We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This iş a nice and clean hotel. The breakfast contained guten free foods and when I asked ,they brought me gluten free breads. We stayed at the 11th floor , the room was big , well decorated and quiet. .When I go to Malta , I will choose this hotel. again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilgun63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and self stayed at this hotel for 1 week. It was excellent. We upgraded to Club Lounge(well worth the money), breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks for a couple of hours early evening all very, very good.
The only slight downside was noise occasionally through ceiling of room above.Our room was excellent with balcony which overlooked outside pool.
There is bus stop 2 minutes walk from hotel, San Giljan(St. Julians) where various services passed.The concierge(Robert), was very helpful in giving bus numbers to various attractions, so travel was easy.Negative side, buses always full, positive side, a 1 week pass is 6.5euros.
Would certainly use hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank birtley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is modern, very well designed and spacious. As you would expect from a large international company, the decor and ambiance are businesslike but with a friendly warmth. The rooms are of a very good quality, clean and very comfortable with all of the facilities you'd expect from a top quality hotel: tea / coffee, international TV channels, mini bar, iron, safe, separate bath and shower, bath robes and slippers, balcony area, free wi-fi.

Within the hotel are a number of restaurants. We tried the Haruba and Waterbiscuit and both offered an extremely good menu at very reasonable prices Main courses from about €10 to €27. Wine is very good and priced at about €10. a bottle so great value again. The hotel has a Spa and Fitness centre. We tried the Hawaiian massage, just amazing! Certainly worth the price (about €80, but seriously it's just great) We also spent some time in both pools (indoor and outdoor) both were spotlessly clean and very welcoming. The outdoor pool is huge, being on top of the hotel does give fantastic views all around but it does get a bit of a breeze in the afternoons (we went in Feb). The indoor pool is attended at all times and they provide towels. Next to the indoor pool are free sauna rooms and a stunning Turkish Hammam steam bath. We'd never been in a Turkish Bath before, basically it's a large white marble floor to ceiling room with ambient lighting and soothing music, all the walls and floors are heated so it's nice and hot inside. There are water basins and taps all round the walls and you pour water over yourself to cool down or just sit in there, or lay down, and feel great. can't recommend you try this enough - wonderful!
There is also a free fitness room near the pool with weights, cycling machines etc.

So the hotel is great. What makes this something special, as mentioned in lots of other reviews, are the staff. Without exception, they are extremely good and are genuinely friendly. Our experience was, and again this seems to be a frequent comment in other reviews, that we were being given "special" treatment, yet this is exactly how the people here want you to feel. Everything felt just a little above and beyond what we might expect. We travel every year on my birthday and this year was the first time that the hotel we were staying at recognised this, they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine with some chocolates and a hand written note from Andrea in guest relations. It was a real surprise and really added to the day. Throughout, in the restaurants, pool and spa centre, cleaning staff and reception everyone treats you like a guest not a customer.

Have to say thank you to Andrea, Josephine, Robert, the Haruba waiters and front desk staff for making us feel so welcome.

Having travelled extensively around the world, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonFrancis_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We came back from a fantastic holiday in Malta yesterday. We stayed here for four days(wish it was longer), we were three adults and had two rooms booked and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the intercontinental, the moment we walked in, the two guys at reception made us feel very welcome, after mentioning that it was my fiancée's birthday, we were even given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate. Anything that we wanted, we just had to call guest relation and they made it happen, specially Andrea who was really sweet. I cannot fault anything, we've been to a lot of five stars hotel but in terms of service, this has been the best and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha_ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We visited this hotel for a weekend with our niece and had a great time. Initially we were given a room with 2 double beds, but the standard double beds were too small for 2 adults to sleep comfortably in, so then we change to a large queen sized bed and a single bed which was much better. We were a bit warm in the room on our 1st night so we called reception to try and fix the problem but apparently it's one system for the whole hotel so then we opened the balcony door for some air. What really amazed me is that the next morning, the receptionist that had checked us in, came to look for us during breakfast to check on us and she was marvelous in arranging our new sleeping quarters. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank odissea020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends went at the inter continental for 2 nights, the room was superb, the dinner was excellent and even the breakfast was quite good to, we had a small problem whit our door lock but the manegment fixed it immediately and they refund us by giving us an extra 3 hours free the room, I totally recommend this hotel for the excellent service and even for the money!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are just back today from a week at Intercontinental Malta through Diamond Resorts. We had a suite on the 7th floor and it was an absolute pleasure from start to finish. Although Intercontinental are not responsible for Diamond, they went out of their way to help us when Diamond didn't! Although every single member of staff at Intercontinental were so helpful, special mention must go to the Guest Relations Manager, who's name I didn't catch. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The rep for Diamond was apparently covering for the girl who is normally there, as she was on a course. Luke was his name. I found him to b very arrogant! As the only English channel we had at night was Sky News, Diamond offer a dvd library where u hire one day and take back the next. My husband and I went into the Diamond apartment and Luke was sitting chatting to a couple at the desk. Another couple came in to look at dvds and we started talking to them. Next thing Luke asked us to keep the noise down as he was trying to hold a conversation!! Then use a private room and not where everyone congregates! There were other rooms in the apartment. Myself and the other couple left as we were furious at this guy's attitude to guests. Before we arrived on holiday, I had asked if we could get a late checkout as our flight wasn't til 730pm. I was told I would have to wait til I arrived then ask. My husband asked Luke and he was told 'oh could b a problem this week as the girl who normally does that is away on a course!'. Then put someone else on her place who CAN do it!! He said he would try but never came back to us. Fortunately, Intercontinental were much more pleasant to the guests and they managed a 5pm checkout for us no problem. Luke wasn't there Sunday, Thursday, Friday or Saturday so if u had a problem of a Diamond nature, TOUGH! Special mention must also go to the lovely long dark haired waitress in the Waterbiscuit bar. She was so pleasant and friendly and to the entertainment on Friday night. Lovely guy with a guitar. Was just a shame there was only a handful of people in to appreciate him. Overall, Intercontinental made our holiday 1st class, not Diamond Resorts. Couldn't fault the accommodation though. Suite had small kitchen, living area, dining table, bedroom, two bathrooms each with a bath and large balcony. Intercontinental, I commend u! We will b back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank phoebe045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £79 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing