We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right in the heart of the of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2009

styaed here for 5 nights on a business trip. hotel is excellent. rooms are big and the bathroom is just amazing.
wished i could have sayed longer.
the nightlife is right outside with shopping mall and bolling alley across the road and the main strip with bars just 50 meters away up a side street.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,586 - 2,592 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2009

The location of this hotel was great. Right in the centre of things with a bus stop just around the corner. The busses were cheap and efficient and the dining options were quite reasonable.
The housekeeping staff however were incompetent. Basic toiletries such as toilet paper or tissues were not replaced. Shampoo was not replaced but rather they stocked our bathroom with 8 bottles of moisturiser but no shampoo or conditioner. Upon checking in the room still had the previous occupants used cigarette butts and thus the lingering smell!
The pool looked great although was too cold when I was there in December.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Never written one of these before not seen the need . Been to Malta several times but never stayed in this hotel. Literally it's got everything going for it less than 2 minutes from the beach and as far as I can see the only beach for miles. There is a cinema complex in the same block as the hotel with a shopping mall just over the road. Plenty of night clubs for those who want them. The hotel staff are very helpful and polite, good food what more do you want, there is even a secluded garden in the centre of the complex which is very peacefull. Would be nice if there was some live music on a night in the hotel but you cannot have everything. As an after thought it is out of season.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Yorkshiretraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We are going to the hotel in January for 3 weeks the 4th year we have been to the Inti
We are treated like royalty the staff are so friendly, food is good and the rooms are clean so what more can you have excellent value for money

Ian and Joan Herrod Notts

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLABNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed for five days in this hotel in Malta to visit friends and to tour around the island.
We really liked the hotel, the staff and the help from them to explore the island. We stayed in the club rooms, breakfast was great, rooms and cleaning very well.
When we visit our friends again we will book again this hotel !!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank schaatsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Me and my girlriend stayed at the Intercontinental back in September last year, and although we loved the island of Malta we were EXTREMLEY dissappointed with the hotel.
Our first negative experience was breakfast time, where found was of a dubious quality but worst of all COLD! Not being a fan of teppid scrambled egg and sausage, we mentioned our concerns to a waiter which was greeted by a shrug!

On the fourth day of our holiday everyone in the hotel recieved a note pushed under our door stating that the hotels pool and pool area would be closed to guests for 2 days with no reason why. Alternatives of the beach and indoor pool were given, however we could of chosen these anyway so no special arrangements had been made! I enquired at reception regarding the closure and was told a company had hired the pool for a 'team building' excercise for 2 days and hence the pool was out of bounds to hotel guests! Is this the way to treat paying guests at supposedly a 5 star hotel??

Regrade this hotel as 3* asap!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank monkeyboy386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

This hotel was absolutley wonderful! A beautiful, cool lobby and reception with friendly, helpful staff. We had a great room, spacious, very clean, with a huge bed and a balcony. Complimentary snacks and water in the room on arrival. The room was comfortable and extremely quiet as it was away from the main street.

As Priority Club guests we had complimentary buffet breakfast in the club lounge, free afternooon snacks, sandwiches and drinks and free alcoholic drinks! Also free internet access and unlimited free tea, coffee and soft drinks!

Fantastic pool area, pool snack bars were also good. Nice views of the bay. The hotel also has its own private area of beach across the road and a short walk away from the hotel, but with such a great pool area it's not really worth the visit. The hotel has a nice snack bar/restaurant area there though for evening meals.

The only down side to the hotel is the area in which it is located. Very shabby 'entertainment' area, which at a weekend particularly is crowded, very noisy (with loud music) and is like that till around 3/4 in the morning. The following morning the streets are covered in litter from food outlets and sticky and grimy with spilt food and drink. No real shops to speak of apart from a few in the 'shopping arcade' opposite the hotel, which were rather expensive.

A few nice restaurants for a quiet, romantic evening meal for two can be found out of the main entertainment area, The entertainment area really is for your hard drinking teenagers and clubbers.

Excellent diving with the Starfish dive centre just a short distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Janester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £89 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing