We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, Questionable Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel, Questionable Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

As a family of three, child being 11 years old, facilities and quality were key in selecting this hotel and we were in no way disappointed. Our arrival was marked with signature high-quality service from the concierge staff. Immediately, we were offered an upgrade of our room accommodation to a Club Garden Room. The room itself was exceptionally well appointed, very clean and ideal for our requirements. We were slightly disappointed with the view from the balcony which overlooked an immediately adjacent building under construction. However, as our holiday was not centred around the view from our balcony we decided to ignore this minor fault. At no stage were we disturbed by any construction activity throughout our stay and given that the hotel is in a cosmopolitan area of Paceville it would be challenging at best to find a room without some view of the tightly packed urban area.

We chose to eat at the hotel on four nights of our seven night stay. All restaurants were excellent but the Paranga Restaurant at the beach area was exceptional. Both culinary and waiting staff were polite, accommodating and sincere which served to create a most pleasurable dining experience. Nothing was too much trouble, even accommodating the requirements of a family birthday party. The breakfasts had something for everyone, probably the best breakfast service we have experienced in any hotel.

The Hotel operates with a Guest Relations Manager who, unlike in other resorts, actually takes their job seriously; a characteristic shared by all of the hotel staff.

It may be labouring the point slightly but the quality of the service provided from the pool waiters to hotel management was indeed superlative and cannot be overstated.

Although advertised as being located in St Julian’s the Hotel is in fact about a ten minute walk from this resort. Malta is an island of few beaches so this is not the resort for you if you are looking for a beach holiday, however, what Malta lacks in beaches it more than makes up for by its beautiful rugged coast, crystal clear waters and history.

We found this hotel to be an oasis of calm tranquillity from the bustling streets that make up the tightly packed towns and villages of this part of Malta. If you are willing to enjoy the hustle and bustle and undertake a ten minute walk you will find yourself looking down upon picturesque St Julian's and Sliema.

In our experience Paceville’s lively reputation was indeed founded but in no way did it adversely affect our holiday.

In summary even considering the high standards we expect of hotel accommodation and staff this holiday ranks among the best we have experienced (largely due to the Intercontinental Hotel).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorriePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    1,275
    495
    178
    104
See reviews for
880
1,460
134
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We arrived at this hotel happy to see Malta and enjoy our weekend.
Malta has so much to offer and St Julian is a cool place to visit.

First, the staff is not so service minded, the breakfast was ok and the room was dark.
We made a request to change rooms but the front desk just said they wanted more money, this is bad for a hotel calling themselves 5 star, why not look like you are trying?

The wifi is not free, this is bad for a 5 star, we then payed for it, and it did not work?
I had to ask the IT guy to reset the token code and then it worked, I should charge them for fixing their Internet, because he had no clue what was wrong.

Overall ok but not worth the money, we will not come back due to the lack of guest service at the front desk. This is and important job, to bad the people working there dont like their work.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royalclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel itself is ok. It is located, however, in St. julian Bay area, which is a new er area and is not within easy reach for the usual Malta attractions (museums, old city quarters, etc.) There are public buses (very inexpensive) and cabs, of course to reach the sites.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Family hols - we never go back to the same place twice .......but we did this time and were not dissapointed. The staff ( and locals ) are so welcoming , the service goes above and beyond. Upgraded to the "club" experience which gives access to separate lounge , free drinks, breakfast , tea afternoon etc throughout the day - the little extra per day circa 20 euros for the family was incredible value. Cant fault the location , buses are easy and the hop on & off service serves the island well - dont miss the Medina glass & arts tour - sounds dullish but really worth a look - incredible results and skill. Maxaslook market is fantastic - fresh fish and every variety , nice spot for a day relaxing shopping. If I were 20 years younger the nightlife on the doorstep would be the icing on the top heaven for youngsters .Special mention to the concierge and the beautiful Sophie in the club lounge for attentive and first class assistance throughout our stop. We will be back a third time .....................

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigvern1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We knew the hotel would be in a busy area as friends visited the place before. The hotel was very welcome, very friendly and helpfull staff, excellent food in all restaurants, clean, spacious rooms but with just a few faults. The room smelled of mold for some reason and the door of the shower did not fit well so the floor of the the bathroom flooded.....never used it again......Over all we enjoyed our stay as we were there to have a nice time and didn't pay attention to details......if we come to Malta again we are definitely coming there again......Just one tip.....do not use the taxis where not really needed....they are ripping you off......I have traveled in most European countries and never faced such a ripp off ever........

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We returned last night from a seven night stay at the Intercontinental - Malta. We travelled for the seventh time to Malta with our thirteen year old son. We have always stayed at the Radisson prior to this trip.
We encountered a few problems throughout our stay which were overcome by Sonya in the club lounge and Santiago Martinez (manager) The Customer service we received by both Sonya and Santiago was exceptional.
Our room was lovely on the fourteenth floor. Booking the club lounge is an absolute must!
We booked half board and were very disappointed with the Hurruba restaurant, used for half board diners. The Eastern Breeze and Paranga restaurants are super alternatives though.
We would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CROWNOFTHORNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and I have been visiting this hotel every year for many years (maybe 6 or 7) and we'll certainly continue our yearly visits for as long as we can. I think that should be enough to tell readers what sort of hotel this is! When I looked at the reviews and saw that there were some who did not give this hotel "Excellent" I asked myself, "What are these people used to?" We have visited several 5-star hotels and what we can say about them was that many were almost as good as the Intercontinental. As many other reviewers agree this hotel is the tops!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwars0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing