We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business travellers and holidayers alike.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The I is the perfect combination of a business class hotel coupled with all of the facilities and amenities that holidaymakers expect.

We had an 11th floor executive room overlooking the panoramic pool and the courtyard of the Al Fresco restaurant. Contrary to another report we heard nothing of the music when we were in our room.

Room was huge with 2 double beds, a fantastic bathroom with a massive tub and separate shower. All the usual mod cons (hairdryer, iron, tea/coffee, minibar, cable tv with Sky 1/SS1/SS2/Sky Living etc)

Public areas very clean and contemporary.

Breakfast (huge buffet style) was pretty amazing. Can't think of anything more anybody could want.

Location is interesting as it is in the heart of the bar district in the Paceville part of St. Julians. Don't be put off by this but I would try to get a room that doesn't overlook the front of the hotel as I could imagine it might be a little noisy.

There is a small mall opposite with Adidas, Marks and Spencer Food, Hilfiger, Mexx, McDonalds (free WiFi as not free in hotel), Hard Rock, and a few other decent restaurants.

There is a small but busy sandy beach about 100 yards from the front door of the hotel and there is a private section for residents.

Roof top pool is great and there are plenty of sun beds. Towels are free too.

The bar by the pool is actually good value especially for the great food. Pizzas are really good and so too the wraps and club sandwich.

Take a walk in the evening over to the next bay (Spinola Bay) as there are some great value restaurants especially Papperazzi!

Carry on around the coast from Spinola for a couple of Km's and you will get to Sliema where there is a great new development, Tigne Point with a good Mall and some cracking eateries.

The change over to Arriva bus services from the iconic yellow buses that took place on Sunday 3rd July 2011 not entirely seamless but I reckon they will get there. Sad to see the yellow buses gone though (only the well maintained ones though as some were real clunkers)

Would recommend the I. Clean, modern, good service, good pool, good food, close access to buses etc.

Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshWizardCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,008)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,291 - 2,297 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Encouraged by reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked a week’s stay at the Intercontinental. All requests regarding our room, e.g. as high as possible and with sunshine on the balcony in the afternoon and evening were met.

Before we travelled, we requested an upgrade to the “Club” level and we were very happy with our room, 1311. It was also well away from any late night or early morning noise, as the Intercontinental is in Paceville, the island’s clubbing capital.

The upgrade was well worth the cost if one enjoys breakfast in a more leisurely fashion, a few complimentary drinks before dinner and a high vantage point from which to view the surrounding area. The free internet access in the Club lounge was also useful.

The hotel marked a birthday celebrated during our stay with a cake and champagne delivered to our room. This was a very nice touch and much appreciated.

All aspects of service, front desk, cleaning, bar and meal service at the Intercontinental were excellent. We had two evening meals in the Al Fresco restaurant and one at Paranga and the food quality and service were of a very high standard. The live music in the Al Fresco was always a welcome accompaniment.

Our room could hardly be faulted. It was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was large with both a shower and a bath. Our only criticism of our room, a fairly minor one, is that the lighting on the balcony was situated too low and/or was not bright enough to enable one to read in comfort when the sun had gone down. This lighting, over which the guest seems to have no control, seems to have been provided more to enhance the appearance of the hotel than for the guests’ convenience.

A criticism of the Carissa Wine & Sports Bar would be that whilst guests may watch Sky Sports 1 and 2 in their rooms, these popular sports channels seem not to be available in the bar. This is probably due more to commercial reasons than technical ones. It is something that the hotel may wish to address. However, during the Wimbledon fortnight, tennis lovers (not I) seemed to be well catered for.

Finally, we were very happy with our choice of the Intercontinental for our second stay in Malta, an island we like for its people and its history, and we would definitely return to this fine, almost faultless, hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Special thanks to
Mr Santiago-Silis Martinez
Revenue Manager

Dear Sir,

We had a wonderful holiday in your hotel last week (Juin 25 to July 2) . Now we are at home and we will like to express you our most sincelelly THANKS for the elegant way you meet us in you hotel and for all privileges you kindly granted to us. We was deeply impressed by the general gentleness of yours employees, everywhere in the hotel, at the pool, in the lounge or in all Intercontinental restaurants we has visited.

That's why we add a 6th star to the overall appreciation of your hotel. Surelly we will return to Malta and say you hello. Maybe we will meet you in another fine hotel managed by you (why not in Mexico!). I will also write some lines on TripAdvisor (guess what :-).

Please receive our best regards from Geneva, Switzerland
Doina & Constantin SANDRU

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Constantin_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

There arent many InterContinental or Crowne Plaza hotels across the world that I haven't now stayed in, and to date , the I.C in Malta rates amongst the very best.
Why ?;
Very simply, it is due to the excellence in service provided by all of the staff
In fact the courtesy and attentive nature of the I.C Malta team was very much in evidence weeks before my visit, when responding to my initital email enquiry about the rooms and local facilites.
Holly and Cornelia from Guest relations responded promptly, professionally and informatively to my enquiries, and then took it on themselves to go that extra mile and provide an additional surprise for my girlfriend, whose birthday it was during the weekend.
Throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble and every I.C Malta staff member we met or just passed by in a lift or corridor, greeted us with a friendly smile and a few generous words. I really can't stress enough the high level of approachable professionalism in this hotel and this filtered right down from the senior managers and host staff in the Club Lounge to the housekeeping staff.

The hotel itself is based on the typical IHG Group structure and offers comfortable 1 roomed accomodation right up to the roof top suites and terraces. On this occasion we had taken a Terrace Suite and this 2 roomed accomodation featured a living area, seperate bedroom, one large bathroom and also seperate w.c & wash area. Each room had a balcony with table and chairs but the real benefit of this grade of room is the additional large terrace area with sun loungers and tables for outside dining.
The Club Lounge access accompanying this grade of accomodation was a real bonus and served the usual high standard of business, rest and refreshment facilities. The terrace area outside the Club Lounge gives a pleasing aspect of the surrounding town and a brief glimpse across the Bay and small beach area. Again, whilst this is a typical I.C facility across most hotels in the Group, the real difference was in the approach and friendliness of the staff, all of whom took great care to ensure all guests using the Lounge were catered for and looked after.
The location of this hotel appears to have been subject to some elements of criticism in previous reviews, and this is understandable bearing in mind the environment it is situated within. However, anyone using this hotel must do so knowing that this area of Malta is a tourist hotspot, and due to the very limited space and landmass available it should not be a surprise to anyone that life is a bit of a bustle around and about the hotel. In all honesty, anyone blaming the hotel for the existence of life around it must really take a look at themselves and perhaps question their own level of awareness and research about where they choose to travel to.
But in saying all of that, the majority of rooms at the hotel enjoy a North /East facing aspect and with it a decent overview of the Bay and those above level 10, a really nice view of the excellent roof top pool area.
There are numerous more high points to mention regarding the facilities in this hotel, including the excellent choice of dining facilities, especially the unique sea front restaurant less than 150 m from the Hotel itself. It looks, feels and acts like a seperate entitiy to the hotel, with its tables sat virtually on the water and its atmospheric lighting and bar areas, but it has the convenience of just having to give your name and room number to settle the bill.

In all, this is a great hotel. Sure some very small improvements could be made here and there, but overall a FIRST CLASS stay !
Thank You ! ( Holly, Cornelia & team)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freediver270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for the 2nd time 18th june-25 june and once agian had a great time. The hotle was clean and the staff friendly. Stayed in a room overlooking the sports bar, but didn't get any noise from it due to the curtains.

Spent a lot of the time at the Pool Bar and would like to mention Brendon and Kenneth who were friendly and funny throughout the whole week.


rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard and any help we needed the concerige sorted it.

Will be looking to come back for the 3rd time soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is one of the best hotel I ever have stayed at. We visited Malta June 2011 and I can strongly recommend the Intercontinental. The hotel is very nice and the staff is very helpful in all different requests you can issue.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I have just returned from Malta this morning and had a Fantastic stay at the Intercontinental Hotel. The hotel was superb such friendly helpful & attentive staff. Our Ambassador King Suite was beautiful and pristine we wanted for nothing, the bed & pillows were to dream on. The Club Lounge was very inviting and the breakfast/high tea/pre dinner drinks were exceptional and always service with a smile. I have never felt so special and pampered in the way I did here and I would recommend this hotel to everyone. I will be back in the future to experience this all over again. Wonderful pool area, and highly recommend the Eastern Breeze restaurant. Thank you so much for such an enjoyable relaxing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MONDRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £66 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing