courteous and helpful.
The rooms were comfotable and clean with basic enough shower facilities but served our needs ok.
Breakfast was included and offered a great selection of cereals, breads, eggs and cooked sausages/bacon as well as fruits. We didnt sample the resturant for dinner but there is a good selection of eateries within the complex, such as Grill and Henry J Beans which although not fine dining are grand if the 10 minute walk to better establishments isnt fancied.
Overall the hotel was a good choice and we wouldnt hesitate staying at the Marina should we return to St Julians. There is ample lounging area around each of the pools and although still March the temperaures were fine for chilling out and catching a few rays. Any visitors considering a short break to St Julians could do worse than basing themselves in the Marina..

PS.. Out of the restaurants we visited in St Julians Zest is well worth the visit with a great varied menu of East & West cooking in a beautiful restaurant with very attentive staff.. A good experience

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,027 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We had a week for a bargain price of 52euros per night and thought it represented excellent value. This is not what we would class as a 5* hotel but it had more pros than cons overall. Reception staff were good and everyone was friendly and happy to assist. The breakfast buffet was more or less the same every day and therefore boring but it was sufficient and varied enough to fill you up for the day. The room was on the top floor as we had requested and the views were fine. Although Paceville is a 5 minute walk away the nightclub noises did not disturb us even though we had the patio doors open at night. Wifi is expensive at 5 euros per hour (and the hour disappeared faster than lightning) but there is PC with free access in the reception area. We sampled an evening buffet and had no complaint but I didn't rate the wine selection (a lot was local and probably ok to clean your brass and silver with). There is a bar/grill next door (Henry J Bean's) and recommend this for an evening of casual dining much like TGI Fridays - there was a Canadian waitress when we were there (Alex) and she gave excellent service and made the place feel more authentic - also there was a Happy Hour from 1800-1930hrs with all drinks half price. My top tip is if you hire a car then either bring or rent a satnav - the roads are aweful, drivers appalling and signs non existant - you have been warned!!!! This was our 3rd visit to Malta and for overall value and location this was perhaps the best overall (previous stays were at the Fortina 4* and 5*)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We arrived in Malta end of February which was perfect as the weather was warm and crisp and not very crowded. The Marina hotel is located on the busier side of the island with easy transportation to Sliema, Valletta and other connecting buses to other parts of the island. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel that takes you to capital. The hotel is also walking distance to the casino and the nightlife area of the island, filled with bars and clubs. We had a sea-view room facing the bay and the nightclubs and didn't have a problem with the noise level. The facilities of the hotel are great, several swimming pools, indoor and outdoor, spa, restaurants, cafes, etc. Breakfast buffet was good - has continental and English style breakfast and the chance to sit outside on the balcony facing the bay. If you get the chance, try eating at the Grill 3301 on the hotel grounds, its a fine dinning experience with delicious meals.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lailoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I stayed with my partner at the Corinthia Marina in summer 2008 and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very extensive and also featured maltese specialties, such as pastizzi and ricotta cheese pies which were addictive, in addition to the ubiquitous full english and continental options. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, ours had a good view of St George's Bay. The meals in the hotel were again very good and well cooked, although the drinks were fairly expensive and we were also given a whole bottle of wine when we asked for a half bottle!
There is a small town of Paceville nearby with the lively Bay Street complex, with cinema, shops and bars and there are some smaller bars and those of the Radisson Bay Point and Corinthia St George nearby, but entertainment in this hotel was poor at the time in our view. It may have changed in the year or so since we stayed. Bus links are good, with a service which passes the hotel and carries on to St Julians and Sliema. It is also a good walk to St Julians which has a good range of shops and if you are brave, like we were, you can walk to Sliema!
The hotel was clean and comfortable and very good. Thanks especially to Mr Grech on reception and Wayne and Joseph, Room cleaner and Porter for making our stay so very nice! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daru500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing