We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intercontinental Excellence”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel treats everyone as an individual. Every member of staff is excellent at their jobs, from the cleaners to the main reception staff. The facilities are superb.The hotel is located in the main night life centre of St Julian but once inside the hotel you wouldn't hear any of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    1,340
    519
    186
    114
See reviews for
922
1,521
140
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great hotel, in the crowdy location, close to the business centre, small but sandy beach (have a private beach area with beach bar) and the busiest party area in Sliema/St. Julians.

Rooms are spacious and very clean with nice bathroom with both bathtub and separate shower. Balconies oferlooking street (side sea view), swimming pool (top floors - some with back sea view), small gardens and another hotel (under construction in 2011 - so not a best view for holidays ;) but still OK.

Great swimming pool area on the roof - large pool and sun terace with pool bar and palm trees. Nice indor pool and spa area.

Breakfast - tasty, a lot of chioces - continental and english. Staff was very friendly and patient:)
A lot of great restaurans and pubs near the hotel - try the Buffalo Bill's Steakhouse in the Portomaso Marina, Hugo's Tapas - great tapas and Hugo's Lounge - amazing coctails :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Hotel's facilities are very nice, quite big pool with sea view, garden, and very big and very good gym with sauna, steam room and indoor pool. The only big minus was: conditioner was not working, it was noisy as it was working, but it didn't. I asked at the reception to fix it, and they said: they can NOT turn the conditioner ON, it is not working in the whole hotel (and it was April !!) and we had to suffer from heat all 3 days.
Breakfast was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastandcoffeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the IC Malta during a 3 night midweek break, 30th April until 3rd May 2012.
Transfer was waiting at the airport even though we were 55 minutes late on arrival. Excellent service from the 1st Minute.
Upon check-in (as part of ambassador program), were upgraded from club intercontinental to a Terrace Suite, this was 1101 and with the terrace takes up approx 4 rooms worth of space with two balcony's and a double terrace, holding table + 4 chairs two full size loungers and coffee table, with the sun from 10 until 7 every day and overlooking the pool. 30 seconds to pool.
Club lounge was excellent breakfast hot and cold, afternoon tea and the pre-dinner drinks and snacks were very high standard (Comparable to Park Lane London Club Lounge.. Well better actually..)... Some guests managed to feed themselves with a 3 course breakfast, afternoon snacks/lunch and a full two/three course of snacks/fruit pre-dinner... So all inclusive... All local and international brands free during the 5:30 until 7:30 free drinks including spirits.
Lobby bar excellent and really good service, pianist plays in the evening and good atmosphere, although some guest do not appreciatte the facility.
The pool side snack bar/grill is very good quality and excellent value, very good food and excellent quality, well worth double what you pay...
Hotel very very high standard and service excellent.
Location is great.
Will look at booking up again and have a business meeting planned and it is now on the list of options.
I only have one negative and it is a big negative, the Paranga Beach Club, I visited the 1st day and it took 10 minutes for someone to visit the table, then another 10 for the drink and it was expensive, 6 euros a pint, the bar oppositte is 2.5 euros a pint. (only 4 tables occupied and 4 staff working in the paranga).
I put the 1st trip on that day down to a one off, visited the next day and it was worse!!! 20 minutes to be served, other guests getting up and walking into the bar and still waiting for service, others having to take the bill back. I waited 10 minutes and then asked a guy in a suite, he just carried on walking by (he had an IC badge on). Then finally got served and then had another drink and the bill automatically turned up, not asked for bill.
Shocking Service, let the hotel down... I did inform the ambassador desk at IC and also the representitive on check-out.
My opinion a tru 5 star hotel and I class the paranga beech club as an opputunity to improve or cut loose and let it become a independant bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daz_edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Beautiful hotel, everyone was so friendly and helpful, that includes the housekeeping staff that we met daily in the hotel corridors, the reception staff were excellent, chefs were excellent too, even being "meeted greeted" at breakfast was a pleasure nice big smiles all round. I even enjoyed the pleasant piano music in the evenings, requesting of course the tune that Humphrey bogart made even more famous which went down well. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT Thank you so much everyone at the hotel.
(4 night over the easter break Mr mark Collier)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markcollier2741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

From the time we arrived at the hotel till the time we had to leave,we had one of the best holidays.We are so glad that we decided to stay at the Intercontinental, the staff were fantastic and always so very pleasant and very helpful.
Dine around vouchers make it even better, excellent choice of food and staff will cook specials on request no problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our first vacation in Malta and, of course, our first time at the Intercontinental Hotel in Malta. Everything, from arrival, reception, check in, room, pool was to our full satisfaction. The Club Lounge is a perfect place to relax, read, have some snacks and a drink. Also, for breakfast this Lounge is much better than the breakfast restaurant in the 4th floor.
The room on the 13th floor was really spacious, the bed comfortable and from the balcony we had a beautiful view over the pool/garden area and the sea.
The concierge has been more than helpful, giving us good advice for our sightseeing.
For our 2nd wedding anniversary we found a bottle of champagne from the Hotel in our room which we really appreciated and enjoyed.
Some minor things we think that can be changed:
Breakfast in the 4th floor is like a cafeteria; very loud, food, water and juice have not being refilled all the time and it is very hectic there. That's why we chose to have breakfast in the Club Lounge.
Sauna and Steam Room ... this is different to what we are used to have in Germany; people were wearing their bathing suits which is neither hygienic nor healthy so we decided not to stay. The weather has been good enough to spend the time at the pool.
Room service: the food you get in the hotel restaurants is much better than the food that has been delivered by room service; we never had a Ceasar's Salad with bacon (and far too much bacon); the chicken on the salad was tough and had no taste.
Much better: The Eastern Breeze and the Narcis Grill & Pool Bar served excellent food!!!
Service all over is excellent, you always feel welcome and the staff makes your vacation a relaxing one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schaeferrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing