We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced and good choice of facilities ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property over the Christmas week, the choice of the Intercontinental over other 5 star hotels in the area being driven by the great value rooms.
The hotel is huge but the staff are incredibly friendly thus generating a more intimate feel. There's a choice of dining venues and bars, plus an excellent on site gym and indoor/outdoor pools. There is free wifi throughout the property but it's not particularly fast - okay for email and general web browsing but a struggle for iTunes and video.
Food and drink was of a good quality and well-priced, competing well against the local bars and restaurants. The area is very much focused on the younger party crowd but we didn't see any trouble and the choice of venue options was handy.
I'd say on the whole the property is a little worn around the edges - the badly scuffed bed headboard didn't leave a good impression - but it was acceptable for the price we paid although I'd probably complain if I'd shelled out at rack rate.
The only real negative was the noise, which literally came from every angle. I can only imagine what it must be like in the summer season when the hotel is full and guests are using the central outdoor garden and pool area... To be fair, there's not really a lot they can do about that short of rebuilding however we got a lot of noise from upstairs (probably high heeled shoes on the tile floor), a fair amount of 'moaning' (!) from next door, plus the rustle, chatter and rattle of inconsiderate housekeeping and maintenance staff using their store room in the corridor (from around 7am every morning).
All in all, we had a good stay and enjoyed the property but I would caution potential guests to request a quiet room if you're wanting to sleep in.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bright0nNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 4,141 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just before going to the bar for a coffee at the intercontinental, we wanted to go to the restrooms. Exactly when we started to follow the signs for the restrooms a guy in a grey suit started running after us and didn't let us go. Besides being very rude to us and telling us to leave and go out, he told us that we can't go to the restrooms! Although we are in our 20's does not mean that we have to be treated this way, besides we were going to take a coffee from there afterwards. I am surly NOT going to that hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for Christmas 2012 and it was very good. A bit more of a business hotel really. Had a really nice room.
Breakfast was really good with much variety. Weather not too good for the time of year. Would not go back for Christmas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here in from 28th September with Diamond Resorts. It was like 2 different worlds - inside the hotel was peace and tranquillity but once you stepped outside it was chaotic!! The hotel was only a few hundred yards from Paceville and as our apartment was overlooking the main road, relaxing on the balcony wasn't an option as all the boy-racers roared up and down outside the hotel and the noise from revellers enjoying the nightlife was very loud! On the plus side, the apartment had sufficient sound-proofing so if you kept the windows shut, the noise was minimal. We wondered what came first - the hotel or Paceville!! If it was Paceville we are very surprised that a hotel like the Intercontinental was built there!

On a positive note, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, a special mention must be made to Patrizia on the reception and Joseph who couldn't do enough for us. On our last evening we had an incredible meal in the 'Al Fresco' restaurant - the ambiance, food and service was amazing, you wouldn't believe that you was in the middle of a hotel especially in this area!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190chrisk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent evening. Staff very polite and they all did a good job when serving. Beautiful Decor for the festive seasons. Food was very good too and one had a vast chose from the buffet. Well done we had a pleasant evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toya98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We came here for 3 nights for our anniversary...room was not very clean
upon arrival - placed clothes in a compartment and they came out white with dust,
shower had mould, and door would not lock, and latch was missing. Housekeeping -sort-of manager came to see and her attitude was 'what is the fuss all about'. Anyway,kept the room as door lock and latch were fixed later by maintenance, so we tried to ignore the
rest. Housekeeping storage room exactly outside our room, so constant
noise and banging. Mini bar man just knocks and comes in, once he didn't
even give me time to dress properly as I was resting. I know its the
hotel's discretion but the hotel completely ignored our anniversary...and
this was also our 4th or 5th stay at the hotel. Room type had lounge
access - also please note that when you book rooms with lounge access the
rooms are just basic rooms...so you are paying just for the lounge access
- the lounge was nice, alcohol only served 2 hours in the evening, but
service especially Salvatore excellent. That's all about it but, as on the
first night, our anniversary night, there was huge noise of disco and
clubbing...tried with ear plugs and still we couldn't sleep. We called
reception and a girl told us - yeah there's a party. It was 2 am and the
noise continued till at least 5am. Staff phoned in the morning to
apologise and gave us also a meal at Waterbiscuit which was good (still
cant understand the raving reviews though!!!) however, nothing can bring
me back our anniversary night, which was practically ruined. The hotel
could not understand this though, and for them we were just complaining
for nothing. Staff kept phoning in the room cos they noticed they didn't
shut us up with the meal, but they were missing the point. We paid a
hefty price to come and enjoy a break, and a meal wont really compensate.
Also I understand that they have to follow up, and its nice of them, but
for every single request people keep phoning in the room over an over again. As I said this is in a way nice but a bit too much. The next day after the sleepless night
we tried to go and rest in the afternoon, but lo and behold, there was
ANOTHER event scheduled for that night so bands were rehearsing in the
courtyard...from 2pm till past 4pm. Oh well, won't be returning to this
hotel anytime soon at that price, with so many lovely and more
price-competitive hotels in the area

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We came here for 3 nights for our anniversary...room was not very clean upon arrival - placed clothes in a compartment and they came out white, shower had mould, and door would not lock. Housekeeping -sort-of manager came to see and her attitude was 'what is the fuss all about'. Anyway, kept the room as door lock and latch were fixed. Trying to ignore the rest. Housekeeping storage room exactly outside our room, so constant noise and banging. Mini bar man just knocks and comes in, once he didn't even give me time to dress properly as I was resting. I know its the hotel's discretion but the hotel completely ignored our anniversary...and this was also our 4th or 5th stay at the hotel. Room type had lounge access - also please note that when you book rooms with lounge access the rooms are just basic rooms...so you are paying just for the lounge access - the lounge was nice, alcohol only served 2 hours in the evening, but service especially Salvatore excellent. That's all about it but, as on the first night, our anniversary night, there was huge noise of disco and clubbing...tried with ear plugs and still we couldn't sleep. We called reception and a girl told us - yeah there's a party. It was 2 am and the noise continued till at least 5am. Staff phoned in the morning to apologise and gave us also a meal at Waterbiscuit which was good (still cant understand the raving reviews though!!!) however, nothing can bring me back my anniversary night, which was practically ruined. The hotel could not understand this, and
ice bucket went down for it and still wanted to charge us
anniversary - nothing
complaints about mould in bathroom and h/k mamager came to tell us off
noise - disaster - firts night, ANNIIVERSARY night ruined due to event, next day bands singin in the courtyard
no respect for guests peace and rest
no complimentary water
staff very attentive and follw up but sometimes a bit too much -
apperitivo hour very ncie but only 2 hrs - 530 is way too early fo rus maltese and finished at 730..way too early...at 8 - 830would be much beter. waiter very good SALVATORE
compemsationf or lost night ok = but i cam to rest and enjoy my anniversary, nothing will bring me back that night

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if any exist
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,038 reviews
2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £56 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing