We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service and value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
NOTTS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent service and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

we have been treated like loyalty by the staff under guidance of the G/MANAGER
We ate in the restrauant for 19 nights out of the 21 nothing was to much trouble we keep going back each year and hopefully we will be back next year
The hotel is postioned not far from all the night clubs and is easy to catch the bus to Valatte or Slimea for 49cents each way
Try it and see

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLABNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    1,262
    489
    173
    103
See reviews for
870
1,450
132
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marsa Alam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed at the Intercontinental Malta on a leisure trip for one week.
We booked the Club Floors and this was superbe, with an amazing view over St George's bay and a great team taking care of your daily needs.
The staff is providing a genuine hospitality , is friendly and professional. They really make your stay comfortable and help you feel at home away from home,
We tried all the restaurants and each of them was providing a unique and authentic atmosphere.
We will come back and can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

I was pleasantly surprised to find out how big the rooms in this hotel were and the balcony offered almost another room with a nice view over the pool area. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool offering breath taking views. Its own beach was quite a hidden gem and it was a pleasure to enjoy the early Maltese sunshine away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

A great hotel, room lovely, no noise, very central, staff helpful and friendly - every day we told them where we wanted to go and they told us where to get the bus and what number to get. Breakfast was one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever had, they had everything. We did not eat there on a lunch or evening as it is so close to the bars and restaurants we went out every night although it does have about 7 restaurants if you wanted to stay in. I would definitely recommend people to stay here and I will stay here if I every visit Malta again, it was hard to pick fault with anything.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe_holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

The Intercontinental Hotel is a classy hotel located in the lively area of St. Julian's in Malta. The hotel itself caters very much to business travelers, as well as vacationers.

Though my company had booked the hotel for me, anyone I'd spoken to about Malta had made it clear that the best part of their trip to the island was the Intercontinental Hotel. It is indeed an exceptional hotel and I would highly recommend it to others traveling to Malta for reasons including, but not limited to:

Quality for value
Courteous Staff
Pleasant atmosphere
Convenient location
Full amenities (internet available, but not for free)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Electricious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Visited off-season in January. Hotel location is decent, close to the water. Room on 12th floor (King panoramic) was very spacious with the balcony overlooking the courtyard and rooftop pool. The room is overall very nice and clean, no complaints except that the carpet is definitely showing signs of age and need of replacing.

As others have mentioned, right around the corner is the alleyway full of bars and 'gentlemens' clubs, all with blaring music and swarming with 20-somethings. Luckily, the hotel room was probably situated far enough from that as I didn't hear anything even with the balcony door open.

The connected gym (Cynergi) is a joke - blaring music, dark, musty smell, etc. Not my kind of gym at all - reminds me too much of college gyms. Definitely don't expect a "hotel" type gym experience here. I packed gym clothes but skipped the workout as it was a complete turn-off.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbninva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at the hotel in peak summer time. The hotel was clearly busy but never crowded. Never a problem for a sun bed. The hotel caters for all from young to old. We couldn't have picked a better room. The Club level was a god sent for an escape out of the sun during the day for a "free" drink and a cool down in the air conditioned lounge. Also great for Wifi, and coupled with the hour or so of free alcohol on a night time, you couldn't ask for more.... so much so that I have just booked to go back this summer. The area has an abundance of decent restaurants and bars, and even a McDonalds within a stones throw. The Hard Rock Cafe is also just a short walk away, we ate in there a few times and were not at all disappointed. Great hotel in fantastic location. Not a stuffy five star hotel, but a top end real holiday hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChipoSticko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing