We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Hotel Malta Revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Assen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Hotel Malta Revisited”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

After our fantastic experience with Intercontinental Malta in 2013 we decided in 2014 to again spend a holiday in this hotel.
And this was not disappointing. On the contrary, it was superb. In fact nothing negative. Spacious family room, good service, hygienic and very helpful and pleasant staff. Luckily Robert was there again, as well as James and their colleague Christopher and great receptionists.
We enjoyed the hotel restaurants Paranga, Al Fresco and Waterbiscuit.
Another highlight: we were invited to management drinks (IHG Reception) and had a very nice conversation with Mr. Peter Kriznar, Guest Experience Manager, meanwhile enjoying (molecular) cocktails.
Malta can be proud of such a hotel!
Again: we will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    1,340
    519
    186
    114
See reviews for
922
1,521
140
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our first stay in Malta and we must give the Intercontinental St. Julian's top marks! A very well appointed hotel which was spotless. Every member of staff was polite, helpful and genuinely appeared to be pleased to work there....... UK hotels take note!! Highly recommended for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesmedleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in InterContinental Hotel for two weeks in August 2014. The Hotel is very comfortable and with all facilities that you can desidere: beautiful gym, pools, SPA and great restaurants.
All Staff is really nice, very helpful and quick to respond to customer needs.
Very cleans rooms and great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The best attribute of the hotel is the fitness center. In my opinion one of the best i've seen so far within a hotel in Europe in terms of size and machines.
The beach is at a walking distance but usually crowded.
The rooms are clean and large but they were trying to give us a room for handicapped people with what we thought was a king bed for two (but normally is just for one person). We complained and they gave us another room more comfortable on the 12th floor.
We didn't try breakfast but you can eat it in the courtyard and it look quite decent.
Staff is attentive and ready to help.
In terms of quality:price i would say it is slightly overpricey and they request a large deposit (120 euros + the price of the room beforehand).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is situated in a great location, very close to the beach and surrounded by streets with vibrant night life. The rooms we stayed were large, comfortable and very clean, with nice balconies overlooking the gardens situated at 7th floor. The staff was attentive and friendly, nothing to complain. The breakfast was also very good and diverse, so each member of the family was satisfied. However, a minus for the coffee and the orange juice. The hotel has indoor and outdoor pools, but we opted to go to the hotel's private beach situated some 200m away. Overall, a very good hotel, with many facilities, suitable for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goconst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerock, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

From the minute you step into the foyer of this hotel you will be impressed
We booked room only and upgraded at checkin to deluxe room with access to residents lounge on top floor, it was well worth it , table service breakfast not Buffett, afternoon tea and pre dinner canapés and drinks. The staff on front desk will explain offers available and you can negotiate rate.
Great pool area well above the noise of the busy street below loads of space and good food and service at the pool bar.
Access to private beach is included.
Location is perfect for all bars and restaurants in StJulians and short walk to quieter Spinola bay.
Don't be put off by references to noise and crowds at bars close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and I stayed at InterContinental Malta. Room was clean excellent service all round.

Food pool beach resturants everything was awesome. Staff all friendly and helpful. Reception

concierge always helpful. Aspecial thanks to Concierge Robert whom always greeted us with a smile and always helpful . Thankyou InterContinental staff for making our 17 nights in Malta

a very enjoyable stay From Zammit Family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryrose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,428 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing