We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good ac,limited choice for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice room, good ac,limited choice for breakfast”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Good service, nice hotel, nice room and very clean with ac. The breakfast though was very limited unlike san antonio buffet of that of raddison. I think some work needs to be done there. + 2 weeks for 200euro auth to drop off your card for the guarantee ?! They didnt tell me that on checkin.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    1,312
    505
    179
    107
See reviews for
890
1,491
138
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at this excellent hotel. The staff are some of the most friendly and helpful that I have seen, always happy to say "hello" and help in any way they could. The hotel itself is large, modern and offering a service in line with what you would expect for the price. The rooms are clean, well appointed and spacious with cool air conditioning (a must in the summer months). From what I could see, it would definitely be worth booking one of the garden/pool view rooms as these offer a tranquil oasis away from the busy neighbourhood outside.
I didn't eat dinner in any of the restaurants so cannot comment on those, however breakfast offers an excellent choice of pretty much anything you could wish for. From pastries to cereals, from freshly cooked omelettes to fruits and from cold meats/cheeses to the good old cooked breakfast.
The rooftop pool area is ok. The pool itself is crowded and a little too shallow to swim very much, however the sun deck areas away from the pool allow you to relax, away from the noise and splashing (assuming you can find a sun lounger that hasn't had a towel left on it!). The gym facilities are great if you feel the need to burn some calories whilst there.
Other reviewers have mentioned the location as a problem. Yes, it is in the middle of Paceville, the party capital of Malta and so may not be everyone's cup of tea. However if you are looking for a good selection of bars and restaurants on your doorstep, then this is for you. Also don't mistake comments about the area for many places around the Med, it is busy in the evenings, however there is not the drunk teenage Brit looking for trouble element here.
My only minor complaint about the InterContinental is the checkout process. It seem to take a long time to get to the front of the single queue during peak periods as the same desk is dealing with check in (and helpfully explaining everything about the hotel/area). In my case, once about to be served, 2 people walked from the back straight up to the desk and the member off staff let it happen and started dealing with them. This was a slightly frustrating end to a very enjoyable stay. Maybe some filter lanes beyond priority check in could be implemented?
Overall I would definitely recommend the InterContinental Malta.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I are currently part way through a ten day stay. The hotel and facilties are of a good standard, the staff are fantastic and the Club Lounge is very good. However, the area surrounding the hotel is terrible! It's not just the tacky shops, bars and 'Gentleman's Clubs', it's the piles of rubbish left for collection on narrow pavements, the smell of urine in the main streets, and the 'ancient profession' which was in evidence after 10pm - not something I'd want to expose a young family too. We had one of the best rooms in the hotel but this only included a partial sea view, the full view of a construction crane (50m away) and the view of a rundown building!

The rooftop pool is ok, not great for swimming (although there is a great indoor pool and fantastic gym), the piped music was ok, but the smells of local restaurants was sometimes a bit off putting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarobbo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Absolutely love this hotel, loads of facilities, from restaurants ranging low price to fine dining. Fabulous pool on level 10 with stunning views. Beautiful garden restaurant, fabulous at night. Right in the heart of Paceville, which might not suit all as its very busy at night, lots of young people about, bars & clubs aplenty. No noise from our room, not sure what the front rooms are like for noise though. Great buffet breakfast. Staff on the whole are excellent. Only bad experience was at the Paranga restaurant where after our main meal they seemed to just forget about us, so we got the bill & left !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_V1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I cannot fault this hotel in any way whatsoever. The staff were absolutley delightful: the service so impeccable we thought they must have had training in telethapy!

Totally relaxing, stress free and sheer heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked this for my partners 40th and it was a brilliant experience, swift efficient check in very helpful friendly staff. Pool was immaculate and pool staff were so nice making our days lounging by the pool much more relaxing. Rooms were plenty big with everything you need in them food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrieKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friend and I each took our teenagers for a week in June. There was plenty for us all to do and we felt quite safe, even though it's busy with party goers all night. The atmosphere is great. The rooms are very nice with large luxurious bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,564 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing