We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service that could not have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic service that could not have been better”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited this hotel with my family for one week and absolutely loved the place. The service could not been better throughout the hotel and Bradley and his management team deserve credit for the fantastic and friendly culture they have created with the staff. Nightlife is on the door step and the hotel also has a number of nice restaurants with great food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabza29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    1,297
    500
    179
    107
See reviews for
884
1,474
136
488
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very good service and stuff. Cleanliness in the rooms is good. Humidity was extremely high, thus the room had already a musty smell. Garden beautifully arranged. Outdoor pool is spacious, only the depth of only 1,20m is not suitable for everybody. The private beach stretch at the sea is more appealing therefore. Meals: breakfast is delicious, however half board -dining buffet requires huge improvements in quality, product range and taste.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saleilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spotted the rooftop terrace of this hotel when looking for a place to lunch with a view, when staying in St. Julian's. I popped into the reception and asked whether we could eat there, or whether you had to be a hotel guest. The staff were really friendly and welcomed us upstairs for our lunch. We both chose burgers - and they were great. The view of the bay was wonderful and the atmosphere up on the terrace was very pleasant. We would look into booking this hotel if we were to stay in the area again, as the taster we had of the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy_J_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Cannot fault our stay here even if I tried very hard to be victor meldrew, friendly efficient staff, lovely hotel, room, excellent daily maid service, breakfast buffet more than you could ask for. We didnt half half board but tried the evening buffet one night for a very very reasonable cost, cheaper than eating out for the same and that too was perfection.

Its very chic but also so family friendly. The only criticism I would have is one if their restaraunts on the beach, the Pangara, we went there one evening and got told you had to have a reservation but no one told us about that and the staff were quite annoyed we didnt have one. We eventually dined there one night but I found the food too small in proportion for the price aNd that was without any side dishes, so if you ordered fish you got just fish and nothing else,, you had to order them extra, (apart from the sweets which were huge in proportion) and I didnt like having to drink wine out of a plastic glass though I know this is a health and safety precaution as it is situated on the sandy beach, but still, ruins the experience and theres not many drunken yobs eating there! and I wouldnt dine there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is located in a great position: in front there is Bay Street shopping center (Hard Rock Cafè, Mc Donalds and many boutique such as Armani, Tommy Hilfiger, Liu Jo, Guess, Escada, Mangano, Swarovski ecc) and a pay parking, and on the right there are stairs to reach Paceville. At only 150 mt there is a small beach.

The hotel is very very beautiful: there are 6 different restaurants (I choose Al Fresco Garden, near the swimming pool and I was very satisfied because the main course concerned grill fish and meat), there are 2 different swimming pools (one is external and the other one internal in the SPA), the room and the bathroom (I booked Deluxe room) are spacious, in the bathroom there are shower and bath tub and samples. I’m Italian and in TV, it’s possible to see many Italian channels. The WIFI connection was very good, you can connect several devices in all the rooms of the hotel without problems.

The external swimming pool is very comfortable, because It’s graduated (from 10 cm to 120cm), and it’s very nice to tan!! ;)

The use of Turkish bath and sauna in the SPA is comprised in the booking, they're small..
Also, the internal swimming pool is small and unfortunately the water is not hot.

I choose bed & breakfast such as reservation and the breakfast held in the Harruba restaurant (from 6.30 to 10.30), above the reception. The breakfast was very very rich, you can eat everything (Continental, English and American breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauretta414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We are just home from spending a week holidaying at this excellent hotel. We arrived quite late and therefore check in was fast and efficient with myuren.We were given the option to upgrade for an added cost which we accepted ( it is worth haggling a little for a reasonable price!!) it was worth every penny as upgrade included a better room with a pool and garden view, in room movies, and use of the magnificent club lounge. We were really pleased with the room. It was bright, spacious, clean, and airy with a big bathroom incl a bath and really good shower! Robes and slippers were provided and air conditioning was excellent. We also had a lovely gesture from the hotel management of a complimentary bottle of prosecco and chocolates being brought to our room as they were aware we were celebrating our anniversary! A lovely touch which we really appreciated!! Our room was cleaned and tidied to perfection each day.
The pool area is lovely and is kept clean and tidy. Loungers and umbrellas are plentiful and towels are provided so no need to pack them. Poolside bar is available to get drinks and snacks....... All excellent quality!
Yes the hotel is beside a busy club and bar scene however this area can be avoided by walking through st George's bay to get to Spinola and batula bay where there are many beautiful restaurants in a more peaceful and relaxing location. No noise can be heard from the hotel at all!!
We ate at the hotels beach restaurant one night which was a beautiful setting accompanied by wonderful food and cocktails! There is an adjoining beach cocktail bar for after dinner drinks. If u check in on Facebook you receive 10% discount.
What really made our holiday was the club lounge. The service was excellent and it was so relaxing and peaceful. Here we had our breakfast on the large terrace each morning, over looking the pool and view of the area. Afternoon tea is served between 3 - 5pm daily. This meant we did not have to go out for lunch as it was adequate for us as a light lunch. A large range of soft and hot drinks were available all day with pre dinner drinks and canapés served between 5:30 and 7:30. Such a wide range of drinks were on offer. Staff were wonderful in the lounge and were very pleasant and helpful. Canapés were slightly different each night and were all very tasty!
Overall we had a fabulous stay at the intercontinental. We have already recommended it to friends and family and will hopefully return again. Thank you to all the staff for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CMCM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

It's our last day here at has been an excellent stay. First impressions upon arrival were above expectations, grand reception and all staff are beyond friendly, courteous and helpful. We arrived around midday and room wasn't available until approx 2.30pm. Our bags were taken by the concierge, placed in safe holding and I left my mobile number so they could call me when our room was ready. Which indeed they did, and on our return our bags were already placed in the room for us. Wedid have the ooption of upgrading our room (another €20 per night) which would have given us a pool view from the balcony and access to their films pacakage. Although as we had little intention of sitting on the balcony this was of no interest to us - and I did ask to see the room and they are exactly the same as the ones on the street side we were staying in anyway. The street side is quite noisy (pubs/clubs etc) although this had no bearing on the quality of the stay as the balcony doors are double glazed and very sound proof. Also the air con in the room is excellent, we had it on its lowest settting and reckon it was maintaining a comfortable 18-22 °C. The air con fan could be a little noisy at night, but you can switch this off and it has little bearing on the room temp as it's well insulated (keeping the heat out) and tiled floors to keep it nice and cool - just leave the air con on all day whilst you're out. The rest of the hotel is of very high standard, two pools, 1 indoor, depth only 3'6" so no diving! But perfect for relaxing in and doing lengths including a steam room and sauna. You get given each a card that can be exchanged for cards at the two pools and the beach club (hotel own private beach, although tiny so need to get down there early and very cramped!) The same with the pool (lido) on the roof, it can get busy so get down there early (opens at 9am). The indoor pool is relatively quiet, average of 4-6 people in there at any one time (and I was using this at least once everyday at various times). Breakfast is excellent wide range of fruit, international dishes plus good old English fry-up. Although get down there early (breakfast served until 10.30am) if you want the best, fresh pick and not the heated remains of the hotplate as it's all buffet /help yourself. All the restaurants within the complex are excellent, first night we eat in the Am fresco garden, excellent cuisine. The Panarga attached to the beach club, a fish restaurant, deserves a Michelin Star! Or if you fancy something lighter the bar next to the pool on the roof does excellent bar food and snacks as well.
A nice central location, 10 mins Taxi from Sliema, the big shopping district. Plus there is a small precinct opposite the hotel with various shops and high street restaurants, McDonald's, Grill and Steak bar, Hard Rock and the like.
Overall an enjoyable stay and if I come back to Malta this hotel will be at the top of the list of places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing