We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My boyfriend and I (from Australia) travelled with my Sister and her 2 year old son who live in the UK - we stayed in separate rooms.

We arrived at the Marina grumpy, as our bags did not arrive in Malta with us! We found the staff to be very helpful, and they chased them up for us.

Our room was quite nice, however as we chose to add a night by arriving a day earlier we had to check into one room for one night, then checkout the next day and check in to a new room. Unusually, that afternoon we were told that our room need some repair so we were moved again before we slept in this one...we didn't mind too much but we told there would be a 'token gesture' in the room for us to apologise for the inconvenience....this did not arrive! Otherwise our stay was very comfortable.

The facilities are superb, with numerous pools overlooking the bay, free towel hire and quick beach access. Short walk to local shops. Staff generally helpful, particularly the staff at the restaurants and wonderful Orestes at Cafe 24. The food is delicious and it was great to have lunch and cocktails served to us poolside! We felt so welcome and it was nice to not be 'ripped off' for food as we were in other parts of Europe.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Marina Hotel to anyone, it is affordable and a comfortable stay - more reasonably priced than the Corinthia next door. It is uitable for families, couples and single travellers. Safe, clean area.

My advice is to stay at least a week so you can explore all of Malta, as well as have a relaxing time at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    765
    181
    64
    18
See reviews for
448
1,005
68
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We got a really good deal on this hotel, and could not be happier with our choice. Especially when comparing it to other hotels in the same price range! The rooms are clean and have everything you need (including a hair dryer – it’s in the nightstand drawer if you can’t find it!). The Corinthia Marina is pretty much right on St George’s Bay (a sandy beach – the only one in the area - about a 4 minute walk from hotel). The beach gets extremely busy though, so we preferred lounging in the hotel’s private “rocky beach” which has access to the sea as well as at least 3 pools and plenty of lounge chairs (I never had a problem finding one). You can by food and drinks from the Pool bar and they will deliver it to your chair! The hotel is also only a 5 minute walking distance from party-central Paceville. Thankfully the hotel is far enough away that the noise doesn’t reach you! The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful, as were the staff in the Café (we didn’t visit any of the other restaurants). Overall I give the hotel two thumbs up! My only minor complaint would be regarding internet – they charge for wifi. In a 4 star hotel I think it would be nice if they offered this for free. They do offer one computer in the lobby that is free to use, but good luck trying to tear the kids playing games off of it, or people who are shopping for used cars!?!? Anyhow, you are on vacation. How much time do you really need the internet anyhow?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_response8, General Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Sir/Madame
thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Currently we are working on increasing the free broadband aorkstations on the property for those guests who are not travelling with their laptop. This will be ready shortly
Many thanks once again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed at the Marina for 1 week in June 2010; Had booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children; upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite as family room not available. Suite worked well for us; lovely balcony overlooking the bay; good facilities at the hotel and its sister hotel next to it although not much in the way of activities for young children. Breakfast was very good. Had lunch a couple of times at one of the pool side restaurants and it was good also. Service generally very good. Overall very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3215jmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

After an exhaustive search we found a late deal at the Marina. We were very pleased by the hotel especially by its cleanliness,attentive and knowledgable staff and the facilities provided. Breakfasts were really good and caters for all tastes. We didnt eat in the hotel restaurant but it always looked good and we would have done but there is a lot of choice locally and we like to get out and explore as far as food is concerned.
The downsides,and there arent many are as follows: The internet is free which means that if you wish to quickly log on to check emails you dont have much of a chance and you will find yourself sat behind children who are on facebook chatting or playing games.
There are 6 other restaurants attached to the Corinthia and of these,3 have their orders cooked by the same kitchen which is the marina kitchen. We ate at 2 of them and although the menus are slightly diferent, they all taste the same. I personally found the food bland and lacking flavour.
I would definatly go back and would reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobseastendcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

After spending a day in Valletta on a cruise in April, we decided to spend a week in Malta at St George's Bay. First off, after exploring St Julians and Sliema, I was very happy with the choice to stay on St George's Bay. It was convenient to the only nice beach in the area and the Baystreet Complex is a stone's throw away. The view over the bay is beautiful!

As for the hotel, our group booked two of the ten Junior Suites in the hotel and were both mildly pleased with what we got. The space in the suite was spectacular, but the amenities were just lacking. The furniture was on the cheap side and there were lots of nit-picky maintenance issues in each suite. As many have stated, a five star hotel would not allow these things to go unaddressed. The bed was very comfortable, I must say. There was a refrigerator in each room, but no iron in the suite. The phones were very old, which we found odd for a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast was not bad from a selection point of view. The coffee was good and cappucinos were available if you asked for them. The quality of the fruit was disappointing, but the breads were excellent and cold cuts were decent. We had a major problem with the high chairs that were provided. These were usually broken, dirty, old, and barely held our 18 month old down. We were constantly having to make sure she did not fall out. The hotel NEEDS to upgrade the high chairs and the cribs that are provided for that matter.

The restaurants at the Marina hotel were very good. We ate at the Cafe 24 and Vinotheque numerous times and ate at Da Marina once. The food was of high quality at these places and we found the food to be reasonably priced. We also ate at Corsairs food stand at the St George's hotel and the food was good here also. We tried to eat at the 3301 Grill, but were turned down because of the dress code (apparently no shorts allowed), but we saw people go in with jeans and sneakers.

The facilities at the St George's hotel were outstanding. We used the pools (inside and outside) just about every day and there was always chairs available even on weekends. My wife and friend used the Apollo spa and enjoyed that experience. The interior of the St George was elegant and would not have been too enjoyable with toddlers because it is a tad more stuffy than the Marina. I was happy to pay the prices and get the room space at the Marina and still be able to use the facilities at St George's.

On the weekends, Paceville gets noisy and the drunk folks can be heard around 4 or 5 in the morning. This was loud enough to wake our daughter who is a deep sleeper.

For parents of small children, I would recommend staying here and using the facilities next door. I dont know how well little kids would be tolerated at the St George. Kids were abundant at the Marina hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUTCH1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_response8, General Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Sir, Madame
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.
My team and i are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and we will obviously take your comments on board in order to keep on improving on our services.
Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcome you with us on your next stay
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks at the end of June. What can I say that others haven't. Well not a lot. This is a lovely hotel with fab views over the bay. The rooms are excellent and staff very helpful. Plenty of choice for breakfast and numerous restaurants on site to choose from, although not all of them up to standard food and service wise. Pool and terrace areas are very good and at the time there were plenty of sunbeds to go around. St George's bay is a lively area, full of teenagers, so walk into St Julian's if you want a bit more peace and a different age range. We will definitely stay at the Marina again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner and I ( young 50s) stayed, bed and breakfast, during third week of June and were extremely pleased with the service provided by this hotel. Altough some minor aspects of decor are due a little TLC the hotel was spotlessly clean, room & bathroom (which was well stocked with toiletries) changed each day, rooms were good size with great views over the bay of St. George. Bonus for partner tea/coffee making facilities.
Quality of buffet breakfast, eaten inside or outside overlooking the bay, was very good and had plenty of choice.
The Marina pools were a quite small but guests could use facilities at sister hotel next door.
Plenty of local bars and restaurants within walking distance, you can live quiet or party all night 5 mins. away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYRYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Prestigia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing