We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Generous Buffet Breakfast, Large Rooms, Sea Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Generous Buffet Breakfast, Large Rooms, Sea Views”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed three nights at the Corinthia St. Georges Bay, a first trip to Malta. The hotel is welcoming for a large property and in the warmer months, we would definitely take advantage of the lovely outdoor pools. There are two children's pools and two large outdoor pools along with an indoor heated pool. The beach lido and club, spa, and workout room are all well done. It's a great location with plenty of restaurants, sandy beach, nighttime entertainment, movie theaters, and close public transportation. The property is well maintained and staff is attentive to making your stay a pleasant one.
From the buffet breakfast to the friendly staff, we couldn't have asked for a nicer escape to sunny Malta!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the Radisson facing St. George's Bay have afternoon sun, while the rooms closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigCheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am really pleased to read that you were very happy with our Hotel, location, service, food and employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel soon.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    694
    284
    76
    43
See reviews for
498
927
61
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

On our arrival late in the evening the reception staff didn't exactly break their necks to check us in they asked for the weeks payment up front and issued our keys. We we told nothing about the services, such as breakfast and were not offered help with our luggage. The Hotel itself is very nice with clean well proportioned rooms and a well stocked minibar. The Hotel is up a hill from St Georges bay which could be a little too much for some people.The restaurants in the Hotel are good and my kids loved Henry Beans. This is an American Style diner, which serves great cocktails. The staff are all really nice. Unlike in the hotel. I found the bar staff so rude in the cocktail bar of the hotel I refused to go back to it. One of my teenagers beds was too small and uncomfortable. It took a day of repeated emploring for the hotel to finally Act to change it. The executive lounge provided happy hour from 6-7 after 6.10pm all the tasty food was away. We had to ask for more wine as all the white wine was gone. My 19 year old son, who didn't drink the whole time he was there was scoulded at by reception staff and made feel rather intimidated. This is a really nice hotel but it is badly let down by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I thank you for the detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining in our various outlets, especially Henry J Bean’s and that you tried some of our many cocktails. I am also glad that you liked the room and found it clean, with a well-stocked mini bar. This year we will be commencing the refurbishment of all the bedroom furniture and the bathrooms and we are looking into a project to upgrade all our TV sets and TV System, which will include Wi-Fi, so the rooms will be further enhanced.

On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear that your check in was not up to our usual high standard and to read about the disappointing service at the Pearl Lounge and the Executive Club. I also apologise for the delay in changing your child’s bed. Please rest assured that the necessary corrective action has been taken to ensure that these incidents do not reoccur in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived at midday and although we had booked an executive room we were told that we needed to return to main reception at 2pm to check in. We had drinks in the lobby whilst we waited - drinks were very expensive. Athough rooms were a little dated, they were well equipped and spacious, the complimentary wired internet was very useful - and there was a great seaview and view of pool. For us, location was good, I would hate to be in the centre of Paceville!

We took breakfast in the main dining room and thought there was a very good choice and staff, although very busy (Easter time) they were efficient and helpful. We were slightly disappointed with some aspects of the executive lounge - the reception was usually unmanned, and it would have been nice if we could have checked in there instead of main reception. Although our room was cleaned to a good standard it was often cleaned late in the day - being cleaned at 4pm is too late!

We enjoyed the complimentary snacks during the day, but it was a shame that it was not more welcoming in there. (one member of staff was particularly miserable) Hot food and local wine was available between 6-7pm in Exec. lounge, however the hot food usually ran out by 6.15, and was not replenished apart from the last night. I agree with other reviewers that live music/entertainment is non existant. We had a couple of good cocktails (albeit pricey) in the Pearl Lounge, although the ambience was spoiled by 2 small children running in and out from the Lobby to the Pearl Lounge at 10.30pm.
I would consider going back to this hotel, if facilities were improved, but overall we had an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calabaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Executive Room with its view and free internet. I apologise that we could not check you in before the official check-in time but our Hotel was running at full capacity over Easter and one needs time to clean the rooms after the previous guest checks out at 12:00 noon.

I am also happy that you enjoyed our lavish breakfast spread and that the staff were efficient and helpful, even though very busy.

I will see to it that the Executive Club is properly manned and that food is replenished much more frequently, I am sorry that the service was not up to standard.

We are at the moment looking into an entertainment programme for the Hotel during the summer months.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed our Hotel, food and service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I spent 5 days at Corinthia St Georges Bay just before Easter 2012. I found the hotel very nice, it's in St Julian but outside the crowded areas. Being a woman traveling alone I felt safe and found it a very relaxing place. I had a seaview room overlooking the swimmingpools. It was big and nicely furnished. Bathroom on the contrary was small and a bit old. Hotel has a nice spa where I enjoyed a couple of massages and a nail treatment. Food was average but I only tried the buffet restaurant so I cannot speak about the rest.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

It is great that you enjoyed the seaview of your room and some of the many treatments we offer at the Apollo Spa.

You may be pleased to know that this year we will be commencing the refurbishment of all the bedroom furniture and bathrooms.

It is a pity that you didn’t try the Grill 3301 award winning restaurant, the very popular Henry J Bean’s American Bar and Grill or our famous lavish Sunday lunch buffet spread.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a 'average to good' hotel. It's got nice views of the bay, lovely gardens, the bedrooms are of a reasonable size (coffee table in poor condition), and staff are friendly enough apart from maybe the waiting/kitchen staff at the breakfast buffet where it's a more like a rugby scrum as the restaurant isn't big enough at busy times although there's a fairly extensive choice of foods. The Grill Restaurant is very good and you pay accordingly. Henry J Beans is cheaper but the quality of food isn't great even for a fast food type restaurant. Good concierge and breakfast hostess. There's an excellent tapas restaurant down the road.

Overall the hotel does lack sophistication and atmosphere which is a shame as it has great potential - the decor is a bit brash and there's absolutely no entertainment, even the two grand piano's in the reception areas are never played.The courtesy bus to Valetta is only once a day and not in the evening. May be all of this is reflected in the price paid but nor is this the most cost effective place to stay either.

Good but could be a bit better with just a bit more attention to detail.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the bay side and possibly away from Henry J Beans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
I thank you very much for your constructive detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

On a positive note, it is great to read that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our amazing views and lovely gardens, as well as our extensive breakfast spread.

I am, however, sorry that the service during breakfast was disappointing. I have discussed this matter with the Food and Beverage Manager in order to take the necessary action to avoid such incidents in the future.

We are currently looking into the possibility of upgrading all our TVs and TV system which will include WiFi in all our guest rooms. This year we will also be commencing the refurbishment of all the bedroom furniture and the bathrooms.

I am also looking into an entertainment programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Staff helpfull and friendly got some good recommendations for restaurants serving local dishes. Bedrooms quite large with two double beds and a great sea view. Standard breakfast buffet but dinner buffet a big let down. Price of drink in hotel bar very expensive. Overall an enjoyable stay and would go back but i question the 5 star rating!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am happy to read that our employees provided you with great service and that you liked our bedrooms and views. This year we will be commencing a refurbishment programme of all the bedroom furniture and bathrooms, so this will further enhance our product.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy our buffet dinner, which is usually very popular, especially in summer when we have a different theme every night.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

From organising a taxi for our arrival and our departure, I could not recommend this hotel enough. We had a lovely time; the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. From the Concierge, Robert, and the Head of Restaurant, Victor and his staff, we had excellent service which made our stay extra special. Lounge: service in the Lounge was good especially from Zsofia, however the WiFi was weak at times and only available free in this area.

Good breakfast, plenty of choices both hot and cold. Several restaurants in the complex were of good value and variety, especially Vinotheque with Mario who was an excellent host.

Room Tip: Deluxe room sea and bay views overlooking the pool are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCBS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to read that we helped to make your stay an enjoyable one and that Robert, Victor, Zsofia and all the Team provided you with excellent service.

I am also really glad that you enjoyed our lavish breakfast and that you experienced our many dining outlets.

We are currently looking into upgrading our TV system and providing free Wi-Fi all over the Hotel, including the bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.1 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay

Property: Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Address: | St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3301, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay is one of the best luxury hotels in Malta, bringing together outstanding sea views, enchanting luxury and unbeatable service.Standing like a beacon of luxury accommodation on a promontory overlooking St. George’s Bay in Malta, the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay can’t help but inspire dreams. Choose from a range of sumptuous rooms, each with a private balcony and state-of-the-art amenities couched in an elegant design that combines historic romance with a fresh contemporary edge. Guests of this 5 star luxury hotel in Malta are treated to unique experiences throughout their stay.There’s no need to tear yourself away from the picture postcard views of the bluest Mediterranean for dinner: each of the luxury hotel’s 9 fine restaurants offers ravishing vistas along with the most delectable meals. Dine al fresco at the Grill 3301 rooftop terrace, surrounded by the soft sea breeze, 360º views, and the mouthwatering aromas of fine cuisine. Or take a sip of a wide selection of fine wines in the exquisite French-style charm of the Vinotheque Bistro. The adventurous will be spoilt for choice with the hotel’s water sport centre, which offers private yacht hire, and the on-site diving centre. The famous Lido at the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay also offers 3 pools, children’s pool, bars, restaurants, sunbeds, and sea access, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the wonderful location. And for pure tranquility, there’s even a spa. But not just any spa: the Apollo Day Spa provides the ultimate in holistic pampering and wellness treatments designed to bring out the best, carefree side of you. Completed by an idyllic location that gives easy access to the highlights of Malta, there’s truly no better place to make your Malta holiday than the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing