We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a very well kept hotel, has a very central location, yet surprisingly not noisy! Check in and check out were very efficient. Patrizia, who checked us in, greeted us with a smile and was very friendly, as were all the other front desk staff.

Our room on the 11th floor was bigger than expected, with a separate living area and 2 bathrooms. It was a lovely room and we loved it!

Breakfast was very busy and we had to wait quite long to go in the restaurant and eventually get our food from the buffet.

Overall it was a great stay and I would stay at Intercontinental again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

From other fairly positive reviews on this site I did wonder if my opinions of my stay at the Intercontinental had been overly negative however after a recent stay in a 3 star hotel in which the rooms were undoubtedly better than Intercontinental Malta I thought I had to post a review.

Initial impressions of our room on the 12th floor (deluxe room) was that though it appeared modern, it was very tired. Chipped furniture in the main room, broken balcony door, dust in the mugs in the poor coffee facilities, a hair in the bed. And the view, the view was of a dingey side street with restaurants below and peoples homes above. The bathroom is nice, however the shower leaks very badly.

I was unhappy with the state of the room, and tired from a days travelling so called reception. Rather than switch us rooms, the head of housekeeping came up to inspect the room. And aside from the hair in the bed essentially downplayed my opinions of the cleanliness. It felt as though I was being told by the hotel, that the standard was fine and the hygiene levels were ok. Our bedding was changed and the floor was mopped and we were left to it. Even after the housekeepers had cleaned (and they did do an excellent job) that still couldn't counteract the poor state of the furniture, balcony outside, smell and view. It was not 5 star.

On the evening it then emerged that in addition to the horrendous view, we would also have to contend with noise. The balcony doors are double lined to attend to the noise factor however our door was broken and did not seal correctly so as a light sleeper I could hear everything. The street only had one or two bars/restaurants however they stayed open till after 2am and the alley appears to be one of the shortcuts to the Paceville nightlife, very busy and very noisy.

I complained, we were moved. Though it was quite clearly a downgrade in room and no longer a "deluxe". It was clean and more importantly quiet so we switched.

The room was my primary cause for concern however aside from the food and staff everything else is average.

The spa area is not great, with the tired decor it looks slightly like a cave. Also kids dive bombing in and out of the pool and playing games in the sauna is not my idea of relaxation.

The main pool area upstairs is again average. Not panoramic peaceful views of the rolling Maltese landscape and sea but more building sites and car horns.

The mini bar in the room negates any opportunity to refrigerate anything you may personally wish to keep in your room as it is loaded full of overpriced snacks with no space to so much as store a pint of milk for your coffee. No complimentary drinking water.

Good location, if it is the bustling streets of Paceville you are holidaying for.

For a 5 star experience in this hotel, eat in the restaurants. The Harruba and the Italian a la carte beside it are phenomenal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegThom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here after staying in Valletta.
A good chain hotel which is comfortable and friendly.
However as with most large chain hotels it lacks personality and is totally geared towards the business traveller. No real faults but a couple of minor irritations.
Parking: It cost 9 euros a day to park in an underground lot next to hotel..however drive 100 meters up road for free road parking...they could advise on this.
Location....to get to the good restaurants you have to run the gauntlet of strip joints and gents clubs, loud bars and kebab joints......this is not the hotels fault but if I go to malta again I would go to Sliema rather than this location.
Check in checkout smooth and trouble free.
All in all a nice hotel though a touch impersonal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank major s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel reached our expectation of a weekend break. The Staff was very polite, helpful, serving people with a smile etc. the rooms are very clean and the location is in the heart of entertainment where noises are hardly heard from the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Good location in Saint Julian's.
Kind reception staff.
Private beach.
Free wifi.
Nice swimming pool.

Gym is out of date, old, rusty machinary.
No fresh orange juice in breakfast.
Long refreshment time for empty food during breakfast.
Refrigerator at room is not working.
No daily complimentary drinking water in the room.
Long in reception queue during check-out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Staff was very helpful everytime, the internal dining restaurant was forgettable, but the one next door called Watermark Biscuits (also belongs to IC) was phenomenal, one of my best dining experience.
The internal garden and yard is very peaceful and lovely, with nice architectural solutions.
The gym was the best I met in hotels anytime (I think it doesn't belong to the hotel but was inside the building complex and free for the guests.

The only negative point was that there were no travel adapters just in the minibar for 15 euros - not a best buy if you do not really need one forever, just for your staying...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bartoknagyjanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

An Intercontinental cannot be a bad place to stay, but this was not my greatest hotel experience during this fall. In principal everything was in order but for some unspecified reason I did not sleep well here. There was some noise from rooms above during evenings but that did not bother during the nights. I only had breakfast in the hotel and it was a bit boring, very standard.
The staff I met in bars, breakfast room, reception and conference areas were very friendly and you can tell, they enjoyed working there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £89 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing