We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Malta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Diamond Suites on Malta(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gorgianis Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hugo's Boutique Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
be.HOTEL(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Beach Garden Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tropicana Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Burlington Apartments(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
DDream Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,223)
Filter reviews
4,223 results
Traveller rating
1,884
1,420
578
213
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,884
1,420
578
213
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeprivate beachparanga restaurantal frescoindoor poolbeach bardiamond resortsbuilding workbars and clubspre dinner drinksst juliansbusy areanight lifehotel restaurantsbay streetlarge hotelyoung people
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,452 - 1,457 of 4,223 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

An excellent choice for a short holiday in Malta: good location, very nice rooms, extremely helpful staff, quite modern venues (pools, conference center, restaurants), high-quality and free wi-fi in the rooms, excellent choice of TV grid and, at last but not at least, an extremely fair value delivered for the money paid!
Still, some "dust" should be removed from the five-stars of the hotel, as - in some spots, as our room - the carpet looked extremely worn-out and dirty (beige color is not the best choice for it), as well as some pieces of furniture, walls showed signs of insulation failure in many places, etc.
Also, breakfast was quite flat (6 days, the same menu, with some dishes, as fried bacon, very poor cooked) and, despite the efforts of the staff, if the huge hotel is fully-booked, you need to be lucky to find an empty table between 8.30-9.30...
But, overall, a very nice experience, we fully recommend a staying here and, if the above issues will be solved or, at least, improved, the 5-stars of this InterContinental will be fully deserved!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan Leonard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property over the Christmas week, the choice of the Intercontinental over other 5 star hotels in the area being driven by the great value rooms.
The hotel is huge but the staff are incredibly friendly thus generating a more intimate feel. There's a choice of dining venues and bars, plus an excellent on site gym and indoor/outdoor pools. There is free wifi throughout the property but it's not particularly fast - okay for email and general web browsing but a struggle for iTunes and video.
Food and drink was of a good quality and well-priced, competing well against the local bars and restaurants. The area is very much focused on the younger party crowd but we didn't see any trouble and the choice of venue options was handy.
I'd say on the whole the property is a little worn around the edges - the badly scuffed bed headboard didn't leave a good impression - but it was acceptable for the price we paid although I'd probably complain if I'd shelled out at rack rate.
The only real negative was the noise, which literally came from every angle. I can only imagine what it must be like in the summer season when the hotel is full and guests are using the central outdoor garden and pool area... To be fair, there's not really a lot they can do about that short of rebuilding however we got a lot of noise from upstairs (probably high heeled shoes on the tile floor), a fair amount of 'moaning' (!) from next door, plus the rustle, chatter and rattle of inconsiderate housekeeping and maintenance staff using their store room in the corridor (from around 7am every morning).
All in all, we had a good stay and enjoyed the property but I would caution potential guests to request a quiet room if you're wanting to sleep in.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bright0nNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just before going to the bar for a coffee at the intercontinental, we wanted to go to the restrooms. Exactly when we started to follow the signs for the restrooms a guy in a grey suit started running after us and didn't let us go. Besides being very rude to us and telling us to leave and go out, he told us that we can't go to the restrooms! Although we are in our 20's does not mean that we have to be treated this way, besides we were going to take a coffee from there afterwards. I am surly NOT going to that hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for Christmas 2012 and it was very good. A bit more of a business hotel really. Had a really nice room.
Breakfast was really good with much variety. Weather not too good for the time of year. Would not go back for Christmas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here in from 28th September with Diamond Resorts. It was like 2 different worlds - inside the hotel was peace and tranquillity but once you stepped outside it was chaotic!! The hotel was only a few hundred yards from Paceville and as our apartment was overlooking the main road, relaxing on the balcony wasn't an option as all the boy-racers roared up and down outside the hotel and the noise from revellers enjoying the nightlife was very loud! On the plus side, the apartment had sufficient sound-proofing so if you kept the windows shut, the noise was minimal. We wondered what came first - the hotel or Paceville!! If it was Paceville we are very surprised that a hotel like the Intercontinental was built there!

On a positive note, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, a special mention must be made to Patrizia on the reception and Joseph who couldn't do enough for us. On our last evening we had an incredible meal in the 'Al Fresco' restaurant - the ambiance, food and service was amazing, you wouldn't believe that you was in the middle of a hotel especially in this area!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190chrisk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews