We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what I expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not what I expected...”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I would say hotel was ok, but definitely not worth 5 star rating. I work in 5 star hotel in London and its nowhere even close to the standards that 5 star hotel should be trying to maintain. First of all, during my entire stay which was 6 nights, no one even tried to mention my name. Secondly, there was no consistency in service - one day you would find two bathmats, other day - one; one day no face towels; then you have not enough of shampoo, shower gel, etc., the next day you come and you find all double. Turn down was done 1 time during entire stay even though we refused just once and never had DND card on the door. In 5 star hotels, as far as I understand, Turn down is not optional. The room we were staying 1315 the toilet inside had permanent big yellow stain in the bottom, some mould on the mastic and the headboard was totally unacceptably damaged, heavy curtains dirty. Public areas are quite tired as well - public toilets near the main restaurant are quite rough. black stains around the lights and chipped corners - not at all 5 star. The inside pool had a huge black stain on the ceiling. Second day of our stay I went to have a swim in outside pool and 7:30am (in guest handbook the opening states 7am) and found it being washed by cleaners. Asked what time is it opening and was told that because of cut of employees they are not able to do it during the night, so have to start at 7am and because of that pool opens only 9. Which means that if you like to go to gym early and pool is part of your routine - forget it. The beach was yet another disappointment, the bar looked more like a pub, the beach itself is more like a pond as you don't see any water around, just a confined space. Not my thing.

the only nice place in the hotel was Water Biscuit and the restaurant upstairs. the staff was amazing. I don't remember their names anymore (one of them David maybe..?), just know that most of them were from Hungary. They were very helpful and friendly. Food nice and atmosphere good - clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,783
    1,328
    509
    181
    109
See reviews for
898
1,509
139
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Probably our fourth year with Diamond at the Intercontinental. Excellent accommodation and ideal for self-catering. As ever, good support provided by Wendy in the DRI members room. The location is always lively and not for the faint hearted. Fortunately we enjoy watching football and the bars great fun. Equally good restaurants at reasonable prices nearby or if you use the excellent bus service to travel further afield. Sliema and Valletta close by. Or walk as the promenade is excellent or alternatively the side street buildings fascinating. Do take a Grand Harbour cruise on a smaller boat the gets farther down the small creeks.
Intercontinental staff and Luis, in the reception area, particularly helpful. On criticism though and one we have also read elsewhere. To be asked to leave the private beach mid-afternoon for a private function is unacceptable. Even before that, there was the noise of sunbed collection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hancockmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week in one of the Diamond Resorts units on the 5th floor. We had worried a bit about noise, but had no trouble with it at all - however, if you like to sit on your balcony, you would find it very noisy as well as hot and humid. Yes, it is the bar and club capital of Malta - to be honest, even compared to an English seaside town at 11.00 p.m., it seemed fairly tame. As we don't go out at night, we had no problems and found the area quite interesting. It's a good base for getting around the island, and is close enough to Valletta to make the bus ride in easy, while far enough out that the buses aren't yet full.
The hotel side was very pleasant as usual with this group. The pool is good but lacks shade except in the bar area (no real hardship for me). The gardens are delightful but again I could do with more shade to sit in. I could of course have moved a chair! We only used on of the restaurants and that has its own review section - so go to Paranga.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Intercontinental despite feedback from our local friends. They had warned us about the busy location near all the bars and clubs and the shopping mall. We decided to book as the reviews were good and seemed well priced for what you get. Also, we didn't want to pay too much as we weren't planning to stay at the hotel beach or pool but instead visit the island and head to Gozo. It ended up to be good choice as we enjoyed the spa, the massive gym in the morning and then just head out to beach outside the busy city.

We didn't eat there, so I can't comment on the restaurant quality, we just preferred eating by the sea at local restaurants. The hotel is well located, so it was very easy to walk to nice restaurants.

The private beach was very noisy with a big construction site right by the beach, but again we never planned to stay there so we had no expectations there. The pool was lovely at the top of the building.

The room was nice and modern, but with a view to a big wall...well we book the standard room, so I guess I can't ask for too much.
I guess overall, it depends what you are looking for...if you are planning to stay at the hotel for your full holidays, then perhaps not the best hotel as the beach is just okay and noisy. If you are planning to travel around and need good hotel to sleep with good quality/price and then, it is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and wanted to stay more. We booked a Panoramic room with club access and were looked after and welcomed from the minute we stepped into the hotel. The room on the 13th floor was far enough away from the bustle of the local bars (world cup week!) so we could enjoyed peace and quiet. The club lounge was fantastic, and we enjoyed breakfast, afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks and canapés whilst being looked after impeccably. All staff members delivered exceptional service and were so eager to please and to give us local knowledge and tourist tips. We ate dinner in Paranga and the staff were friendly and the food delicious. We also enjoyed drinks in Waterbiscuit on a few occasions. We came away from our stay completely relaxed and eager to plan our next trip. Well done Intercontinental Malta your staff are working so hard to make you a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n55ras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in the heart of the nightlife scene then this hotel is the one for you. The location is very central in St Julians, walking distance to the beautiful Spinola Bay - where we ate most nights. The buffet breakfast is something absolutly fantastic.. All in all and fantastic quality hotel, friendly staff and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel and staff very helpful, especially Marisa in the Club Lounge. We had a slight problem when we arrived, and Marisa sorted it out and the weekend was fabulous. We were attending a wedding in Malta and the hotel was a perfect place to stay. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,611 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,385 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing