We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grill 3301”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Grill 3301”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed with my family over the New Year period. We had a great room overlooking the bay, and with executive lounge access, the kids were able to grab a snack after swimming every day. The most outstanding part of the Hotel however was the Grill 3301. We ate there three times and were never dissappointed. Top quality fresh fish, great service and a fantastic view over the bay. Great Hotel to stay in, and a restaurant not to miss.

Room Tip: Book an executive room. The lounge is a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzzzztime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to hear that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the services of the Executive Lounge. It is also very pleasing to read that you visited our Award Winning Restaurant, the Grill 3301, and you always found it to be excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to the Grill 3301 in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    700
    286
    77
    44
See reviews for
514
942
62
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Corinthia during a business trip to Malta. My company booked a deluxe sea view room with breakfast included. I arranged to have their taxi or car service come pick me up prior to arrival. For 21 euros it made arrival painless and quick and is worth the extra cost as compared to the airport shuttle or a standard taxi. My driver was very pleasant and pointed out all the sights along the way. It probably took about 15-20mins to arrive in St. Julian’s.

Check-in was quick, I was assigned room 54 on the lobby level with a view over the pool and if you shifted to the right on the balcony, you could see the bay. The room had two twin beds and was fairly spacious with a desk, a table and two chairs and a TV stand/dresser with a few drawers. The majority of the dresser was the minibar which took up too much room (I would have liked more storage and nothing in the fridge so I could put in my own items). I never used the TV but I was told there were several English channels. There was a spacious closet and a safe located near the door. Two bottles of water were provided upon check-in which was nice.

The bathroom was a bit smaller than I expected with the toilet tucked behind the door and a corner sink. The bathtub was set-up with a shower extension in place of the traditional hand shower only. There was no shower curtain just a half glass door that swung out. Unfortunately it was not sealed between the tub and the door so if you take a normal shower, the water will run out and you will have a lake for a bathroom floor. I caution you to take care to rinse off with the hand shower attachment so that it points in the back corner. It makes for a slower shower, but prevents the water from getting all over the floor. Bathroom amenities were plentiful with Vive soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The bathroom does not have any outlets for electronics except for shavers. Instead, a hair dryer is provided in the top desk drawer. There is a mirror over the desk so you can dry and style your hair, but be aware that the hair dryer is hooked into the desk and cannot be removed. You also have to hold down the button while you are using it as it does not click into place. If you are from the US, bring Type G adaptor plugs and you should have no problem plugging in your dual voltage electronics for use in the hotel.

I used the internet quite frequently for email and Skype calls to the US. Connectivity was free over wireless, but a charge to plug in directly. The wireless was spotty, dropping my calls and disconnecting from my email frequently especially later in the evening when I needed to use it. I also had an issue with using the A/C the first night when it was especially warm in the room. The A/C did not work and I was told later that it’s shut off in the winter. I did not call down to the front desk, but if you have this problem, they will likely take care of it if you let them know. It was very windy while I was there and the room certainly does whistle when the weather is like that however, outside of this, I found the room quiet and comfortable. No one was using the pool in the winter so I imagine it could be noisy in the summer.

One issue that I was not happy with was the gym was closed and then under renovation and no alternative was offered. It’s extremely important for me to maintain a fitness routine and I would have liked a pass to another hotel or access to the personal training studio during this time. No apology was made for lack of this service while on the premises and the spa staff was almost rude when asked for an alternative. They pointed me to the personal training studio, but once there the staff turned away the regular guests since it was full of clients. With the renovation finished, you are not likely to run into this issue but it was not a pleasant experience for me.

Since I couldn’t get into the gym I resorted to yoga and pilates in my room. The furniture is easy enough to move around, but I noticed that the carpet is not vacuumed from day to day as the same debris that blew in from my balcony was still there day after day. I would have expected a hotel like this to perform basic cleaning of the carpet, but other than that, the bathroom and the rest of the room was fairly well kept.

Breakfast was served each morning in the hotel on the level below the lobby, buffet style. You just give the host your name and room number and you can choose your seat. There is a wide range of options from tea, juices and coffee, cereal, warm made to order waffles, European style meats and cheese, fruit, yogurt, eggs, beans and other savory items. Breakfast hours were adjusted for the meeting attendees, but the normal hours accommodated both early and late risers.

I tried a few of the restaurants along the bay that are connected (billing-wise) to the hotel and you can charge the bill back to your room which is convenient. It’s a short walk through the pool area to reach them and there’s a decent variety to choose from for a nice or casual lunch. It's also easy to walk into town to try local venues, but bring good walking shoes and be aware that you will have to climb a winding hill or a few steps on the way back. Andrew’s Bar is located just down the hill and serves excellent glasses of local wine on their outdoor patio weather-permitting.

The staff and services at the hotel were very good. I already mentioned the taxi service which is efficient and which you can bill to your room and I also utilized the dry cleaning/laundry which was returned the same day as long as you get it in by 8:30am. The front desk also assisted in setting up a return taxi to the airport, itemizing my bill and giving me directions to their business center so I could print my boarding task. Everyone I met with the exception of the spa reception and the personal training center were kind and helpful and made my stay very pleasant. I would have rated the hotel slightly higher if the floor had been cleaned and some apology/alternative made for the gym.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 54 on the same floor as the lobby. It faces the pool and part of the bay and is eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your comments overall were all very positive.

I do apologise for the lack of vacuuming and the temporary closure of the gym due to urgent maintenance issues. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. This is not our usual standard.

I have discussed these issues with the Executive Housekeeper and the Spa / Gym Manager for them to take the necessary corrective action and to make sure that we communicate the closure of any facilities in a more efficient manner, so as to avoid such incidents in the future.

We value your business very much and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingli, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Although the weather was not good to go out and we stayed the weekend at the hotel, it was most enjoyable and relaxing. The environment was excellent and the employees were just as well. We got pampered and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, and see view - excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

It is very nice to hear that you found our Hotel environment and the service of our employees excellent. It is a pity that the weather was not good, this is very unusual. At the moment we are enjoying sunny weather with temperatures of 21 degrees.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a warmer Malta in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Even if you aren't staying at this gorgeous hotel (and your should - the service is excellent, the comfort factor high and views truly astounding), try and get a booking at Grill 3301. It's location on a rooftop makes the whole experience extra special and a wonderfully special holiday memory.

Room Tip: Our room had a fantastic view - i don't know if they all do but definitely asking for this when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to read that we exceeded your expectations, both during your stay with us and during your dinner at our Award Winning Restaurant, the Grill 3301.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to the Grill 3301 in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent service from the beginning to the point that we left. On a January weeknight it was not busy at all but there was no hint of the staff giving anything less than their full attention (unlike our experiences in other restaurants). The food was very good. Yes it was not the cheapest meal we had in Malta but we knew it was going to cost a bit more than average. You can eat for less elsewhere of course but this was our treat night of the stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the excellent quality of food and service we provide at our Award Winning Restaurant, the Grill 3301.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to the Grill 3301 in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a Delux room with sea view. Being honest was slightly disappointed that I had a view of the sea once I looked past the car park. Rooms on the other side overlook the pool and bay-although due to windy weather most had whistling issues from the wind and their patio doors (I did not).
Room was large and comfortable in particular the huge bed and wonderful pillows!
Lots of english speaking TV channels.
Bathroom was fine, not exceptional and as another reviewer mentioned weak shower.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was pleasant.
The rate was very inexpensive due to the time of year (I would imagine).
I would stay here again the bed was to die for!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our large room and the comfort of our Corinthia Bed, which you describe as ‘to die for’.

It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed our lavish buffet breakfast and that all our Staff were friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel is lovely. Manages to still be very friendly even though it's quite posh! Bedroom was huge as well the wonderfully comfortable beds. Bathroom didn't quite live up to that. Shower was a bit weak.

Nice choice of fruits and yogurts for breakfast, plus the usual 'English' selection.

Hotel is not in St Julians and to get there, you need to get through the awful Paceville, which is mainly bars and strip clubs. Still there's a great bus service from just outside the hotel to Valletta from where you can explore the entire island.

Weather wasn't good, but I can imagine the outdoor pool area being great in the summer. Indoor pool was incredibly relaxing. Nice sauna and an OK gym.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am really glad that you liked our rooms, the comfort of our ‘Corinthia Bed’, our lavish buffet breakfast, the service of our staff, our indoor pool and the sauna. Our outdoor pools and recreational areas are amazing in summer.

We hope to welcome you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,915 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay

Property: Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Address: | St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3301, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay is one of the best luxury hotels in Malta, bringing together outstanding sea views, enchanting luxury and unbeatable service.Standing like a beacon of luxury accommodation on a promontory overlooking St. George’s Bay in Malta, the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay can’t help but inspire dreams. Choose from a range of sumptuous rooms, each with a private balcony and state-of-the-art amenities couched in an elegant design that combines historic romance with a fresh contemporary edge. Guests of this 5 star luxury hotel in Malta are treated to unique experiences throughout their stay.There’s no need to tear yourself away from the picture postcard views of the bluest Mediterranean for dinner: each of the luxury hotel’s 9 fine restaurants offers ravishing vistas along with the most delectable meals. Dine al fresco at the Grill 3301 rooftop terrace, surrounded by the soft sea breeze, 360º views, and the mouthwatering aromas of fine cuisine. Or take a sip of a wide selection of fine wines in the exquisite French-style charm of the Vinotheque Bistro. The adventurous will be spoilt for choice with the hotel’s water sport centre, which offers private yacht hire, and the on-site diving centre. The famous Lido at the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay also offers 3 pools, children’s pool, bars, restaurants, sunbeds, and sea access, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the wonderful location. And for pure tranquility, there’s even a spa. But not just any spa: the Apollo Day Spa provides the ultimate in holistic pampering and wellness treatments designed to bring out the best, carefree side of you. Completed by an idyllic location that gives easy access to the highlights of Malta, there’s truly no better place to make your Malta holiday than the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing