We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the intercontinental hotel, Malta. The hotel is excellent all the staff are professional, pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. There are a number of restaurants in the hotel which are all very good. There is a rooftop pool and private beach for guests and fresh towels are provided each day at both, so no need to pack them. The area around the hotel is very busy and can be noisy if facing the road but there are some great places to eat nearby which are great value, The Avenue, Cascada and Hard Rock Cafe where our favourites. If you have teens there is a cinema and bowling close by but there are also lots of clubs so not really suitable for them to be out without an adult. Great holiday will go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    1,278
    496
    179
    104
See reviews for
881
1,461
134
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
264 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night after our visit to Gozo and because of our early flight back. We really liked the Intercontinental. The welcome was warm, we received an upgrade to a two-bedroom suite on the 15th floor. There is valet parking for 10 euros which is reasonable and the room and view were perfect. But… St. Julians is quite a shock when coming from the peaceful and relaxing environment of Gozo. The pool is very crowded. Even more crowded is the beach, every square centimeter is covered and the area generally attracts young travelers that want to hang out, drink and enjoy themselves. Nothing wrong with that but not really a family destination. So 5* hotel experience but because of the area only recommended for specific target group.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best thing the Intercontinental Malta has going for it are the people that work there. They were some of the most professional and friendly people in the tourist industry I have ever come across.

The hotel itself was fine but not outstanding. The room we had (superior) was not what I would consider 5 star level although it was a decent room. The bathroom was dated and uninspiring. The shower leaked and the lighting was inadequate.Our bed seemed worn and was not as comfortable as it could have been.

The breakfast buffet met the standard for a good offering. The variety and taste of all items save one were excellent. They have the best eggs to order station I have ever experienced. The scrammbled eggs on the buffet were the only item to pass by. They were horrible.

Would I stay again? Probably not because their prices, in my oppinion, were not competitive.

Honorable mention - Both pools in/on the hotel were very good as well as the private beach area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel with the staff very helpful and friendly. In a lively part of St Julians but no noise heard in the rooms. Beautiful pool on the roof with a bar/restaurant. Own beach area 2/3 mins walk away. Lots to do in surrounding area ~ boat trips/open bus trips round the Island. We had a great time, thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troisdorf, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location - staff loves to serve you as a customers.
Complete hotel area is clean, hotel beach area only a few minutes away.
Restaurant on the 7th floor very good food and perfect service.
Lounge staff on the 15th floor - best staff / best team I ever had seen, InterContinantal Malta congratulation to this team/staff on the 15th floor in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 529Bernd529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My Wife and I stayed for 3 nights with Breakfast cooked fresh and tea or coffee served. Booking a club room or greater allows breakfast to taken on the terrace.
Stayed in an executive room with pool/garden view.
Room clean and tidy. Service excellent all our needs were taken care of.
We dined at the Parana Restaurant which was an excellent choice for us both with views over the bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were three grown-ups in what was defined as a delux room, however the third has a chils's fold-up bed. The hotel is amoung buldings in a crowded area and does not have any luxury. The spa is old, the pool is smaller than it looks, the food is hotel dining room quality. They have a private beach about 200 meters away which is nice. The area is seedy full of gentleman's clubs. Not bad if you expect a city hotel in a suburb. The service is friendly, but then people in Malta are very nice and friendly as a rule.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing