We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family/ business Hotel but not a really good 5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
portugal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A family/ business Hotel but not a really good 5 Stars”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Location - Not so good

Rooms - Need a transformation

Pool - Good

Beach - Poor

Restaurants - Ok

Reception - Good

Prices - Ok

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCSPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,767
    1,313
    505
    179
    107
See reviews for
891
1,494
138
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 nites and had a great holiday overall. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and the club lounge service was great. Having a 1 year old toddler is challenging at the best of times but it was easy n smooth sailing thanks to the staff. The room is not quite 5 star and could do with a bit of modernisation but clean and comfortable. The hotel has a beach but it's not quite by the premise, you have to walk a few minutes down the road and cross to the other side. There's a shopping centre just across from the hotel n bars n clubs all within close proximity. Loads of things to keep everyone entertained.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel. Even though there was a problem with our room on arrival, it was rectified quickly and efficiently. We were moved to a different room with a wonderful view of the bay. Also I am Dairy intolerant and my Mother is diabetic and the chef went out of his way to cater for us, by creating some fabulous desserts. The only complaint we had was that we were not allowed to bring him home to cook for us! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a truley delightful holiday

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were staying in a room with sea/pool view with a nice balcony, and we had access to the Club Lounge on the 15th Floor. The staff working in the Club Lounge as well as the concierge were excellent, and that clearly contributed to the enjoyment of our stay, and the discovery of Malta (as it was our first trip there, we spend 5 nights at the hotel)

Wifi access both in the room and elsewhere in the hotel was working well and speed was good.

Hotel location is good, and even though it is in the heart of Paceville it was very quiet at night (Except one night when we had drunk neighbours)

We only wished we had had more time, and we will definitely go back to Malta, and staying at the Intercontinental in Saint Julians, as we had a very good experience with service and the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BentoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Intercontinental, St Julians and had a wonderful time. We are a family with two very young children (11months and 3 years) and the hotel catered very well for all our needs. In advance we had requested a cot for our baby son and this was already in the room. There was also fruit, mineral water, a selection of small cakes and sparkling wine on ice in our room. We had a large, bright double bedded room with a balcony and though the cot was also there we had plenty of space. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned daily. We had booked a club room as this gave us access to the club lounge and I would recommend this for anyone staying. We had breakfast each morning on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool. The club lounge also gave us afternoon tea, refreshments and pre dinner drinks and canapes. Sonia from the club lounge helped to make this a very memorable holiday, She was amazing with our boys and was attentive to all our needs. The swimming pool facilities on the 10th floor were very good. The toilets were cleaned regularly, there were plenty of loungers and umbrellas, the pool bar was reasonably priced and the staff friendly and the pool had plenty of shallow water for our boys to play in before the pool got deeper at the other end.
Before we left I had read reviews on trip advisor and was slightly wary about the hotel and its location. Don't be put off by bad reviews of this lovely hotel!! The location is fine - just don't walk behind the hotel if you don't want to go clubbing - there are plenty of nice bars and restaurants if you turn right on leaving the hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan on returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My wife and I love this hotel and and we make it a point to visit it every summer. I'm not saying that other five-star hotels that we have stayed in have anything less but the way the whole staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome; the quite of the rooms and the peaceful view - in spite of the fact that it is in the middle of one of the noisiest parts of the island - really makes one relax. This is usually our only trip in summer and the reason is the beautiful rooftop swimming pool. We have been going there ever since we discovered it and we hope never to give it a miss. By the way, the breakfast here is as good as the best we've had anywhere

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwars0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Excellent service, nice spacious rooms. Lovely swimming pool on 10th floor.
Great location: near the beach, shops, bars, restaurants, various bus stops. Don't go on the hop on hop off bus: overcrowded and expensive.
We had a room on the 7th floor with a view on the garden, which was nice and quiet.
Great breakfast buffet with a wide variety of food.

A cinema and shopping mall are situated near the hotel (less than 50 meters).
There's also a street near the hotel with all the bars and clubs, but if you're not interested in any of that stuff, you could easy avoid that.

The only downside was the disappointing experience we had at the restaurant at the 7th floor (lipstick on glass, poorly grilled steak [black on the outside, some parts well-done while other's medium]).

Would definitely recommend hotel, but not the restaurant on the 7th!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadySauron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,566 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing