We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but desperately in need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good location but desperately in need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We were supposed to stay here for 1 week, but when we arrived the receptionist told us the hotel had been overbooked and we were transfered to the Corinthia San Gorg for 3 nights. As a compensation we received a room on the Club floor and Club lounge access when we came back to the Intercontinental. Unfortunately, the room smelled extremely musty when we entered and we needed to open the windows as much as possible to avoid the smell. I visited this hotel about 6 years ago and I must honestly say that in 6 years, this hotel has changed a lot in both looks and service. The rooms and corridors look old and worn out. They weren't even clean, with stains on the carpet and a not-so-clean bathroom. Even the breakfast was of lower quality than you would expect of an Intercontinental Hotel. The plus was, that even though we weren't satisfied with the hotel, we attended a beautiful wedding of our Maltese/Australian friends and as the hotel is situated centrally on the island, we had a great time and hope to visit Malta again soon, but than in a hotel of the Corinthia chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koh_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,803
    1,339
    517
    184
    113
See reviews for
917
1,520
140
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

A fabulous hotel nestled within the hustle a bustle of St Julians but is peaceful and tranquel inside. We are couple in our 30s staying HB.
We were moved to the Intercontinental as our intended hotel was overbooked, clearly I was furious about this, until our taxi pulled up outside the Intercontinental. From that moment we felt nothing but gratitude for the dump we were supposed to be staying for sending us there.
The reception were very friendly, and the main foyer into the hotel makes an instant impact in style and class. Our room was very well laid out with all things you would expect from a decent hotel.
The hotel is bang in the middle of the main action but although our room was only 20m from the main bar street and overlooking a bar we did not hear a thing at night thanks to the two layers of double glazed doors.
We used the main restaurant 5 nights out 7, it had a good range of food in the evenings but as others have mentioned on this site already, breakfast is amazing! They do everything you could think of, the english breakfast is well worth a try.
The leisure facilities were more than ample. The roof pool did get busy but we never had an issue getting a bed and the only time I saw some youths starting to get annoying the staff were straight on them to kurb their enthusiasm. The pool is only a paddling pool and no good for serious swimming however the large leisure club downstairs has a indoor pool which is much better if you want to crank out the lengths.
I used the gym facilities 3 times during the week and as a regular gym user I found the equipment to be very good and the classes well taken.
All in all we had a fantastic time a the Intercontinental and will be looking to go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmartin816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed for a week at the hotel. Perfect location by the shopping centre, St Julian's nightclubs and a few minutes down to the beach. Small IHG private beach, not bad. The hotel is big, many restaurants- different food to taste. We had a quiet room not facing the street. We used the outside swimming pool, great, clean. The breakfast is not excellent, like full English breakfast, but worst quality than in England. I was looking more for some maltese's speciality. The maid was excellent, room always clean.
One thing, it's not plazma TV, and the pay movies are not working, waste of money.
Generally nice hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asia5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I have a lot to say but i will say only that i been in intercontinental hotel in praque, amsderdam and cyprus also in many other 5star hotels at many countrys and for sure maltas intercontinental is not even close to 5star hotel. Generally the room very poor, cleaning below average. For anybody wants details dont hesitate to contact me at www.sstavros2@hotmail.com

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I have just returned from a week's stay with my wife and daughter.

The hotel itself was the major factor in being able to come back and say what an excvellent break we had. The service of all staff from manager to cleaner was excellent and the food, particularly the breakfast buffet and the Eastern Breeze restaurant was outstanding.

For the excellence of the hotel's facilities we were also pleasantly surprised at the Value for Money that prices for food, drinks etc offered.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Have to say i was a bit aprehensive having read mixed reveiws but this was just a top hotel. Im an expereinced traveller and this was probably pund for piund the best hotel ive stayed in. The rooms were spacious with very comfrtable beds and large bathroms all cleaned spotless on a daily basis.

The location of the hotel is right beside the shopping mall, nightlife, restaurants yet you cant hear a thing when in the hotel which makes it just perfect. The pool is quite shallow but very large with a fab bar and all the facilities available when there.

The staff were all very helpful and couldnt do enough to help. The breakfast was simply awesome with a selection which made me feel very guilty. Basically everything under the sun and more, fills you up for the day.

Basically the hotal was top otch on every level apart from the smell of muld in all 3 rooms we tried. I have asthma and thought i might struggle with this as damp normally makes breathing difficult for me. As it turn out i was fine but there is a smell of damp in some of the rooms whch is really quite bad. If yu are an asthmatic then seriously think about staying here. The staff were very helpfull on this front and offered to kve us to a rom which we were happy with. After trying 3 rooms which all smelled strongly of damp we went back to our original room which was the best of the 3.

Apart from damp, a top hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hotel itself was great but the location is in the middle of hustle and bustle of night lifes with young people (Cinema,shopping mall and bars just outside..). The hotel has no parking space and is located at the very narrow road. You will have to pay for the parking(max 9euro a day) or have to find the available spot on the street.
Once inside the hotel you'd feel quite pampered.
Gym,swimming pool, breakfast.....they are all good apart from getting fed up with the repetition of the breakfast everyday.
The staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoon316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing