We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I cannot imagine why a chain like Intercontinental Hotels would choose the location that their Malta branch inhabits. It is surrounded by seedy night clubs and crawling with ill behaved teenagers. Stepping out of the hotel is a terrible shock, and certainly not advisable after dark. The streets are littered and smell badly.

The hotel's pool and private beach facilities are far too small for a hotel of this size and are characterised by dilapidated furniture and rubbish which is left from one day to the next. Images of these facilities on the hotel's web site are cynically misleading.

There are several five star hotels in the vicinity, though not among the night clubs, which are far better than the Intercontinental.

I cannot advise strongly enough against staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrism34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    1,300
    501
    179
    107
See reviews for
885
1,478
136
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Malta. We stayed at the Intercontinental in St. Julian's Bay and really enjoyed our visit. Our room was spacious, we loved the pool and beach club. The staff were very good but we'd like to single out Pepe the concierge and Kate at the al-fresco restaurant for special praise. Pepe was so kind and helpful, he was always attentive and really looked after us. We felt lucky to meet kate when we did, she gave us lots of tips about places to visit and gave us great service at the restaurant when we dined there. We would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaAmitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We spent the first week of July in the Intercontinental and can't fault much of it. The consierge couldn't do enough for us, check-in and check-out processes were friendly and efficient, the bed was super comfortable, room large and clean, bathroom clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good and we made use of their 'dine around' offer. It was the best steak I've had in a while (in their BBQ restaurant) and in the restaurant on the sea front (Paranga?) we had the best service ever, and the lamb dish was delicious. The only thing I would suggest is providing free Wi-Fi in the rooms rather than charging by the hour (sometimes you only need 5 minutes to check your emails on iPhone). The asian restaurant was not to the same standard (not bad though!). Loved the pool on the rooftop, even though we weren't around much to use it. Scuba in Malta was excellend (lots of wrecks). What else can I say - just lovely!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertandAnnelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wommelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Upon arrival we were immediattely impressed by the hotel and the staff. The club room (15th floor) was excellent and consisted of a very nice living room with television and playstation, separate bedroom with two beds (1.20m) and television, separate bathroom with shower and bath, separate toilet. The room was very clean upon arrival and housekeeping made sure it kept that way on daily bases. The whole staff (reception, restaurants, housekeeping, bar, etc) was very friendly, professional and helpfull. The hotel has 8 restauants and offers a great variety. We have had fantastic breakfast and dinners. Nice swimming pool outside on the 10th floor with bar, plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas and towels. The inside swimming pool was closed for renovation.There is also a hairdresser and spa at the hotel. Going back? Without any doubt I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy-Segers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

An Oasis of calm close to all the nightlife of St Julians bay
One of the best parts of the hotel is the dine for 3 nights for €60 which gives you a 3 course meal in any of the hotels 8 restaurants very good value.
The staff were helpful and everything was clean and well kept, there are very good facilities at the hotel for fitness, pampering and eating.
we would go to the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermuda-strider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We got sent here as the hotel Cavalieri which we had booked had no rooms for us.
At first we were slightly disapointed with the hotels location as you have to walk through Paceville to get to it. However when we saw our room we were delighted. Although we had a room facing on to the street, it was the quietist room that we have ever stayed in with wonderfully comfy beds and pillows.
All the staff were friendly and helpfull and the breakfasts superb.
The rooftop pool area was lovely and you could always find a quiet corner. The poolside resturant is excellent and very resonably priced.
The hotel also has its own little patch of beach a 2 minute walk away and this made a lovely change to the pool area.
I would highly recommend this hotel and dont let the location put you off.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickySouthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed the IC Malta from 2nd till 9th July. It was super and we also want to say a special thank to Cornelia, Jeanine(reception) and Jon who made us the best eggs in the morning!
This hotel also has a private beach and a lot of good restaurants such as Paranga.
Kind regards

Aurélie

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aure55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,482 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing