We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

First class hotel in an excellent location. All the staff are extremely friendly - would like to say a special thanks to Cornelia for making our stay extra special. Could not fault this hotel on a single thing. We stayed on the 12th floor - the room was as good as any 5* I have stayed in. The huge double bed was one of the best I have slept in at a hotel. No noise at night at all. We was in Malta for a wedding so had many friends at different hotels in this resort - all I can say is I am so glad we stayed here! Nothing else we saw came close. I will definitely be going back next year - if you are reading this as you are thinking of booking a stay here then just book it - you will not just like it - you will love it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCHumphryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 4,084 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel was real nice, with great facilitys, such as both outdoor- and indoor pools, several restaurants, 24 hours room-service, great concierge service, spa and relaxations, private beach, childrens club and so on.
The room was nice and clean, the maidservice was amazing. On some occasions they even had folded our clothes that were just laying around, they knocked on our door in the afternoons and asked if everything was ok, and lay small chocolates on our bed.
The best thing with the hotel was the good service. Everyone went out of their ways to make the guests happy, always smiling. We loved the beach, where we immediately were given sunbeds and towels, and the staff came around and asked if there was something we needed from the bar. A small, cosy little bay with nice water, very children friendly.
Only two things that I wasn't so satisfied with, and that was that our showercabinet was leeking, and the bathroom floor was soaking wet everytime we had a shower. Our friends in the room next to us, experienced the same thing. It wouldn't hurt to do some redecorating, as some of the furniture seemed a bit well worned... That also goes for the sunbeds at the roof, by the pool.
The other thing that was a bit disturbing, was the noise from the sorrounding nightclubs. We had a room at the fifth floor, facing the garden, but had trouble sleeping because of the real loud music from the nightclubs. Not the best when you are travelling with children, as I was.
But in general, I would recommend the hotel to others, and as I have written above, the service was impeccabel. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and we loved the Eastern Breeze restaurant. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at Intercontinental Malta as part of our Business Trip from April 25 to April 29 . We a group of 550 people to manage was an uphill task which was managed very perfectly by the team of ICH staff. The rooms were quite good and the breakfast was equally excellent with lots of choices. Tried the thai food which was also equally good. Internet free wifi facility worked very well and was free. I used particularly for skype video calls which had no hiccups. The private beach was an added advantage with towels and sunbeds exclusively for the hotel guests. With HardRock cafe, m&s in the mall which is in front of the hotel is added advantage to do some basic shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I (both in our late 60's) took our first trip to Malta on 7 June 2012, and we stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in St. Julians. It was a fortuitous choice. On first arrival we were surprised and impressed by the size of the hotel, and during our week there we kept discovering more facilities. Our room was spacious; we had a balcony overlooking a 7th floor garden that included an outdoor restaurant. The hotel is within a few metres of a pretty bay with a private beach; the surrounding streets have a fair share of shops, clubs, restaurants and bars, but we never heard any noise from these while in our room, nor when we were out in the area at night did we ever see any offensive activity - we felt perfectly safe. Everything in the hotel seemed to run perfectly - for instance, The buffet-style breakfast was the best we've encountered in all our years of travelling.

But for us, the main asset of the Intercontinental was the staff. They were mostly Maltese, but we also met French, Austrians, Moroccans, British, Dutch, Italians and Serbians, and all of these people were absolutely committed to doing the best job they could, and they managed to combine that dedication with an interest in us as people, not just as customers. We made a lot of friends there. If we had to select a group who contributed most to our marvellous time there, it would have to be the concierges. Their efficiency was highly impressive, whether in organising a tour or advising on buses or where the best shops were to be found. Great guys, perfect examples of the warmth and friendliness that characterise the Maltese people. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanoglach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

As you can probably tell by the title this was not my first stay here, in fact it was my fifth. Traveled with my wife and 2 kids 10 and 1 and the welcome could not have been better. Great hotel with great facilities, fantastic club lounge with a good breakfast selection and nice selection of snacks and drinks in the evening with afternoon tea during the day. I would highly recommend that you book a room with club access, it gives your stay a whole different experience. Paranga is an excellent restaurant with lovely views and eastern breeze is also well worth a visit.

The pool area is great but my only minor quibble would be that some of the loungers are a bit tired, the sunshades are also difficult to set up but the pool staff are always on hand and are more than happy to help.

I would return in a heartbeat

Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Worth every dollar of the fee this hotel is stunning - beautiful views and great amenities. Indoor and outdoor pool plus a private beach in an excellent location. Great service and an exquisite buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the IC Malta for the last 2 years in 2011 and 2010 and took our 18 year old daughter and friend. The hotel is an oasis of quiet and calm and although the bars and clubs were close by you are not disturbed by any of this.

Check-in was quick and on mentioning it was our return visit last year both our rooms were upgraded free of charge. The rooftop pool is large and clean with towels provided. The private beach is just a couple of minutes walk away with plenty of sun beds.

We especially enjoyed breakfast - there is a huge choice - certainly enough to keep you happy for 2 weeks and the restaurant is light and airy. Our daughter loved her room and especially the bathroom with huge mirrors. The gym is large with plenty of equipment and the spa was worth a visit if a little on the expensive side.

Car hire was easy to arrange with a car park conveniently located next to the hotel where you can leave the car overnight. There is also a cinema next to the hotel and such a wide variety lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Malta has such a lot to offer and we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorayne_hagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £79 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing