We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to happy with my experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Used this hotel for three years not to pare with past years room that we were first placed in smelly horrible and it wasn't what we ordered did change us then was given 2 single beds pushed together with a sheet on top always had good service but not this time

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for letting me know of the problem you had with the allocation of room type and with the bad odour in your room during your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. This is not our usual standard.

I have discussed these issues with the Front Office Manager and the Chief Engineer and have been informed that the bad odour was caused by an overflow in the air conditioning tray, which has now been rectified. Unfortunately, when your room was changed, queen beds were not available as we were running at a high occupancy. I have asked the Managers concerned to take the necessary corrective action so as to avoid such incidents in the future.

We value your business very much and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the chance in the future to prove that we can do better than your experience suggests.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had a great romantic weekend break. Staff very friendly and made our small holiday enjoyable. There's a lot to choose from the breakfast table and the view from our room was fantastic. Pool area is very beautiful. I recommend it 100%.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view or pool view, they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcborgcatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am pleased to read that you found our Employees to be friendly and that this helped to make your stay with us more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed at the 5-star Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay with my daughter for two weeks in late September/October 2011 on a bed and breakfast basis. We had a balcony room overlooking the sea, the three swimming pools (which were lit up every night to emphasise their splendour) and part of the Bay (Room 119).

Our room was surprisingly very large and spacious (compared to many European hotels), and adequately furnished. There was plenty of wardrobe space for our two-week stay, ample storage within the wardrobes and a good size safe to keep passports, documents, etc. (An adequate number of coat hangers were supplied, although we did bring a few of our own.) There was also a fridge/mini-bar. This was housed in a unit which also contained four drawers, which were very useful.

The room also contained a desk/dressing table (three drawers) with a hairdryer in one of the drawers – (which was very efficient) and a chair, two armchairs and a circular glass topped table, and two bedside tables (one drawer each). Plug sockets could be found under the desk and on the adjacent wall. The TV was interactive and various channels were available, together with facility for “Wake Up Call” (which was used every day) and viewing the hotel bill.

Our twin bedded room had two large double beds which were extremely comfortable and afforded a good night’s sleep every time ! Soundproofing in the rooms is excellent and the hotel is extremely quiet at night.

Lighting in the bedroom was soft, and included two bedside lamps and one floor lamp, as well as other accent lighting.

The bathroom, although a little dated, was more than adequate for our needs. Toiletries (shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, nail file, shower caps, tissues, etc.) were replenished as required. Bathrobes were also supplied. The bathroom and bedroom were serviced daily.

The air-conditioning within the bedroom was very good and kept the room cool at all times.

The balcony was fairly large and contained two chairs and a table. It was so lovely and peaceful to sit out here late at night and watch the sea, the bay and the pool area – so relaxing, you could even think you were in paradise!

I definitely liked the hotel, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it. It had a grand, unassuming elegance that is not found nowadays in many hotels of this category. The public areas were very elegant and maintained to a very high standard.

There is a computer area providing free internet access plus a printer, which is extremely useful to book airline seats and print out flight boarding passes, etc.

Breakfast in Fra Martino was (more than) very good. The chefs religiously replenished the buffet, and there was, indeed, so much choice. You name it, they had it !

However, if there was one area that needed improvement, it would be the staffing at breakfast. On a few occasions, service was not, unfortunately, as good as it should have been. Nevertheless, all hotels have their problems at times (even 5-star hotels !) with ever-changing staff, etc., – and I am sure the problems here will be ironed out too.

The tiered, terraced, outdoor pool areas and gardens are absolutely wonderful. They are extremely well kept, and I observed an attendant testing the swimming pool water each day. The terraced areas have been designed exquisitely, and you can find a peaceful area amongst the trees and plants fairly easily here. There is also easy access to the Bay – if you prefer to swim in the sea. (Unfortunately, there is no sand !) Sunbeds and umbrellas were plentiful and, even though there were many guests lounging by the pool most days because the weather was so good, the area never felt overcrowded.

The whole complex has been very thoughtfully designed. The two Corinthia hotels share facilities, and the restaurants available are, indeed, very good – fairly priced and convenient.

Vinotheque is particularly worthy of a special mention. A delightful eatery with ample choice of good food and a good selection of wine at a reasonable price. We dined here quite a few times (both lunch and dinner) during our stay and were never disappointed. Service was excellent.

Da Marina was also a good place to have dinner. Again, the service was excellent and the portions were quite large.

Cafe 24 was an enjoyable place to have coffee and a piece of cake – a quick and efficient service.

Henry J. Beans, an American type bar, has “Happy Hour” between 6.00pm and 7.30pm each day offering two drinks for the price of one – very good value. There are also other promotions offered at this venue. We had dinner here on two occasions, but the service was a bit haphazard, and the food was only mediocre. (If you don’t wish to eat here, you can still partake in “Happy Hour” !!)

Food and drink was also available in the hotel’s foyer/lounge area, but the service here was very slow at times. This may have been because the waitresses were covering more than one area and were preparing the orders as well.

We used the indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi quite a few times and found this area to be good (although the changing rooms were not available during our stay because of refurbishment - but this didn’t prove too much of an inconvenience). The attendants were very helpful. This is where you can collect towels (for use both inside and outside). Initially, you sign a docket for the towel(s) – wet towels can be changed as often as you wish. At the end of your stay, take your towel(s) and docket back to the attendant who will then countersign your docket. You then give the docket to Reception on check-out (to ensure you are not charged for the towel(s). A very simple procedure.

We were able to book numerous trips and activities via the hotel’s Concierge. They have all the details of what’s going on in Malta and they are very helpful.

The hotel’s “mini-bus service” is very good and efficient. It leaves the hotel at 10.30am each morning (Monday-Saturday service only) and drops off at Sliema and Valletta. Pick-up is from Valetta at 5.30pm. Seats on the mini-bus are bookable – and these can be booked the previous day via Concierge.

Check-out is 12 noon at this hotel. The hotel offers secure luggage storage – operated by Concierge. Very useful if you need to store luggage for a few hours after you have “checked out” but are not ready to depart for the airport.

We found all the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. Nevertheless, special mention has to go to Monika on Reception, Edgar (Concierge) and Tony (Duty Manager). All very helpful, efficient and professional individuals who are a credit to the Corinthia Group.

As I said previously, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eurotraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your detailed positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I have also noted your comments regarding the service during Breakfast, at Henry J Bean’s and le Café. We have actually, just this week, enhanced further our breakfast product and we are working on the service in these three outlets.

I was pleased to read that you found Monica, Edgar and Tony to be very helpful, efficient and professional and I will ensure that I pass on your thanks personally.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

What a dreadful Hotel, how it can call itself 5 star is beyond me! We booked 3 twin rooms via a travel co. on line but when we arrived they said we had booked 6 rooms! the receptionist was horrible to us! My sister had to move rooms 3 times, they were given a double when we ordered twin, after the first night all her clothes in the wardrobe were soaked through,they blamed the drains.A huge cockroach was found in the bathroom and the room stunk of damp from a wet carpet! In my mums room she walked in on the second day and there was water coming down from the ceiling,they said the air conditioing tray was full.My mum had a broken foot so we were pleased when we went out to the pool to see ramps as she was in a wheelchair, but low and behold the ramps only went so far then you had to go down a set of stairs, a very odd set up. As the hotel is at the top of a hill we could not take her out unless we went by taxi, this was very expensive as they charge 10 euros minimum for a 2min journey into Town! There is a courtesey bus into Valetta which runs at 9,30 and 10.30 on a first come first served basis, We asked what time the return buses are. He informed us that there is only 1 so you have had it if you dont get on.They take 36 people in and bring 18 back!! Begars belief.The local bus was a nightmare,they have not heard of health and safety,we were dropped in the middle of nowhere,I will never return to Malta, the friendliness is 50/50

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hart1Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S, Training & Quality Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, which are important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay in our hotel. I have shared your feedback with our management team. We are sorry that your experience in Malta was not a memorable one.

I hope you will allow us another chance to prove to you that we can do it right.

Kindest Regards,

Sandra Scerri
Training & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Had a good time soaking up the sun. Rooms could do with some renovation and also the indoor swimming pool needs a good renO.
Also found the gym useful.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliuskeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S, Training & Quality Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and I have shared this with the rest of the management team. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Scerri
Training & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our best holiday so far !
Lovely staff. Nice, clean rooms with lovely sea view.Nice outdoor swimming pools and indoor spa. And just a few steps down outside you can swim in the ocean.
Great location. Just a short walk to Bay Street where we had lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe.
We spent the evenings and had our dinners at Henry J Beans at the hotel area. Great food and music.
For us it was a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SynnoveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3301, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again!
Best regards,
Mounir Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Just back from a week where we found the hotel staff helpful and polite. The hotel is advertised as 5* however, we would rate it as 4* as the rooms are a bit tired and could do with some TLC, otherwise we have no complaints and the amenities are first class.
The only meals we had in the hotel were breakfasts and there was ample choice in terms of cooked food, cold meats, cereal, fresh fruit etc.
There are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance both within the Corinthia complex and in surrounding St Julians, of note is Chapter One which although expensive was well worth the treat.
We would thoroughly recommend Malta and throughout the island found the locals to be genuinely helpful and happy to assist.
Gozo is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKathBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3301, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Guests,
I appreciate your comments and my Team and I are pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Mounir Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.1 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,138 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay

Address: | St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3301, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £95 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay is one of the best luxury hotels in Malta, bringing together outstanding sea views, enchanting luxury and unbeatable service.Standing like a beacon of luxury accommodation on a promontory overlooking St. George’s Bay in Malta, the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay can’t help but inspire dreams. Choose from a range of sumptuous rooms, each with a private balcony and state-of-the-art amenities couched in an elegant design that combines historic romance with a fresh contemporary edge. Guests of this 5 star luxury hotel in Malta are treated to unique experiences throughout their stay.There’s no need to tear yourself away from the picture postcard views of the bluest Mediterranean for dinner: each of the luxury hotel’s 9 fine restaurants offers ravishing vistas along with the most delectable meals. Dine al fresco at the Grill 3301 rooftop terrace, surrounded by the soft sea breeze, 360º views, and the mouthwatering aromas of fine cuisine. Or take a sip of a wide selection of fine wines in the exquisite French-style charm of the Vinotheque Bistro. The adventurous will be spoilt for choice with the hotel’s water sport centre, which offers private yacht hire, and the on-site diving centre. The famous Lido at the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay also offers 3 pools, children’s pool, bars, restaurants, sunbeds, and sea access, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the wonderful location. And for pure tranquility, there’s even a spa. But not just any spa: the Apollo Day Spa provides the ultimate in holistic pampering and wellness treatments designed to bring out the best, carefree side of you. Completed by an idyllic location that gives easy access to the highlights of Malta, there’s truly no better place to make your Malta holiday than the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing