We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to agree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Have to agree”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have to agree with most of the reviewers that the Intercontinental is a very nice hotel, staff cannot do enough for you. We stayed two nights 30-31st December 2013 had suites on the club floor which catered for guests all day. We had a really nice afternoon tea and took advantage of the 'happy' two hour slot when drinks were complimentary. That and the full English breakfast makes the club upgrade essential. The suite was two separate rooms with sofa, huge bed and large bathroom. All very comfortable. The only downside was that we paid 80euros for the New Year's Eve buffet dinner and although the food itself was OK it was all luke warm and we did not think it worth the money. We will stay again at New Year but eat out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travatol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,325
    510
    181
    108
See reviews for
897
1,508
139
503
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This iş a nice and clean hotel. The breakfast contained guten free foods and when I asked ,they brought me gluten free breads. We stayed at the 11th floor , the room was big , well decorated and quiet. .When I go to Malta , I will choose this hotel. again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilgun63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and self stayed at this hotel for 1 week. It was excellent. We upgraded to Club Lounge(well worth the money), breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks for a couple of hours early evening all very, very good.
The only slight downside was noise occasionally through ceiling of room above.Our room was excellent with balcony which overlooked outside pool.
There is bus stop 2 minutes walk from hotel, San Giljan(St. Julians) where various services passed.The concierge(Robert), was very helpful in giving bus numbers to various attractions, so travel was easy.Negative side, buses always full, positive side, a 1 week pass is 6.5euros.
Would certainly use hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birtley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is modern, very well designed and spacious. As you would expect from a large international company, the decor and ambiance are businesslike but with a friendly warmth. The rooms are of a very good quality, clean and very comfortable with all of the facilities you'd expect from a top quality hotel: tea / coffee, international TV channels, mini bar, iron, safe, separate bath and shower, bath robes and slippers, balcony area, free wi-fi.

Within the hotel are a number of restaurants. We tried the Haruba and Waterbiscuit and both offered an extremely good menu at very reasonable prices Main courses from about €10 to €27. Wine is very good and priced at about €10. a bottle so great value again. The hotel has a Spa and Fitness centre. We tried the Hawaiian massage, just amazing! Certainly worth the price (about €80, but seriously it's just great) We also spent some time in both pools (indoor and outdoor) both were spotlessly clean and very welcoming. The outdoor pool is huge, being on top of the hotel does give fantastic views all around but it does get a bit of a breeze in the afternoons (we went in Feb). The indoor pool is attended at all times and they provide towels. Next to the indoor pool are free sauna rooms and a stunning Turkish Hammam steam bath. We'd never been in a Turkish Bath before, basically it's a large white marble floor to ceiling room with ambient lighting and soothing music, all the walls and floors are heated so it's nice and hot inside. There are water basins and taps all round the walls and you pour water over yourself to cool down or just sit in there, or lay down, and feel great. can't recommend you try this enough - wonderful!
There is also a free fitness room near the pool with weights, cycling machines etc.

So the hotel is great. What makes this something special, as mentioned in lots of other reviews, are the staff. Without exception, they are extremely good and are genuinely friendly. Our experience was, and again this seems to be a frequent comment in other reviews, that we were being given "special" treatment, yet this is exactly how the people here want you to feel. Everything felt just a little above and beyond what we might expect. We travel every year on my birthday and this year was the first time that the hotel we were staying at recognised this, they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine with some chocolates and a hand written note from Andrea in guest relations. It was a real surprise and really added to the day. Throughout, in the restaurants, pool and spa centre, cleaning staff and reception everyone treats you like a guest not a customer.

Have to say thank you to Andrea, Josephine, Robert, the Haruba waiters and front desk staff for making us feel so welcome.

Having travelled extensively around the world, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonFrancis_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We came back from a fantastic holiday in Malta yesterday. We stayed here for four days(wish it was longer), we were three adults and had two rooms booked and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the intercontinental, the moment we walked in, the two guys at reception made us feel very welcome, after mentioning that it was my fiancée's birthday, we were even given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate. Anything that we wanted, we just had to call guest relation and they made it happen, specially Andrea who was really sweet. I cannot fault anything, we've been to a lot of five stars hotel but in terms of service, this has been the best and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha_ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We visited this hotel for a weekend with our niece and had a great time. Initially we were given a room with 2 double beds, but the standard double beds were too small for 2 adults to sleep comfortably in, so then we change to a large queen sized bed and a single bed which was much better. We were a bit warm in the room on our 1st night so we called reception to try and fix the problem but apparently it's one system for the whole hotel so then we opened the balcony door for some air. What really amazed me is that the next morning, the receptionist that had checked us in, came to look for us during breakfast to check on us and she was marvelous in arranging our new sleeping quarters. We will surely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odissea020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends went at the inter continental for 2 nights, the room was superb, the dinner was excellent and even the breakfast was quite good to, we had a small problem whit our door lock but the manegment fixed it immediately and they refund us by giving us an extra 3 hours free the room, I totally recommend this hotel for the excellent service and even for the money!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing