We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property - poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

When this property was built, it was probably one of the best hotels in Malta. But times have changed, and now the hotel is almost completely surrounded by bars and clubs that are aimed at young (very young) holidaymakers.

My stay was for 4 nights in August - the weather was great, the pool was busy, the choice of food outlets was actually quite poor inside the hotel but, with many great restaurants within 15 to 20 minutes walk, I decided to dine out most nights.

My room was at the front of the hotel - with traffic papping horns, girls screaming, boys fighting, police sirens blaring almost til breakfast time. I understand the back of the hotel is quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 4,084 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Was here a few months ago. Had a lovely 3night stay. The hotel is in a great central location. Rooms were lovely and clean. And there was great space in them also. Bathroom had separated bath and shower which I think a great plus and would give sn idea of size. Staff were very friendly. Cleaning staff very great also fresh towel and beds done daily. Also a turn down with chocolatesin the evening. Really enjoyed my stay would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with very good service. Our renovated room was large with a good view. The renovations don't appear to extend to the bathroom which was large and well appointed, but also a little worse for wear. The location is convenient to the party district and busses. But I think I would have preferred staying on the other side of st Julian's, near the bay which has more restaurants and bars that appealed to the over 30 crowd (although this was just a ten minute walk from the intercontinental). The concierge was useless for food recommendations - pushing the hotel's restaurants when, if you're a guest, that's not why you approach someone with specialised knowledge. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and feel confident you will too if you book here, but next time I would try a different location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardamomss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for a few days and simply loved it. A lovely hotel with a good location. We had feared that the many nightclubs and bars fairly close by would cause a lot of late night noise, but hats off to the hotel building designers as we heard nothing of any noise from outside sources at night. Having the Pool on top of the hotel is novel and means all day sun shine to get tanned on. the local shops were great and if you don't like experiment with localk food there is a M&S just across the road, which meant you could buy UK food / snacks etc.The night life near to the hotel is very much 'ALIVE' and could apear intimidating to some, but as a couple in our 50's we felt comfortable when walking through the younger people who were clubbing. The nearby beach is clean and has private access for Hotel patrons, and a short bus ride takes you along the coast route through Sliema and on to Valletta. This is also a good walk during the day, or in the evenings (to Sliema and back) and there are plenty shops and good eating places along the route. Closer to the hotel there is plenty to entertain all ages. The hotel is what you would expect for a hotel of this stature, clean, quiet and fully equipped to meet patrons needs. 9.5/10 (There's always room for improvement)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Location wise - value of money - friendliness of staff - amazing services - perfect concierge makes the intercontinental the best hotel in Malta ! It's my home in Malta from now on ! Stayed there twice and it's perfect food spa cleanliness view services it's all perfect !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aladinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed in December on a flying visit. Very reasonably priced due to time of year. The room was very comfortable and had everything required including free data connection in the room. Bar and breakfast were average - the restaurant really resembled a big canteen and not a 5 star hotel.
Everyone was nice but I have been in nicer hotels in Malta.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaniceDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent four nights on a tour here. As mentioned elsewhere, the rooms were spacious and well-equipped, but I couldn't help feeling it wasn't quite a "real" Intercontinental. We had a view over the inner courtyard (never worked out how to access it!) but we found a fag end on our balcony, and there was a distinct lack of privacy.

Breakfast was excellent, and staff all round very helpful and friendly.The lobby bar is relaxing, but avoid the draft Cisk as it has all the character of a British factory lager! The bottled local beers though are quite tasty.

The location is nothing to write home about (unless you're looking for a boozy nightlife!) and about the only two issues I had were that our room was right above the aerobics studio so we got quite a bit of pumping bass around 8 am, and when I asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation they suggested their own seafront seafood restaurant without mentioning they owned it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYNicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £79 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing