We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive service with family friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We were on the executive floor and the whole package from rooms to lounges to in house restaurants were all very very good. Only complain will be the service at the pool area, they can do with some good training for the pool staff, also beer should only be served cold!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasPer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,455 - 2,461 of 4,141 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

A good located hotel in Saint Julien, close to restaurants, pubs and stores. Rooms are nice, comfortable, with a nice balcony. Swimming pool seems nice (not used as it was cold weather). The terrase invite u to stay there. Food was good, not the best. Only for 1 euro you can take the bus go to Valleta and explore this stunning marvel in the Mediterranean Sea.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed here with my husband and 12 year old son. I didn't expect to be in the heart of 'clubland'- the posistion is unfortunate but quite likely the area has developed around the hotel. On arrival, check in queues were lengthy and inefficient, not enough staff on duty - in fact, it remained busy and chaotic on a daily basis.There was no parking for our hire car unless we were prepared to pay 9 euros per day to use a carpark 100 metres up the road- pricey for a week or trawl the streets looking for a painted 'white box' - scarce as hens teeth! Our room was clean and generally well maintained - the lights on our balcony didn't work. Our room overlooked the garden - not that you could tell, as a large tree blocked both the view and all natural light.There was 'entertainment' outside our window until 11pm nightly, this was only a problem on the first night as we had been up for a very long time and needed sleep! We were woken up the first morning at 5.45am by very loud pounding club music - I had to call reception for help locating it. Although we were told it was another guest, we believe it was coming from the aerobics studio as music and voices came down through the vents into the bathroom constantly! Plus side, it didn't happen so loudly again! We were also constantly disturbed by clubbers coming and going until 4am. Rooms were not made uptil the afternoon and toiletries and tea bags etc were slow to be replaced. My husband's dressing gown was taken away with towels and never replaced - a requirement when sharing with a 12 year old!! The staff were helpful and friendly. The pool area was clean and although very busy, there were plenty of towels, loungers and staff to serve drinks. The 'private' beach was open to anyone for 10 euros per day (free to guests) so not exclusive. My rockclimbing son was looking forward to using the climbing wall in the gym but it was out of order all week and had been for some time apparantly. We did not use the restaurants mainly because there were few dishes my son would eat and it was not obvious if there was an alternative (childrens) menu or child pricing. Prices were fairly normal for hotel restaurants. There are several restaurants across the road including a Macdonalds and Hard Rock Cafe - all with free WiFi, which the hotel does not have. We are priority club members with this hotel chain but our turn down service didn't start til day 6 of a 7 night stay and we never had our daily newspaper - small things! I know I've been 'picky' in this review but I have been honest. Overall, the hotel is nice, clean with pleasant, helpful staff, however, they do not perform well under the pressure of peak holiday season - Go out of season and it would probably be a totally different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellieboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We have just come back from the Intercontinental in Malta , we found the hotel to be spacious, clean and very welcoming, we stayed on the 12th floor, view wasn't much cop but to be fair we were never in the room that much to go on the balacony. Breakfast had a wonderful choice to cater for every ones needs and was spaced over a 3 hour period which suited us. Would definately recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen221071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at InterContinental Malta. Nice, large and clean rooms. Luxurious bathroom. Nice view to the pool area (we stayed in 12th floor). Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast! Nice pool and close to the little private beach with free sunbeds and umbrellas. We also used the gym which was very well equipped with a big variety of machines.
The only negative we can say was that we felt a tiny peculiar damp smell in our room. When we told the cleaning lady she used refreshments that made it better, but it didn't quite go away. The hotel didn't have free wireless internet, but many bars/restaurants nearby had free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stayed in Intercontinental for 5 days in mid September. This was a very pleasurable experience and lived up to all our expectations. The staff were friendly efficient and courteous. From the first moment we were made to feel very welcome. The room on the 11th floor overlooking the garden was spacious clean and very comfortable. It had all the facilities you would expect. Cleaning service was prompt every morning and the room was left spotless. Breakfast in the spacious dinning area was very good with an excellent selection of food, again with friendly and efficient staff. The pool was a very pleasant, quiet relaxing oasis after a day out sightseeing or at the beach. The main entrance and the decor in the hallways gave a feel of class.
Overall a very good hotel worthy of its rating

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We booked our vacation on July (flight and hotel) for Sep. 20th. We arrived to the hotel at 10 am and were told our room will be ready by 3 pm. We set at the lobby from 12 . After a while Jennifer head of public relations who was very nice, told us that the hotel is over booked and we'll be transfered to the Radissonwhich is away farther from the center for first 3 nights and when we'll come back we'll be upgraded to half board.. There was no way of changing it. At the Radisson our room was ready upon arrival which helped us after beeing awake 28 hours. The day we were suppose to return to the Inter we were on a tour, upon our request they picked our belongings and put them in our new room. They upgraded us to a mini suit on the 15th executive floor where we were welcomed to the executive lounge. The food at breakfast and dinner was good with a variety of choices. After all we had a great time at the Inter. Thanks to Jennifer and Ann (who is going back to Germany) that were very helpfull and concerning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minamanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,038 reviews
2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £56 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing