We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a less-than-great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a less-than-great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for a week, in the middle of July. We arrived very late, so our room was ready for us on arrival. Check-in was fast and efficient, and we were taken to our room quickly. We had a superior room with a garden view, and considering the location, the upgrade is worth every cent. Although the hotel is listed as a St. Julians hotel, it is located right in the middle of Paceville, with night clubs surrounding the hotel. I knew this when I booked the hotel, but I was still surprised at how quiet our room was. As soon as you stepped into the hotel, all the noice and heat from the street outside disappeared. Even on our 11th floor balcony, it was really calm.

Only negative remark about the room, is that I ordered a double with a king bed and an extra bed for my daughter, and instead got a double with two queen beds. And one queen bed, although nice and spacious for our 4-year old is really on the small side for two adults. The hotel did offer to move us on the next day, or even upgrade us at a small cost, but because our room was situated so nicely. and with only a short walk to the rooftop pool, we decided to stay there.

Breakfast was OK, with a standard selection of hot and cold items and fresh and tinned fruit. Coffee was always served at the table, and the staff was very attentive and refilled your coffee and cleared the tables.

The gym facilities were really good, on par with most professional gyms I have seen. We did not try the spa. The rooftop pool was really nice, and we spent a lot of time there. It never really felt too crowded, and you never had to walk far from the pool to get a sunbed and even an umbrella. We did not care much for the private beach. It was small, the water wasn't really that clear and you needed to be there by 10 to get a sun bed.

The hotel restaurants, at least the ones we tried, were decent. We had dinner at Soprano restaurant, which is affordable, and has the feel of an Italian pizzeria. We also had lunch at the pool bar, which was OK and at the Waterbiscuit, which was very good. Waterbiscuit also has great drinks and good coffee. The concierge also happily recommended restaurants in and around St. Julians, and even booked tables for us.

Service was excellent all-over, and is probably the best part of the hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful, from the check-in desk to the pool attendants, and you feel very well looked after. But the hotel would have deserved a better location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    1,295
    500
    179
    107
See reviews for
884
1,473
136
487
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked the hotel for 4 nights with my family, for a short break. Although the hotel is not based in the best of locations for a family (unless you like NIghtclubs, bars, etc), the hotel is excellent and the service is impeccable. The concierges are very good, in particular Robert, who was extremely helpful, especially as EasyJet had lost one of our cases on the flight to Malta. He was in constant contact with the airport and kept us informed of the progress. It is a very clean and friendly hotel with excellent facilities and great food. We stayed on he 12th floor in a very large family room, which was very clean, although the view wasn't great as it was looking out to the buildings accross the road. I would recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

myself and my boyfriend are just back from malta and stayed in this fab hotel!!! we were very happy as hotel definately lived up to its 5 star status!! we stayed on the 5th floor with a king deluxe room which was so spacious we did have a balcony but unfortunately it overlooked the garden and we had just a little wall separating the next balcony but it wasn't a big deal as we were never really out sitting on it! room was great was cleaned every morning fresh towels were provided and bathroom very big and very clean!! the cleaners didn't come too early usually they were around while we were at breakfast. we had breakfast included in our room rate which was just amazing everything to choose from including cereals, juices, full breakfast, pancakes,fruit,all you can think of really it was there also there was a chef who would cook your eggs fresh or omelettes. breakfast went on till 10.30 which was great as you could still get a sleep in. The pool area was on the 10th floor they provided you with towels for your sun loungers too. it does say you cant reserve a lounger but i did every morning as good loungers by the pool did go pretty quickly but there are plenty of loungers around the side of pool area. the pool bar was nice did good food not a huge selection but was fine not too pricey either, but one thing i did find expensive was the ice creams so don't get caught out 5.50 euros for a magnum way too pricey!! there are shops beside hotel so plenty of choice in them. we didn't eat in any of the hotel restaurants as we decided to eat out each night. around the hotel was a shopping centre which had a few places to eat they were ok not great though. so we decided to go down to spinola bay where there were beautiful places to eat and a nice surrounding too!! the hotel is a few doors down from the party area if your looking for a crazy night out this is definately the spot for u its full of bars and clubs but to be honest you cant really hear much of the party music!!! so definately worth a stay to this hotel if u want to splash out on your hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carliecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights with my family. The only reason that I booked this hotel is the private beach. However, the beach was too small, and the guys working there are rude. I didn't like the idea of hearing "my friend you're not allowed to bring water and etc." all the time. There is also a funny smell in the room. On the contrary, the location is great and close to all the nightlife. However, there are many other cheaper options around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UgurYal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The service here is impeccable and everyone really cares about looking after you. The concierges are very good in particular Robert who's knowledge and helpfulness were first class. We paid the extra for Club lounge access which was well worth it as you could relax in style on the 15th floor and enjoy canapés and free alcohol in the evening as well as afternoon tea. As an idea the hotel should consider having some flyers printed highlighting the benefits of this extra as it took a while to get mused to what you were entitled too with club membership. If there is one criticism it would have to be the shower in our room which was pretty awful really. The temperature was a combination of boiling hot and freezing cold alternating every couple of seconds. Thermostatic showers would alleviate this problem. All in all though a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

In all around the countries that I've been and all the 5 star hotels that we've stayed, this must be the one with the best services and that's what really matters during our family holidays ( isn't it after all?). Neither the room decoration ( which was always cool, especially when you forget to set off the A/C) , nor the noise from the traffic underneath ( which was well isolated from the double window) play a great role to satisfaction. It is the truthful politeness and the purity of one's thought (as you feel it coming from the staff) that make the difference. Internal and external swimming pools available for all kind of tastes , hamam and sauna at all temperature levels, small and bigger restaurants ( will write a few words for each one soon), a gym that I never visited ( I still like my 15 extra pounds around my abdomen) and for those of you who belong to a Rotary club you will have the chance to meet the local guys from Valletta. The concierge ( look for James) are always willing to help you with excursions at your level of interest. Not even once we faced a sad looking face from the staff! On the contrary!!! The hotel is located at the best location of Malta as all night clubs and interesting restaurants are located close by, and you don't have to worry about night life entertainment . The place " I' m famous , eat me!" is a hand made pizzeria from which you can get the best pizza yourselves or your kids can imagine. And the staff will never make any comments for bringing that into your room. The room service is fast enough and all type of food you might order is really fresh and well prepared . What can I say for such a place... The only thing that they are missing is the toilet brush for the rooms ( here, at last I figured a thing that they need to supply their rooms with , are you all satisfied now?). I know pane thing for sure: " we'll be back!"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel could not have been better -& the staff were all very helpful & friendly, nothing too much trouble for them. special thanks to Andre who gave us a lift to a restaurant as it was on his way home! We tried all of the 7 different restaurants attached to it & found them all very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing