We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, fab xxx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this place, fab xxx”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the second time and had an amazing time. I have two young children (aged 3 & 5 at the time) and at no pont during the stay was the location of the hotel an issue. The food, service, staff, pool, etc, was fab and we had an exceptional time. We holidayed elsewjhere in 2009 and can honestly say that it came no where near to the holiday we had in Malta. We are looking to go again this year. The hotel, staff and sevice were first class x

Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hendy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,803
    1,339
    517
    184
    113
See reviews for
917
1,520
140
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
meath
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

If you decide to stay here i would recommend you upgrade to the club level rooms. You get plenty of extras, free drinks all day,alcohol for an hour in the eve, private lounge, relaxing surrounding, great views, snacks, wifi/internet sometimes a little extra something. The rooms were really nice with a lovely big shower and seperate bath tub, i could fit into it fine and im 6ft. Free internet in your room too. Cleaned every day by very friendly staff. Onsite restaurants where fine, would only really recommend the chinese one to be honest, very resonable too, thought it would pricey because the hotel is fairly plush. The pool was ok but way to over crowded for my liking. People who didnt even stay in the hotel where splashing away, i know this because id met these people out in the bars around the area and was surprised to get a drink sent to me while i was relaxin on my sunbed, fair play to ya johnny :-) All in all id advise people to stay here if they get a chance, had a great time! Its located right beside all the action, have heard people moan about noise at night but as i said at the start GET a club room, its the on the top floors, i had perfect nights sleep. When you do leave the hotel head to sliema bay, great rsteraunts and and great bars, especially the dubliner, never met nicer people in my life!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The hotel was lovely - the apartment was spacious and the staff was very knowledgeable and welcoming. If you are looking for a central place to stay where you can enjoy the beauty of this island - this is the hotel. The view from the balconey was not the best - but the location made up for it. I did not spend my time in the room. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to enjoy Malta.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Together with our 7 month old baby daughter we had an excellent stay. Since we were traveling with an infant we decided to upgrade to a comfortable club room at the 14th floor overlooking the garden, the pool and the bay. We appreciated the laid back atmosphere of the club lounge with perfect service, very nice breakfast, high tea and pre-dinner drinks.

The entire staff was very friendly and attentive; the room was very well maintained. Our baby felt at home from day one, maybe because she was pampered by every and all.

For traveling with an infant from Belgium, we feel Malta to be a perfect location in November. The traveling distance is relatively limited, and the temperatures are comfortable.

We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maja2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Stayed here last week. Had an excellent stay. Rooms (stayed on 14th floor) were very spacious (both bathroom and bedroom). View from balcony on the garden and swimmingpool. Perfect service in Club Lounge. Breakfast, high tea and pre dinner drinks all very well arranged. Did not have dinner in the hotel - found a very nice small pub nearby (think it was called Andrews Pub - outside the hotel to the right, along the small beach). Although hotel is located near the hotspot for youngsters - did not hear any noise from outside in the room. Was here for leisure (stayed 8 nights). Weather was still very good (only had a few days with clouds - average temp was around 24 Celcius). Staff at swimmingpool very attentive and helpful. Will certainly stay here again next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We travelled to Malta for a restful break.
The Intercontinental is a nice hotel - very large. I was so pleased we had rooms overlooking the gardens as those overlooking the road would most certainly be disturbed by the loud bars of Paceville. I would say that this hotel is a good 4 star - service is too hit and miss to be a true 5 star.
We had rooms 919 and 917 which both had two double beds. Bathrooms were lovely. Clean and comfortable with air condidtioning, bathrobes and slippers.
We were on 'room only'. Breakfast was charged at 23 Euros which we thought was horrendous. Loads of bars outside serve breakfast much cheaper.
Pool on the top of the hotel is nice but the towels are awful and the service at the pool bar left much to be desired!
Eastern Breeze restaurant in the hotel is excellent but do try the restaurants in Spinola Bay - about 10 mins walk away. Also Portomaso is just fab - great restaurants and lovely surroundings.
If you're going out and about use the buses. So cheap and very reliable.
Malta is a lovely island. Would happily go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Positives:
- Hotel was clean.
- Breakfast was good, good selection of food (breakfast was between 06:30 - 10:30).
.- Outdoor/indoor swimming pools were lovely and clean.
- Top-notch gym (best I've come across).
- Super fast lifts
- House keeping staff did a good job, rooms were cleaned thoroughly.
- All staff were very friendly, helpful and had very good English.
- Hotel is very close to local amenities (shops, supermarket, bars restuarants, cash points,
buses etc).
- Buses are cheap and safe. 47 cents per trip to go to Sliema/ Valletta.

Negatives:
- There is building work on one side of the hotel. So try to get garden view room.
Our first room was opposite the language school, and building works/noise. I complained
to the guest relations officer and she upgraded us to garden view room (free). Upgrade is
10 euros per night.
- Please note there are lots of building works around St Julians, Sliema and Valletta area.
- Room did smell a bit of mildew.
- Did notice there were a lot rubbish around.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaSquizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing