We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We arrived at the Intercontinental to be informed that the hotel was overbooked and that we would have to stay at the Radisson for the first night. By means of recompense Cornelia the Guest Relations Manager (who was excellent throughout our stay) arranged for us to be upgraded to the Club Floor on our return.

Location:
Yes at present the hotel is surrounded by a building site but as long as you manage to obtain a room over the pool and gardens this shouldn't proove to be a problem. The hotel is located right opposite the Bay Street Complex with shops and a few bars / cafes. But if you turn right outside and walk approx 30 metres you hit the steps of Paceville. Bearing in mind we were there in April the bars and clubs were heaving, which was a real surprise and I cant imagine what it will be like in August!

Rooms:
Very nice and large with a good sized modern bathroom. Not quite 5* standards but good none the less. Balcony furniture despite being plastic was comfortable.

Restaurants:
Breakfast was very good with a large selection of everything you could wish for. Paranga on the beach has a fab setting and the food is delicious.

Club Lounge:
Spacious and offering a variety of seating both indoors and out. Unlike other Club Lounges we've been in it was a self service bar during 'Happy Hour' with no cocktail options but the variety and quantity on spirits etc made up for it.

A couple of negative comments however: the nibbles that are provided during the pre dinner drinks are unlabled and with today's food allergies I found this strange, also breakfast is provided in the Club Lounge but if you want an omlette or fried egg you have to pay extra...never come across this before.

A major selling point of the hotel must be the private section of beach for those preferring the sea to the pool - surely unique in the St. Julians / Silema area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    1,277
    495
    178
    104
See reviews for
881
1,460
134
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Not very central unless one wants to visit clubs, bars, cinemas and one of the least attractive beaches in Malta. Otherwise, staff, quality of room and overall services were excellent. We were given a free voucher to the spa, only that the spa had closed down!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I haven't stayed at other hotels in Malta before, so it's hard for me to compare but I have mixed feelings about Intercontinental. The rooms and overall hotel facilities are up to the chain standards. The staff are courteous and helpful, the rooms have everything you would expect in the western hotel, there are two nice swimming pools, lots of restaurants (poolside grill has become my favorite!). The hotel also has a private beach which is nice and is only 3 mins away.

The hotel is located in Paceville, a party zone of Malta, which is trashy in the evenings and I can see how families and older guests may not have liked it. Also, there is construction going on next to the hotel so there is a lot of noise during the day. Luckily our room was facing pool on the 14th floor so we weren't affected by the clubs or construction noise. To get anywhere on the island you need to take various buses and hotel staff have very good maps and bus schedules you can use. I just wish the hotel was somewhere more central, like in Valetta, so commute to major attractions would take less time.

Also, the hotel has some strange policies. One is charging for a spoon...! I asked to borrow a spoon to eat some food I bought and they told me it would cost 4 euros. Yet, there is knife and fork at the room provided with the fruit and water. That didn't make much sense just as the whole 15 seconds policy on opening refrigerator (if it's open for more than that, the room automatically gets billed). We also had an issue with a cleaning lady removing unfinished bottle of wine we had opened a night before. This was a gift from the hotel for my friend's birthday. The nice deed was undone so I called the Guest Relations office and Samantha was great. She apologized and had another bottle along with the small sweets delivered to our room. So, the major highlight was the Guest Relations staff and their attention to detail.

Overall, it was a good stay but I am not sure if I would stay at the Intercontinental next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eternal_nomad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

From the time we arrived at the hotel till the time we had to leave,we had one of the best holidays.We are so glad that we decided to stay at the Intercontinental, the staff were fantastic and always so very pleasant and very helpful.The hotel was fantastic and always very clean and tidy,we had a big room with sea view . Breakfast buffet was nice and delicious.
We want to mention the reception staff,we had problem with the Wi-fi and they delt with it patiently although we returned several times the first day.Victor,Anderea were very pleasent and friendly and when we came to check out , Anderea remembered our name and room number and that was amazing.
We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tikvano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our stay in Malta at the InterContinental was our first experience traveling abroad with our 1 yr old daughter and the staff could not have been more helpful. From allowing us to check in early, clearing out the mini-bar for us so we could use the space for baby food, to the crib and highchair placed in our room- every request of ours was quickly and efficiently taken care of. The staff was very friendly, as were all of the people in Malta. Great indoor pool and facilities, including a full-service gym inside the hotel with all sorts of exercise classes. Would definitely stay at the IC again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spend 3 nights here during our visit to Malta. We could not fault the hotel for the services or quality of facilities and rooms. The outdoor pool is beautiful with a very shallow end for young kids ( about 30 cm). We were on the club floor and had access to the loung which made things easier with kids for snacks etc. Breakfast was there too and there is a terrace with a nice view. The concierge desk was helpful too. The beach is 2 minutes walk down the road and they have a private portion with sun beds towels and a restaurant. The beach is clean. The downside is that it is by the road, nt my preferred location for a beach but it did not spoil anything. Upside for this hotel is that it is close to st julian's bay and more (shopping mall accross the street) yet it has also a beach, which is not the case if you stay in julian's bay and which is the reason why we choose this hotel. Second part of our stay was in golden sands, much nicer beach but nothing around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Been to Intercontinental for a few other times and it was always a wonderful stay but this time since we booked a junior suite, we had the privilge of the Club Lounge on the 15th Floor..... couldn't ask for more.... The room was excellent and the service always first class.... at the Club Lounge we were treated like VIPs all the time, and the peace and quiet are simply excellent. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Already looking forward to go again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graziella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing