We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“top resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

great resort, perfect location, rooms amazing, only thing that dissapointed was the tv, only news channels! it would have been nice to watch a film or somthing light hearted at the end of the day. having said that i would definately go back, i really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    1,262
    489
    173
    103
See reviews for
870
1,450
132
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental last week. Their best commodity is their staff, polite and well-trained and very attuned to customer service and satisfaction.
Breakfast had a great choice of foods in a very nice setting. Location is good, great for the young and young of heart to dance all night in the Paceville discos, bars and clubs just behind the hotel. Easy to catch local busses all over the island from behind the hotel and concierge knowledgable giving sound advice.
The room is where they lose marks. The first room we were sent to on the 12th floor smelt badly of mould. I immediately went down again to reception and received a second room. The room had been refurbished , carpets removed (as they claimed that this was the source of the smell in the first room) BUT the bathroom was absolutely not up to 5-star standard. Rust on the bath, chipped and cracked floor tiles, stained marble around the sink and a dirty toilet seat. I felt rather awkward complaining again but as we were staying 5 nights I did. We were politely shown another 2 rooms that we could choose from. One was similar to room #2 but bathroom in a better state and another huge family room but facing the main street with a tiny one person balcony. I opted for the regular room and it was fine albeit not 'deluxe'.
Just another word on the rooms are that they face all directions. Our room faced the inner courtyard and we had the continuous noise of the hotels' air-conditioning systems. I could not sit on the balcony because of the high noise level. The best facing is to the pool with a nice garden below, avoid the Paceville side and the main street if possible.
Another disturbing incident involved the minibar. As I have a specific diet I brought some food with me which i wanted to store in the room's minibar. A couple of days after we arrived we received a typed notice under the door that if we do not remove our food from both shelves we will be charged 30 Euro. We are allowed to use just one shelf. On the last afternoon I was resting on the bed when there was a knock and the door opened to reveal the minibar man wanting to refill his minibar. Why he thought he could just enter the room without waiting for an answer I do not know but thankfully I was decent :-)
We had a good vacation but not sure i will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther90435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
808 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

It is 9 years since last in Malta and i chose to return to this large luxury hotel in St Julians. It is about 20 mins by taxi (€20) from the airport and probably much longer in time on the X.2 bus which stops at the top of the main street. The hotel occupies a large area and I was upgraded to a suite on the 13th floor (1342).

Getting a room with Club Lounge access on the 15th floor meant I had breakfast included in the price as well as several internet terminals, afternoon tea and sandwiches as well as free alcoholic drinks between 17.30 and 19.30. Well worth paying the extra on the room rate.

The suite itself had a balcony, and a giant bed with firm comfortable mattress. the walkin wardrobe was unusual and the bathroom had walkin shower as well as bath tub. My one criticism was there was no grabrail for the shower so there was a risk of slipping on tiled floor.

Checkin was in the Club lounge. Checkout was at ground floor. Both quite slow but efficient.

There is an outside pool on 10th floor (muchof its area is too shallow to swim in) and indoor pool about 20m in length > I tried the outside one but really not warm enough in November.

The Waterbiscuit is one of the hotel's restaurants and was quite good. It had a lively bar atmosphere downstairs on Friday evening.

As others have commented, to climb up the stairs to walk to st Julians Bay restaurants requires running the gauntlet of noisy bars, fast food places and <gentlemens Clubs> Not dangerous but rather noisy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We followed the advice to go for a higher level room, 7 was good. A garden view would be better as our room looked straight into language school opposite. Room smelled damp everytime we returned to it, but it was quiet and nicely appointed.
We had delicious fresh cocktails from the garden level bar, friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast waiter Joseph was very obliging and friendly.
You have to try the Turkish Hamam, so utterly relaxing..
Definitely one hotel we want to return to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick-flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiang mai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is very good, service and staff.
The breakfast was average.
The location is good for nightlife but it is quite far from Valleta and not central for star trips to Malta sites.
We've experienced two problems:
1. View from the room was disappointing (industrial roofs)
2. The elevator was too close to the room - we heard noises

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haim64ChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the intercontinental hotel in st. George's bay, St Julian's. the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The hotel was spotlessly clean apart from a little mould in the shower and the breakfast and evening meals were varied and very tasty. One down side they charged 4.20 euros for a bottle of water with our evening meal which i thought wAs quite expensive. We used the indoor pool as well as the outdoor pool and the sports bar staff were very friendly and helpful showing any football game we wanted to watch. It was easy to catch a bus which was 5 mins walk from the hotel and you could go anywhere all day for 2.60 euros. The buses ran frequently. We would definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Lewes, East Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff at the Intercontinental were excellent, but the food was really disappointing. We had issues and to be fair, the PA to the General Manager went out of her way to put things right. It was just unfortunate that it was at the end of the holiday. The beach was excellent, clean, tidy and the beach toilets were immaculate. Overall, the holiday was good, but I have stayed in much better hotels, with excellent food, but the Intercontinental was very obliging, and staff helpful in trying to sort things out. I would stay there again, purely for the excellent beach!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomin676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing