We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location - round the corner from the bars and restaurants in Paceville. Also close to a bus stop that has direct buses to several locations on the island. Rooms are large and comfortable - though the walls are not thick enough to insulate you from noises from adjoining rooms!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank subir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    1,340
    519
    186
    114
See reviews for
922
1,521
140
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for a total of 6 nights from Dec 20-26. Our original booking was only for 4 nights. However, we had to extend our stay when Easyjet cancelled our return flight to London during the Christmas storms in London. The 2 day extension really gave us a taste of the wonderful customer service from the front desk staff, the concierge and the rest of the team. They were amazing in accomodating our last minute request for a 2 night extended stay. So all in all a great hotel, close to all the restaurants and shopping across the street. If you dont like to stay in an area with a lot of restaurants and night clubs this hotel may not be for you. However, we were traveling with our 5 year old son and found the area to be very family friendly as the rest of Malta. The hotel is very well located and is connected very well with the island with excellent bus service. You dont really need a taxi as the bus service is great in Malta.

The only thing that I would say we didn't like about the hotel is that the walls of the guest rooms are paper thin. You can hear everything. Also, if you prefer a quiet room, then ask for a room on floor 11 or higher that is facing the pool and the garden.

Special thanks to Mayuren, Jennifer and Kristof for the amazing service they showed. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frosty1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

An excellent choice for a short holiday in Malta: good location, very nice rooms, extremely helpful staff, quite modern venues (pools, conference center, restaurants), high-quality and free wi-fi in the rooms, excellent choice of TV grid and, at last but not at least, an extremely fair value delivered for the money paid!
Still, some "dust" should be removed from the five-stars of the hotel, as - in some spots, as our room - the carpet looked extremely worn-out and dirty (beige color is not the best choice for it), as well as some pieces of furniture, walls showed signs of insulation failure in many places, etc.
Also, breakfast was quite flat (6 days, the same menu, with some dishes, as fried bacon, very poor cooked) and, despite the efforts of the staff, if the huge hotel is fully-booked, you need to be lucky to find an empty table between 8.30-9.30...
But, overall, a very nice experience, we fully recommend a staying here and, if the above issues will be solved or, at least, improved, the 5-stars of this InterContinental will be fully deserved!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan Leonard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property over the Christmas week, the choice of the Intercontinental over other 5 star hotels in the area being driven by the great value rooms.
The hotel is huge but the staff are incredibly friendly thus generating a more intimate feel. There's a choice of dining venues and bars, plus an excellent on site gym and indoor/outdoor pools. There is free wifi throughout the property but it's not particularly fast - okay for email and general web browsing but a struggle for iTunes and video.
Food and drink was of a good quality and well-priced, competing well against the local bars and restaurants. The area is very much focused on the younger party crowd but we didn't see any trouble and the choice of venue options was handy.
I'd say on the whole the property is a little worn around the edges - the badly scuffed bed headboard didn't leave a good impression - but it was acceptable for the price we paid although I'd probably complain if I'd shelled out at rack rate.
The only real negative was the noise, which literally came from every angle. I can only imagine what it must be like in the summer season when the hotel is full and guests are using the central outdoor garden and pool area... To be fair, there's not really a lot they can do about that short of rebuilding however we got a lot of noise from upstairs (probably high heeled shoes on the tile floor), a fair amount of 'moaning' (!) from next door, plus the rustle, chatter and rattle of inconsiderate housekeeping and maintenance staff using their store room in the corridor (from around 7am every morning).
All in all, we had a good stay and enjoyed the property but I would caution potential guests to request a quiet room if you're wanting to sleep in.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bright0nNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalkara, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just before going to the bar for a coffee at the intercontinental, we wanted to go to the restrooms. Exactly when we started to follow the signs for the restrooms a guy in a grey suit started running after us and didn't let us go. Besides being very rude to us and telling us to leave and go out, he told us that we can't go to the restrooms! Although we are in our 20's does not mean that we have to be treated this way, besides we were going to take a coffee from there afterwards. I am surly NOT going to that hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for Christmas 2012 and it was very good. A bit more of a business hotel really. Had a really nice room.
Breakfast was really good with much variety. Weather not too good for the time of year. Would not go back for Christmas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buster2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here in from 28th September with Diamond Resorts. It was like 2 different worlds - inside the hotel was peace and tranquillity but once you stepped outside it was chaotic!! The hotel was only a few hundred yards from Paceville and as our apartment was overlooking the main road, relaxing on the balcony wasn't an option as all the boy-racers roared up and down outside the hotel and the noise from revellers enjoying the nightlife was very loud! On the plus side, the apartment had sufficient sound-proofing so if you kept the windows shut, the noise was minimal. We wondered what came first - the hotel or Paceville!! If it was Paceville we are very surprised that a hotel like the Intercontinental was built there!

On a positive note, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, a special mention must be made to Patrizia on the reception and Joseph who couldn't do enough for us. On our last evening we had an incredible meal in the 'Al Fresco' restaurant - the ambiance, food and service was amazing, you wouldn't believe that you was in the middle of a hotel especially in this area!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190chrisk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,430 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing