We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Initial problems overcome, a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Initial problems overcome, a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our second visit with a party of 7, 3 adults and 4 students. We went 3 years ago and had a great time. Our arrival was awful - the room 'for 3' contained one double bed and smelt strongly of urine. The other bedrooms, despite early requests, were not close together. One also smelt very musty and damp. It took some time to be moved to a suitable room - the guest relations lady was excellent. She tried hard to make amends for a very disappointing start and kept an eye on us during our fortnight. The food is much improved and very good, the staff are universally friendly and helpful (apart from in the Sports bar, where the young bar staff haven't got a clue).we had a very good holiday after a shaky start.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    1,277
    495
    178
    104
See reviews for
881
1,460
134
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Booked at 11.30pm, arrived at 11am the following morning in desperation from an awful mistake we'd made with our previous choice of accomodation. Room was made available immediately (well before standard times) as we were tired and bedraggled. Beds for the children were set up with fruit bowl, water etc in no time at all, absolutely first class service.
Cleanliness was without question, towels were refreshed at least daily, beds changed daily if required.
The Club lounge was exceptional - friendly, helpful (advice, taxis, all administration, even just general chat) inclusive breakfast, afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks (branded alcohol, not local unknowns) we feel was good value.
Pool was clean, lots of available sunbeds, regular drink/snack service again nothing too much trouble.
Beach club was tight, but usually had beds available, and the blue flag beach was in a lovely sheltered bay. At night transformed into a beach restaurant - very romantic and aiming for a first class service, although a little disappointed with this as our expectations by this time were very high.
Restaurants within the hotel reasonably priced and very nice food - lots of variety, friendly service and made a real fuss of the children - we often flexed the menu choices and were always accomodated. the buffet restaurant was a bit busy and although the food was good, it was a rugby scrum to access it.
Location concerned us a little - with a lap dancing bar around the corner, the Hard Rock cafe across the road and known as the "entertainment mecca of Malta" we dreaded going out of the tranquility of the hotel. It wasn't so bad, although it is true that in the heat of the day, the side alleys smell and the local council/business owners ought to clean the roads better. I was security conscious, but it was by no means threatening.
Best bits?
It's difficult to say - everything was good! Concierge service, club lounge, room space and standard, silent windows(!).
Worst bits?
Probably the location with the shops and bars so close, but it's not the end of the world to walk through people having fun and that's what it seemed to be most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumdad2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel itself is adequate, gives most services expected from a 5* hotel. with spacious rooms Don't expect to have any serious action and entertainment within the hotel except for some live "elevator music" in the dining room and external restaurants. The food in th restuarant (we had half board) is adequate for breakfast and generous but not of a very high quality in the venings. The swimming pool is impossible for people who would like to swin, irregularly shaped and very shalow with sea water and filled with kids playing. The internal pool which is advertised was closed for renovations. The "private beach" was npt so private and you have to walk in the extremely busy main street to get there, it is a restricted to small sandy area beyong a marina, so the water are relatively unpleasant and dirty and do not remind the clear beaches elsewhere in Malta.. The environment of the hotel is extremely busy with cars and flocks of mostly youngsters getting to the bar district just besides the hotel. Nothing like a quite relaxing vacation you would want t have..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorodetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel on a very good deal financially and that's why i'm not going to be too negative.

The hotel itself is rather nice, friendly welcoming staff, good size rooms with all the facilities you need when on holiday, however, there isn't much difference between this and a room in a Holiday Inn. Nothing that would really make you feel you're in a 5* hotel.

There is plenty to choose from as far as restaurants are concerned. We only dined in two and, once again, nice but we had much better experience in local restaurants both in food and service.

As for the service, staff are very friendly and lovely but not very efficient (with the exception of concierge team).

The hotel is located in the middle of clubbing paradise for teenagers and those who are looking for some adult fun (a strange combination, i know). This doesn't disturb your sleep (sound isolation in rooms is fantastic!), however, those of you who like to wake up early beware - venturing outside the hotel before street cleaners finished their job can be very unpleasant.

The hotel owes part of a small beach area just outside. We didn't stay there as it was really small and constantly overcrowded but seemed quite clean.

If you have a car this hotel is quite a good base as you can drive around discovering the island and it's beautiful beaches and then stay close to where the nightlife is. And we did generally have a great time there. However, if we're back in Malta, we probably won't be coming back to Intercontinental unless there is once again a very good deal on.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay primarily due to the very large family room and the good service in the hotel!
An issue, though, is the number of guests staying in the hotel, which over-powers the restaurant space set aside for e.g. breakfast and the swimmingpool area. These areas become hectic, busy, noisy and rather stressing at the time of breakfast and at the time of going to the pool area to get a sunchair or even to get space in the pool...
We booked a family room which was nice. Booking in the Club section would greatly improve on e.g. breakfast service but pool access would of course have to be same standard.
Furthermore, the hotel is located in the party area of Malta and I do mean The Party Area!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePaleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Location - Not so good

Rooms - Need a transformation

Pool - Good

Beach - Poor

Restaurants - Ok

Reception - Good

Prices - Ok

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCSPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 nites and had a great holiday overall. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and the club lounge service was great. Having a 1 year old toddler is challenging at the best of times but it was easy n smooth sailing thanks to the staff. The room is not quite 5 star and could do with a bit of modernisation but clean and comfortable. The hotel has a beach but it's not quite by the premise, you have to walk a few minutes down the road and cross to the other side. There's a shopping centre just across from the hotel n bars n clubs all within close proximity. Loads of things to keep everyone entertained.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,415 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing