We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, good restaurants, lively location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice room, good restaurants, lively location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I cannot comment on the value for money of the room as we purchased this holiday using airmiles/avios however we found the restaurants in the hotel to be good value and the food was excellent. The room had two superking size beds and plenty of space for the four of us (2 adults, 2 boys 12 and 9). The nightlife outside the hotel was lively and fun to wander through in the evening. Although very noisy the quadruple glazed balcony window was enough to keep it out at bedtime. Overall the hotel was spotless and well kept throughout. Room service was prompt although the menu was slightly limited. St George's Bay is not as traditional in appearance as some of the other nearby bays but had a small and pleasant beach. The hotel's beach club was pleasant both in the day and in the evenings. We enjoyed our week long stay and found Malta to be absolutely beautiful and full of interesting history.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsFourOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    1,300
    501
    179
    107
See reviews for
885
1,478
136
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived early (11AM) finding our room ready so we could check in immediately, the lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near Paceville, THE party hot spot in Malta, unfortunately the average age here is 16 and we felt like dinosaurs walking around there on our first evening in st. Julians but another bay with plenty of restaurants is just a short walk away.
The room was good, only negative would be the smell. We think it came from the air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraBedandBreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Crap, we forgot the take the ants with us when we left. We had become very good friends with the tiny ants we found crawling on the cupboards, in the drawers, in the bathroom and the occasional one that ventured onto the bed.

Don't forget the mildew in the AC and the bed and chair. We spent 5 days complaining about the mildew, even talked to the manager who was very empathetic. Didn't manage to fix the problem though (they just kept adding more perfume), I had to open up the AC and clean the filters in the bathtub. Finally on day 5 two more important looking people came, but they could not smell anything and instead of offering to change the black and mouldy insulation and clean the fan blades or maybe even take a look deeper inside to find where the smell was coming from they just stood there and said there was nothing they could do. At which point I had to show them the insulation and insist that they change it and also tell them to clean the fan blades (which they did not manage to do to any satisfactory level).

We did enjoy our 10 days in Malta. The lounge was relaxing and breakfast there was way calmer than in the restaurant, we could sit and read while finishing our tea. The staff were almost always exceptionally friendly and the people at the beach always helped us find some shade. The restaurant at the beach was also amazing and the spa staff gave us an amazing massage.

We would also like to recommend the Tip Top One Day Cruise. Bigger catamaran than the spirit of malta with 1/4 the number of people (20ish on oue trip).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmottestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are a family of three with a 15 month old baby, travelling from Norway to Malta for a week and thereafter to Vienna for another week mostly for pleasure, shopping and sightseeing.
(We had to write September 2012 in the review, but the trip was done in march 2012).

We were not so impressed when we arrived to the hotel, mostly because the Club InterContinental rooms were very small. We were offered a larger DeLuxe room against some additional payment, but it smelled from the airconditioning and was still a bit small. Eventually we made a deal upgrading to the Presidential Suite and finally we had a good stay for the last days there. The suite is very spacious and has a fantastic view over the city and the ocean.

The hotel has a very good executive lounge with a spacious terrace and a good view, and the hotel manager is very service minded.

The hotel itself is situated beside a narrow street and only has a local, public beach from a walking distance. One also has to walk quite far to get to some decent shopping.
The island itself is quite OK to drive all around and there are some nice spots.

All in all quite a a good experience, so we would recommend this hotel only if booking the larger suites and you have a car rental to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonEliteMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked through Sunspot via Co-op travel. We booked half board and this caused a problem with dining arrangements as we believed we could eat in any of the hotels several restaurants. Did not want a buffet on our wedding anniversary! Hotel said half board was in buffet. Fortunately we had email confirming dining arrangements. It was a Sat night and hotel tried to contact Sunspot ... Eventually met rep on Monday pm!!!!! But back to hotel.... Room booked was superior Panoramic 12th floor which had been refurbished and very spacious and pleasant. Overlooked pool and Gardens. Quiet given hotels location in Paceville. Enjoyed evening drinks on balcony listening to live music from garden before heading out.

Staff were always very polite and helpful... esp. Lara at reception. Malcolm duty manager and a manger Andrea? We met at drinks reception laid on by hotel which was very pleasant in lovely garden. The result was we only ate in buffet on first night and were well catered for by hotel on other nights. Tried most of restaurants. Peranga has a beautiful setting overlooking St George's bay. Both the main restaurant and the one on the beach. Food was average considering prices. We also ate in Al fresco which again was very pleasant in the garden setting. Best of all was Water Biscuit. This seemed quite new with funky modern styling with varied menu and excellent fillet steaks. Good service from initial greeting to leaving. Well recommended!! Also ate in Peppinos in St Julian's ...v good.

Pool area was very pleasant but a lot of kids as it was August. Not the biggest of pools but plenty of sun loungers. Had to buy hotel water in 35c heat!!! Private beach a short walk away. This could get very busy. Some people seemed to have to pay for
beds. Attendants tried to ensure people did not reserve loungers for more than an hour but you always get selfish people.

Location. As other reviews have said. In centre of Paceville v busy with younger people esp. at week-ends. Research room! Near shops, Cinemas, bars showing Sky sports, restaurants, St Julian's , local buses, hop on hop-off buses etc. etc. I think people should check out Trip Advisor before they go rather than complain about location after. Have s look in google maps!! If you want good hotel with nice restaurants, close to amenities this is place to go.

Very enjoyable stay. Might even try another IC hotel on my next trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Intercontinental in Malta. The staff was wonderful - so helpful and accommodating with every request and question. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The indoor pool was great for young kids, and the outdoor pool was beautiful. Our son (8) also enjoyed the kids club. The location is near great restaurants and nightlife - a definite plus! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoGalVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel, but a bit worn down for a 5 star hotel. Know we did not book a suite, but still felt a bit disappointed with broken tiles in the bathroom and other areas that could use freshing up. however, biggest disappointment was that we found live cockroaches in the room on the 11th floor and all though they were quick to spray for them and appologized and told that this is "normal" for the warmer countries (what we were told in the reception) i still believe this is not okay for a 5 Star hotel thus the score.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,482 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing