We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with great pool and Private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with great pool and Private beach”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at Intercontinental Malta as part of our Business Trip from April 25 to April 29 . We a group of 550 people to manage was an uphill task which was managed very perfectly by the team of ICH staff. The rooms were quite good and the breakfast was equally excellent with lots of choices. Tried the thai food which was also equally good. Internet free wifi facility worked very well and was free. I used particularly for skype video calls which had no hiccups. The private beach was an added advantage with towels and sunbeds exclusively for the hotel guests. With HardRock cafe, m&s in the mall which is in front of the hotel is added advantage to do some basic shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    1,312
    505
    179
    107
See reviews for
891
1,492
138
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I (both in our late 60's) took our first trip to Malta on 7 June 2012, and we stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in St. Julians. It was a fortuitous choice. On first arrival we were surprised and impressed by the size of the hotel, and during our week there we kept discovering more facilities. Our room was spacious; we had a balcony overlooking a 7th floor garden that included an outdoor restaurant. The hotel is within a few metres of a pretty bay with a private beach; the surrounding streets have a fair share of shops, clubs, restaurants and bars, but we never heard any noise from these while in our room, nor when we were out in the area at night did we ever see any offensive activity - we felt perfectly safe. Everything in the hotel seemed to run perfectly - for instance, The buffet-style breakfast was the best we've encountered in all our years of travelling.

But for us, the main asset of the Intercontinental was the staff. They were mostly Maltese, but we also met French, Austrians, Moroccans, British, Dutch, Italians and Serbians, and all of these people were absolutely committed to doing the best job they could, and they managed to combine that dedication with an interest in us as people, not just as customers. We made a lot of friends there. If we had to select a group who contributed most to our marvellous time there, it would have to be the concierges. Their efficiency was highly impressive, whether in organising a tour or advising on buses or where the best shops were to be found. Great guys, perfect examples of the warmth and friendliness that characterise the Maltese people. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanoglach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

As you can probably tell by the title this was not my first stay here, in fact it was my fifth. Traveled with my wife and 2 kids 10 and 1 and the welcome could not have been better. Great hotel with great facilities, fantastic club lounge with a good breakfast selection and nice selection of snacks and drinks in the evening with afternoon tea during the day. I would highly recommend that you book a room with club access, it gives your stay a whole different experience. Paranga is an excellent restaurant with lovely views and eastern breeze is also well worth a visit.

The pool area is great but my only minor quibble would be that some of the loungers are a bit tired, the sunshades are also difficult to set up but the pool staff are always on hand and are more than happy to help.

I would return in a heartbeat

Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Worth every dollar of the fee this hotel is stunning - beautiful views and great amenities. Indoor and outdoor pool plus a private beach in an excellent location. Great service and an exquisite buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the IC Malta for the last 2 years in 2011 and 2010 and took our 18 year old daughter and friend. The hotel is an oasis of quiet and calm and although the bars and clubs were close by you are not disturbed by any of this.

Check-in was quick and on mentioning it was our return visit last year both our rooms were upgraded free of charge. The rooftop pool is large and clean with towels provided. The private beach is just a couple of minutes walk away with plenty of sun beds.

We especially enjoyed breakfast - there is a huge choice - certainly enough to keep you happy for 2 weeks and the restaurant is light and airy. Our daughter loved her room and especially the bathroom with huge mirrors. The gym is large with plenty of equipment and the spa was worth a visit if a little on the expensive side.

Car hire was easy to arrange with a car park conveniently located next to the hotel where you can leave the car overnight. There is also a cinema next to the hotel and such a wide variety lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Malta has such a lot to offer and we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorayne_hagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here as an autumn break, being part of the Priority Club Rewards group. The hotel is located is a noisy and insalubrious part of Malta. The hotel is massive, but offers a wealth of facilities with a great outdoor pool for the kids when the sun shines, and an indoor one at the Spa when it doesn't.
There are a late array of restaurants, although this didn't work for us as we were travelling with an 8 and 3 year old and the restaurants didn't open until 7 to 7.30, amking meal times an issue. Across the road though is a mall with a number of great places to eat, including a Hard Rock, that are open all day.
Buses operate locally into salima and other attractions are available locally. Beware of the aquatic centre with the dolphins who charge top dollar even when half of the park is closed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We were put in the IC Malta following a booking error..initially we were disappointed as the area didn't have the peaceful+classy vibe of Balluta Bay where our original hotel (Le Meridien) was located. However, once inside the hotel we have had no complaints-it's calm, quiet, clean and friendly; the staff have been nothing but helpful and polite and we even received a surprise bottle of bubbles and some treats once they knew we were newlyweds-lovely! :) The room was clean and modern; the cleaners visited daily and did a great job. Good breakfast. Really nice pool area with lots of space. Only downside is surrounding area is undergoing lots of development and is pretty noisy at times but hasn't been a big problem and isn't the IC's fault! More a good 4star than a genuine 5 but would still recommend :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,564 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing