We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Interconti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not your typical Interconti”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is not your typical Interconti First of all, I had a fantastic room. It was perfectly clean, very spacious and nicely decorated. But there are three things I absolutely disliked about this place:
- Location: The hotel is right in the night club area. In the mornings you can often find drunk people sleeping in the streets right around the hotel. Not a pretty sight.
- Service: The staff are friendly but there are not enough around. Check-in and check-out took forever. Can't remember waiting in line for more than 15 minutes each time.
- Busy: This is a big hotel and there are only six elevators. I often ended up waiting and waiting and waiting. This place is just busy.
Overall, I was quite disappointed. The location is probably the biggest problem. I ended up switching hotels as I was looking for some relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpcervelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,325
    510
    181
    108
See reviews for
897
1,508
139
503
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here for 11 nights at the end of July-beginning of August 2012. Myself and wife and two children ages 15 and 11. We stayed in a panoramic club room on the 12th room over looking the pool and gardens. The room was very clean and well maintained with robes and slippers. The room was cleaned daily to a excellent standard with plenty of fresh towels and toiletries. Complimentary safe in room for peace of mind was good, and the air con was excellent, as Malta was burning everyday! Buffet breakfast had plenty of choice, and the staff were very attentive, especially Joseph and Jeffrey! We ate twice in Sopranos and enjoyed a chinease on our final day in Eastern Breeze. We had club lounge access which was excellent with complimentary drinks and food. This was great and the staff were friendly and only too happy to help. Hotel over-all was excellent and we would like to say a thankyou to Annalise Poulton which made our last day of our holiday a memorable experience with her kind hospitality. We have no hesitation in reccomending this hotel and we will be reurning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Refson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Following a weekend break in October 2011 we went back for a week in April and again in August this year. I have to say although MOST of the staff are really helpful and friendly there are a lot that need work on their customer service!
Trouble with our booking on checkin which resulted in loss of many hours sleep.
Overall although I like the hotel because of location it is somewhat tired now and in need of refurb. Lacking cleanliness where it shouldn't be and doors in rooms ( to balcony) don't shut as there are gaps between frames and walls. This wasn't jut one room but 3 that I have stayed in.Lots of corners are cut in the club lounge too, afternoon tea is not enough to feed a sparrow and I could go on.
Because of all this I am not sure I would return again although I am looking to go back to malta I think the Hilton or westin are a better option.
Staff who cannot be faulted are Pepe and Sonia in Club Lounge. Sorry Inter but a disappointing trip for me last time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshhirebrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

3 weeks at the hotel and you got a good point of view- choose the hotel in the hotel- Else the experience will be odd- some issues about management but contact the best experience on the hotel Sonia and she will solve it- she is fantatic- Guiseppe the GM has a lot to take Care of- try to Get into the GM wednesdays - foodwise it is average- try Al Fresco best experience - but where is the maltese kitchen- overall good but better if you are for two nights during a conference

Very good people Sonia- Pepe - Julia - Cornelia and Guiseppe

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The hotel definitely doesn't live up to the usual standards of the Intercontinental, but it has good resources, like the gym. Also the food isn't too great, and my first room service i was served an off steak...Lastly the staff weren't very attentive but as an overall experience it was okay, but definitely not 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had stayed in this hotel two years ago for one night only on the last night of our previous trip to Malta, basically so that we were closer to the airport for our flights home the next day. To say we were impressed then is an understatement and we vowed we would return when we could afford it! We travel as a family yogether all the time but are not used to staying in the 'best' hotels as like many families we have a budget as to what we can afford to do and with flights and meals and trips etc holidays can be really expensive. However, on tbhis occasion we decided to blow a big chunk of our holiday budget on the hotel as we were going for a shorter stay because I (Dad) have just had a back operation and could only go away for a week. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the quality and efficiency of the staff in EVERY aspect of hotel life was exemplarary, the concierge, the room staff, the pool and spa staff etc. Okay, so the view from the balcony was not 'postcard' but who spends their holiday on their balcony anyway?! The breakfasts were unbelievable, nearly any food was available and my kids ate and ate until even my son was full - a first and if you have teenage boys you will know what i mean. Organising trips, bus routes, taxis etc was easy and anything we wanted was readily and speedily brought to the room which was cleaned every day, with fruit and water and even chocolayes being left in the room : again, delighting my children! My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and we were treated to free champagne at dinner, we had glasses of champagne treated to us at breakfast (!!) and at all times we felt like we were seeing life as 'the other half' live it. Not only do we have no complaints, not even a niggle, but cannot wait to go back there again. I don't know if all Intercontinentals are this good, it's the only one I've ever stayed in but if they are I look forward to visiting some of them. Basically, if you are planning on visiting Malta - and you should, it's ace - make sure you come to this hotel, even for one day/night - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The St. Julian's Intercontinental Hotel definitely deserves high marks. Very nice rooms in a hotel which architecturally, has done wonders with its location. An outdoor swimming pool on the 10th floor, a 3 minute walk to their own beach, where cushioned beach benches and towels are provided. The setting is nice, but broad, spacious beaches are not what one finds in Malta. Easily accessible to many restaurants, a movie theater, shopping and public transportation. The health club is excellent, with lots of machines and a nice atmosphere.

Everyone we met at the hotel, from front desk, restaurant, maintenance, etc., could not have been nicer. Always with a smile and very professional, a most enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing