We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL BY FAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel in june for a week with my daughter, congragulations to the manager and his entire stafff they are a credit to the hotel. the location and qualityare extreemly good and the facilities are amazing well done Intercontinental i will be sure to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,037 - 2,043 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is a lovely looking hotel upon checkin, we had a superior room, which I cannot fault, which was overlooking the roof top pool on level 12. We were personally greeted by Cornelia, Guest Relations Manager, which was a nice touch. Once we had checked in we went off for a stroll and yes you are right in amongst club,bar land for youngsters and the streets are grubby, however this did not affect us in anyway. Went for a pleasant meal in a tapas bar just down street which was very nice, came back to hotel bar later on that evening enjoyed a very nice bottle of rose and retired for bed around 12:30am lovely.

The next day.........
We head off down to the private little beach area that the hotel has, to be told they have no beds left with canopys, and there was only around 10 people on the beach, however not really a problem wanted to sun bathe so we asked for our towels by handing over the towel cards and was told havent got them yet and dont know when they will get (this was 11:00am not 8:00) so we decidednto return to the roof top pool. Pool loungers are not 5 star quality, the service received at the pool bar at lunch time, was beyond belief. We ordered 2 glasses of Rose Wine, 2 glasses of water, a pizza to share and a salad. The rose wine was warm, we were given to bottles of water with no glasses. When we asked for glasses for the water and expressed not happy with the wine, we were offered ice!!!!!! Which was not acceptable and advised that was as cold as we could have, so we then requested a bottle, which we could put in an ice bucket, that was fine. The two glasses of wine that me and my husband had both taken sips from was then subsequently poured back into the bottle and put back in the fridge (which is disgusting). My husband then subsequently asked to speak with the supervisor which happended to be a gentleman by the name of Adam. At first I dont think he took our concerns seriously, by advising us that they had chiller issues, again if this had be explained at the time of ordering wine we then make the decision, no room for complaints. Anyway we were finally served our lunch, to which after about 5 minutes I had to go and request our cutlery so we could eat to then discover that the pizza base was absolutely black burnt, and not edible. Adam was then shown the pizza, to which he was very embarressed about took it strait back to the chef, came back and advised the bottle of wine and our ordered wound not be chargable and to come back the next day and he would give us another courtesy bottle of wine for all the trouble we had received. Adam finally took us seriously, and apologised again and again for the terrible service and food received. Also once we had checked in to our room we noticed that the patio door did not lock, after 3 times of having a little moan it was finally resolved, howver we just did not seem to get off to a very good start. We then decided that we would move hotels, mainly due to location, as I am sure from what we saw from staff around the hotel and in the main bar service was a key factor for this hotel, I think we were just unlucky, Cornelia sent us another bottle of wine to our room asking us to contact her to express why we leaving, and to be honest, dont be put off by pool bar service.......... The main reason we moved was location and views, which is not the hotels fault it was ours. Cornelia Lackner and her team were very professional and Thalias on reception (sorry if I have spelt wrong) was a credit to all hotel receptionists checking people in. Proefessional, beautiful young lady.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T9TDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Don't let the location put you off. Paceville (clubs, bars etc) is next door but you are not disturbed.
Staying on the club floor is a must. Its a haven away from the hussle and bussle of Malta. A pleasant suprise for us, from 15.00-19.30 the club lounge is child free, making a calm and relaxing atmosphere for business people, couples and parents alike. Kids club provides an excellent service for the little people's entertainment.
All the staff are professional, helpful and friendly. Pepe the banter was excellent (yes we know Spain won!!)
The management team are open to discussion, and welcome opinions and improvements for the hotel.
Our room on the 15th floor (club suite) was modern and spacious with a huge bathroom including,bath and large separate shower, the room was also kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay.
The Paranga restaurant is also excellent, a bit pricey but the best seafood I have ever had.

As mentioned in other reviews the beach club turns into a beach front bar after 6pm, we spent a couple of hours here one evening and loved every minute of it, although the main road is close the beach is still very private.

As returning guests we can honestly say we have never had a bad experience with the hotel or any of the staff and would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Make no mistake, this is a quality hotel, from the professional check-in by the delightful Pepe, to the overall service and quality of the rooms, everyone goes out of their way to make your visit special.

It is difficult to pick out any special feature when the bar is set so high but the Italian Restauarnt is absolutley superb.

We stayed in March and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBrownWoolacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had a triple share room - 2 double beds & 1 camp bed. Accommodation was very clean and the facilities absolutely fantastic. The concierge (Robert) and his staff were more than helpful in assisting us with tourist information and als to obtain transport to leave Malta - we didn't do enough homework and were relying on ferries to get us to Malta; not going to happen at the time we were there. They sourced out and booked a flight for us. Breakfast was great - and the staff very helpful in all aspects of our stay. The hotel was in a great location - close to the night life! We were more than happy with our stay at the Hotel Intercontinental and would receommend it to anyone looking to stay on Malta.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Went to Malta end of March 2012 to celebrate my Mam's birthday. Travelled with her, my brother and sister in law. After a cold start to the holiday the weather then tuened beautiful. The hotel was amazing!!!

One of the best I have stayed in. Don't go to Gozo though, we were hounded by taxi firms!

The Tapa's bar nearby is sooooo good, amazing service. The Maltese are lovely people and this holiday was brilliant. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My family of 4, two adults and 2 children stayed in this beautiful hotel for two weeks and we had the club accomodation. I must say I really enjoyed the Malta experience, the hotel staff was highly professional, polite and always greeted us with a smile, just like the people of Malta who went out of there way to help us visit the island. My whole family is already talking about going back next year. The location of the hotel is perfect for the night life, it has a really nice outdoor pool on the tenth floor and an inside pool together with a sauna and steam bath. I took advantage of all the luxuries and still wake up thinking of going to the club lounge for breakfast.. Thanks again Intercontinental, hope to see you in the near future. Regards Fiorello De Palma
P.s. A special thanks to Ms Itiana Zahra Reservations Executive would made this all happen....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank depalmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £89 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing