We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast was not good. Rooms are averaged. Located near the center.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Nurit18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,046 - 2,052 of 4,106 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel 8 years ago soon after it opened and loved every minute of our 16 night stay! We were a bit worried about returning so many years later in case it had become tired looking and dated but our experience was quite the opposite. This time we satyed 9 nights and everything about the hotel more than exceeded our expectations!

We booked a club room which gave access to the top floor club lounge. Here we could relax in beautiful and comfortable surroundings with complimentory soft drinks, tea/coffee and snacks throughout the day. In the evening there was an open bar for 2 hours. The views from the large outdoor terrace of the lounge were stunning.

Our room was modern, spacious and spotlessly clean (and I am particularly fussy!)

The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and professional at all times. Everybody we came across greeted us and asked how our stay was. I would have no hesitation in returning and would highly recommend the Malta Inter-Continental to all couples. Personally I would not say it was a hotel geared towards families with young children or singles.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Excellent hotel from all aspects , service, food, room, wifi, sports facilities ( incl. Squash)
The people were amazing big change to the Spanish and Portugese in our opinion.
Great for any age group, food superbly cooked breakfast and evening meals.Shopping near by good, beach a little small but roof top pool great.Hotel beds were very comfortable would without a doubt would return. Even leaving at 4.30 in the morning there was complementary tea and croissants.Mosta church to be seen a must. Local buses frequent and cheap get an all day pass.
Super market under the tallest building in St Julian great prices.
Maltese people in and out of the hotel were very polite and helpful, a rarety for many European countries. Search around the web for the best room prices in this hotel, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel is ok, not a five star, more of a 3.5 / 4.
When we checked in there were some hairs on the floor of the room, a cleaner came in and wiped the spot with some tissues and left. The next evening the hotel gave us a bottle of wine to make up for it. We had no major complaints, good location and excellent breakfast, pool is good, plenty of sun loungers (new ones just arrived on sunday!) but the cleanliness left a little to be desired, for example if you want a real 5 star check out the Weston dragonara.
We have stayed in our fair share of 5 star properties all over the world, this didn't seem like a five star.
Also I have never in my life been charged for a late check out, every hotel where required has either given us fresh towels etc and let us stay in the room until late afternoon free of charge. The intercontinental wanted up to €90 (granted that gave you the room until 9pm) €30 if you wanted it until 3:30pm! Ripoff! The guest relations manager came to speak to me on check out, lots of nice words but not much action, no apology to say sorry the room wasnt spotless, which I think a five star property should be!
Overall ok hotel in a good lively location but not a five star.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife, 17 yr old son and i have just got back to the Isle of Wight after what can only be described as a fabulous week. Having stayed at The 5* Palace Hotel in Sliema a couple of years back we thought we were taking a bit of a risk staying at this hotel - non of it, the hotel was pretty well spotless, the staff quite outstanding and attentive and the restaurants excellent.
We went away to do nothing for the week and that is exactly what we did. We spent every day in our favourite spot by the wonderful crystal clear roof-top pool and ate lunch daily at the pool bar and restaurant. The food here was Med based and suited us down to the ground.
Breakfast choice was amazing, offering something for every conceivable diet, both hot and cold.
We tried out all three main speciality restaurants ie. Eastern Breeze with flavours of the Orient, Paranga alongside the private beach where we went for cocktails most evenings and ate a wonderful fish dinner there. The Sports Bar was great and we could have eaten outside, except there was an England game of TV and our son wanted to watch that. However head chef Jeffery Tanti cooked us a wonderful meal, which we all thoroughly enjoyed.
The only minor negative would be that the room could have been serviced a bit better. Nothing major, we had asked for the bed linen to be changed mid-week, but they only changed one bed and did not top up on loo rolls. The glass on the shower doors was not cleaned while we were there. This is only a minor winge and no way did it spoil things for us.
Overall an outstanding hotel with wonderful staff.
Our son used the amazing Gym and was impressed with the all the equipment and support from the staff.
Before I finish, a big thanx to the staff at the pool bar and restaurant. We didn't catch the names of the chefs (sorry guyz) but a massive thanx to Brendon, Virginia, Jessica, Gabriella and Sammy for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superyachtchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Have been a lot of times in Malta but our first time in St. Julians/Pacevill. InterContinental was a good experience and I'm sure we come back to this hotel later on. Nice poolarea and the hotel have their own beach. Nice staff. We stayed at 11. floor and have a view to the bay and the garden. Nice room. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rankal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Excellent place to stay for business traveller. Guest relationship manager and other staff take perfectly care of all needs to make it a very convenient stay. I had a great room ... well ... "the" room ... Unfortunately not long enough ... but I will be back soon ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £61 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , IHG, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing