We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for making it special!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for making it special!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you InterContinental Malta for making the best day of our life so special. Everything went perfect, service and staff excellent, food was great, location could not have been better and the bedroom with the big terrace we had after the Wedding was just amazing.
Thank you Robert from Front Desk for recommending Paranga as a venue, and for introducing me to Kurt from Sales who was very professional and flexible. Andrea and all the staff in Paranga including the Kitchen were excellent.
Alison from Housekeeping took care and did a great job with the flowers decorations. They were beautiful!!
Guys thank you once again as with all your efforts you made our Wedding Day a Special One!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisasinop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,786
    1,328
    509
    181
    110
See reviews for
899
1,511
139
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just finished an 11-day stay at this hotel, chosen due to the overall facilities and proximity to the dive centre, happily the positives far outnumber the negatives. The hotel itself is a large property, approx. 15 floors with 6-7 restaurants, hair and beauty salon, spa, gym, indoor/outdoor pools and a beach area. The location is convenient for shopping, restaurants and bars but not for quiet walks or traditional Maltese surroundings. A taxi from the airport should be 20 Euros. The room was 1248 and we had access to the Carissa Lounge.
I requested an early check-in by email and upon arrival at the hotel (1045 local time) was greeted and shown to the lounge where Francesca checked us in, she was very friendly and helpful about explaining the hotel and local area. After a quick breakfast in the lounge, we were shown to the room but the view was somewhat limited, however we asked to change and within an hour were unpacking in 1248 which had a partial view of the gardens, pool and The Med Sea, thanks to Francesca and the tall Spanish brunette with glasses (name unknown) who arranged this.
The rooms are well-equipped and large, however it was slightly disappointing not to have a few more English TV channels outside of the bog standard BBC-Sky-CNN-Bloomberg, further TV channels are available for 5 Euros, however you don't go on holiday to watch TV so that's a minor irritation. What needs to be addressed are the poor doors on the balcony and shower. The balcony doors only had a latch whilst the shower doors leaked in the middle and on the hinges, expelling quite a bit of water.
As for eating, there a quite a few options. The best for us was Paranga, a great waterside location and good food. The pool bar/cafe was a standard burger/pasta/salad place similar to most other poolside places. We didn't try Waterbiscuit but heard that it was good. Soprano was average but the staff were good, for example The Maltese seem to like their pasta undercooked, not quite Al Dente but they were happy enough to cook the dish again (without onions and parsley as per our request). Harruba has a daily changing-theme buffet with good variety. The Al Fresco restaurant is quite good (especially the Octopus stew) located within the garden area with live music.
Approximately 100 metres from the hotel is the Interconti beach area, it can get quite crowded and is next door to a busy public area but is fine for passing the time, you can get snacks here and Paranga is next door.
The gym is attached to the hotel but not under Interconti management, it is well-equipped but the cardio machines don't have audio hook-up to the TVs and remember to bring your own water (or you will have to go through the indoor pool area to access a dispenser).
The rooftop pool is a bit small for the area but everybody seemed to enjoy using it.
The Carissa Lounge has a good breakfast offering, afternoon tea and evening canapes. Drinks are available throughout the day and it also has iPads you can borrow which is a nice and useful offer that not many hotels have. There is an Xbox and board games available too.
Try and get a room on a high floor, for the view and for the reduced noise level.
The following members of staff were great: Greg, Csaba, Chutina, Francesca, Ana Maria, Unknown Spanish brunette and the wonderful Clarence!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CitizenWorldLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids/england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I enjoyed ten days at this hotel and it was great.sophisticated bats and restaurants,amazing gardens and roomy/practical pool area.would stay there again.positioned by lively bars,shopping area and a private beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jase-lisa-matt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have stayed at Intercontinental hotels before in the middle east so booked this one with a degree of confidence in its standard. We were not disappointed with the hotel as such, it was comfortable, clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. An oasis in the madness!
The pool was on the small side as it's a rooftop pool. It was fine, but unfortunately it was almost impossible to escape from the awful music racket from the many speakers placed all round the pool which drove me mad. Trying to read or relax was impossible with the continuous din and inane radio prattle going on. It really isn't necessary to pipe "music" to every corner of the outside area.
The hotel is also unfortunately right in the middle of a noisy, tacky area full of grubby looking bars and fast food outlets. Luckily our room was on the 13th floor so we didn't hear anything from the room. Needless to say it was very busy which is understandable in August and the whole of the area is full of language students who are there to party.
The beach was tiny and very disappointing - there was a small section of what the Intercontinental says is "private" but this is not the case as it is right in the middle of the town and several yards from the hotel itself, so you have to walk through the tacky area to get to it. There was also loud piped music all the time on the beach and at Paranga restaurant so we avoided this as well. I think the management should be more honest about this being described as "private" I have been to hotels on public beaches which had more privacy!
I accept that Malta is busy in the Summer, but if you are looking for a relaxing stay, this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavenderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Cosy Intercontinental Hotel in Malta and good to stay there. for this short Trip, we did went there for 2 Nights and we can say, that it is a good hotel with a nice and friendly Customerservice there. Room was clean and good outfitted. Not far away from Hotel, have been few very good and typical Restaurants. Nice and clean Swimingpool there!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesea1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights on a B and B basis and had a lovely time. The hotel itself is very large and not our usual choice but it maintains a personal feel and had all the facilities we have come to expect from such a hotell, all you see online is available.
I would like to mention the quality of the staff throughout the hotel who were wonderful. From we arrived until we left they were friendly courteous and at all times helpful. Muyreen at reception was always helpful and Julia who worked in the club lounge on the 15 th floor was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is my 3rd stay at the Intercontinental Malta. This time I took my partner for his B day.
We had the most amazing stay ever as everyone at the hotel was wonderful.
I have to say a Very big Thank you to Roberto the Conciage as he arranged champaign in the room and private dining at the water biscuit restatuant.
The staff there was very accomodating and they recomended food to us that was just amazing.

all in all this holiday left us feeling so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruani r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,612 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing