We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but not fantastic either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not bad but not fantastic either”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

booked club panaromic view room spacious clean well maintained ,use of club room on 15th floor a real bonus without this would be very mediocre for a five star
.Pool towels def need replacing .No evening entertainment .Quite an impersonal hotel .
Now this hotel is set in Paceville .We knew this when we went so should of been prepared it is very busy with nightclubs galore however short stroll to marina and spinolla bay nice bars and restaurants .Could hear nothing from our room at night and it was nice to sit on balcony overlooking garden (13th floor) .Overall nice break but not a dream holiday by any stretch of imagination .but you get what you pay for and rates were considerably lower than hilton and westin .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    1,328
    509
    181
    110
See reviews for
899
1,511
139
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Stayed here for 5 days in mid September. I'm a Platinum member of the IHG Priority Club, so normally get an upgrade whenever I check in. However, wasn't expecting to be upgraded to the Presidential Suite for the first two nights! Superb.
For the other 3 nights we were in a standard room overlooking the courtyard. We paid extra (€50 per day) for access to the Club lounge. This is just about worth it for two people, as you get a buffet breakfast and free drinks in the evening.
The hotel is very good...clean, helpful staff and a great selection of bars and restaurants....and just a short walk to Portomaso for some peace and quiet.
Only problem was the lifts to the 15th floor...they took ages sometimes, most people gave up and took the stairs down.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We reserved the room through Interval International, timeshare exchange. We checked into the InterContinental on Malta and were ready to stay one week. Upon our intitial check in we were told our stay was for tthree nights. I was extremely upset and was told that there was noting that could be done, that we had to talk to the manager in the am. I worried all night long. The next morning I woke up, looked at the key envelope and noticed that we were given the wrong room. We were given a studio, when we actually requested a one bedroom. Our initial impression was that this is a place were young people stay and party. They partied til all hours in the am. We didn't really hear too much unless we were outside. The windows were double so we were protected from much of the noise. We did eventually get our room straighted out the next morning the manager was extremely helpful. The prices are very expensive. We had to take two elevators. One to the 7th floor, then we walked to the next building and took one to the 5th floor.

Once all was straighted out everything turned out great. We enjoyed ourselves a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulefogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larnaca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Not long back after a mini break to malta, our first time, we booked into the malta intercontinental after having enjoyed our stay in other inter hotels throughout Europe, this Hotel gives the intercontinental a very bad name. ie, the room we were allocated was ok until we opened the balcony door to be faced with a shabby block of apartments and dead plants with butts of cigerettes in there pots!! The room ok apart from the stained carpet, bathroom very nice until you lie back in the bath and are faced with all the plumbing hanging down from the sink, we had to ask a maintenance man up as the air con was not working, problem solved on the 2nd day! on going to make a well needed cup of coffee were amazed not to find any complimentary water to go with the kettle,or even fruit on the table, after asking the reception why no water, we were told that we were not entitled to anything complimentary as we were not members of there premier package, in all the 5 star hotels we have stayed in there has always been complimentary water wine and fruit, on asking to be moved we were told yes but would have to pay another 25euros a day!!! The hotel its self is shabby looking, the hariber breakfast room is in need of new furnishings as the exsiting ones are falling apart. The pool on the 10th floor is ok until you notice the broken ladder going into the pool, i reported it and was told they already new about it! was it fixed! NO!! very dangerous.Beach towels grey where should be white and tatty looking. Food and service in there beach club was terrible, we had to send our meal back as the kalamari was unedable, at least they didnt charge us for it. service terrilble in the main lobby bar, we sat for 1/2hr before going ourselves to order a drink from the bar. i could go on!!! this hotel ruined what was supposed to be a nice break, there is no way this hotel should be an inter as its location is dirty and very loud.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenlarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed for one week at the Intercontinental, St Julians. After reading the reviews I tried my utmost to change hotels but could not get the dates. Glad we did not change hotels as we had a fantastic time at this hotel. The staff could not do enough for us. We had an upgrade on our room to a garden view. Lovely room, really spacious, stayed in room 717, 7th Floor. Decor was lovely, bed really comfy, pillows lovely and soft, bathroom nice and big and modern. Lots of nice quality freebie toiletries, topped up daily. Plenty of clean towels, spacious bath and large seperate shower. We were only in our room 10 mins when there was a knock at the door and the waiter had delivered us champagne and chocolates complimentary of the hotel for our wedding anniversary. We stayed on half board basis. Evening meal, buffet style, was based on a different country each night, plenty to choose from and all tasted yummy. I am very fussy about my food and can not fault any of the meals we had. Breakfast buffet style, plenty to choose from and again all yummy. The pool is on the roof, 10th floor, very spacious, plenty of sun beds and brolleys, loads of space up there to find your own quiet corner. The only down side to the hotel is that it is situated up a side street off the promenade, this area is were all the clubs/bars are situated. When you come out of the hotel at night it is very very noisey, all you can hear is boom boom from the bars, you can make your way down to the front to the hotel bar called Paranga, quite pricey but very nice. The hotel also has its own section on the beach. St Julians is more like the Ibizia of Malta. Love Malta, loved the hotel and will go back to Malta again. Last year we stayed in Bugibba. Would not stay in St Julians again, its okay if your 18. Lots & lots of Italian students there as there are quite a few language schools in the area. I read comments stating that the hotel was dirty and staff rude, I can honestly say we did not find this. The hotel was spottless and the staff very friendly. Hope these comments help

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillybLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Intercontinental, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were of a high standard - a definite 4 star rating hotel. There were 2 double beds in our room for 2 persons. We had a bath and separate shower in the bathroom which is a rarerity. And breakfast was also good with a varied choice. You are a stones throw from the main hard core nightlife (and it is for the youngsters) of Paceville but I didn't hear a thing through the night. A recommendation - walk down to the bay (2 mins) and there is a lovely restaurant serving great food and wine, think it was called Pagadona, it's right over the water of the bay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This was our first time at the Intercontinental, although we've been to Malta previously. The main reason we chose this hotel over the Hilton and Le Meridien was the discounts offered compared to the others.
We stayed for seven nights in a Terrace Suite (Rm 1301) during the last week of Aug.
The hotel itself is very clean and modern all the staff we encountered were very friendly and polite - as you would expect at this type of hotel.

The room we stayed in was large with a lounge area, main bedroom, a large bathroom off the main bedroom and a smaller bathroom off the lounge area. We stayed with two small children and yet there was still plenty of space even with an extra bed in the lounge area and a cot for our youngest in the main bedroom. The room also had a large terrace with two wooden sunloungers, unmbrella, a table with four chairs, overlooking the main pool area.
Only small complaint related to the room is that we had to ask for all our bedding to be changed as it still hadn't been replaced after the third night....I would have expected it to be swapped at least every other night.

This catergory of room allowed access to the exec lounge located on the 15th floor, it serves a fairly typical hotel breakfast - fruits, breads, danish, bacon, eggs, etc....along with juices and a coffee machine and all served until 1100.
Non alcoholic drinks are available all day, pre-dinner drinks are served I believe from 1830 onwards and the lounge closes at around 2200.
The lounge also serves "afternoon tea" which consisted of 3 of the smallest sandwiches I've ever seen but compensated by some good cakes.

We ate a couple of times in the hotel at the buffett restuarant, good selection of hot and cold dishes, all the food was very fresh and varied, a little expensive - approx 33euros per head but kids eat free with an adult, the one thing that did annoy me more than any other was the price they charged for water - 5.75E's per bottle and its not even a 1 litre bottle !!!

The hotel is right in the "town" - however its more like a nightclub district - there is a small mall almost opposite the hotel with a variety of reasonable shops, but the area caters mainly for clubbers and party goers so beware if you're looking for culture on your doorstep or quiet romantic restuarants.
We did go to the beach club, which is a small section of beach allocated to the hotel a short walk away. This area is very cramped with the sun loungers packed tightly together, the beach itself didn't look like it had been cleaned for a while and the water wasn't exactly crystal blue....

The hotel does have one of the largest gyms I've ever since with almost every type of kit known to man...if you go make sure you try the mechanical climbing wall - basically a vertical conveyor belt that rotates and tilts at varying degrees and speeds.

Other half says the beauty treatments were very good but again as I saw on the final bill these were expensive...

Overall I'd recommend the hotel, lounge access saves buying over priced drinks during the day and offers peace and quiet (apart from our kids) & considering how late we travelled we had fantastic weather - it was around 90 every day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyHitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,613 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,389 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing