We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff - by Lenkas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafael Spinola Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Saint Julian's B&B and Inns
Majetín, Olomoucky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff - by Lenkas”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned every day and you get two clean towels every day. The hotel is located in the real centre of life in Malta with a lot of supermarkets and souvenir shops around. It is easy to get to Valletta by bus, it is even easier than from Sliema (some buses do not stop in Sliema at all because they are full but they usually stop in St Julians). If you like sunbathing the hotel top with the swimming pool is an ideal place with a wonderful view of the area.
What we didn´t like: We had problems with water pressure and quality in the shower. The lift is quite noisy (it may be a problem early in the morning).

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, they are quieter (as far from the lift as possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
5
11
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is located in an excellent place close to the tourist centre of St Julians. The street where it is found is quiet so your sleep is not disturbed. The rooms are comfortable and the staff helpful. The decor of the dining room is slightly old but otherwise the food is good. The pool area provides a nice view over the bay. The area near the pool has deck chairs which is great for sunbathing although one can walk down to the nearby sandy beach of St George's.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor. I do not know much about the other rooms but the room where i stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but wouldn't stay here again. The pool that looked amazing in the brochure was small and full of sand, beds+pillows very uncomfortable and the room smelled of cigarettes. But the location was very good! Not worth the money we paid for this.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miohtama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brighton. England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Pretty shabby is the best way to sum this place up!

Room was tired and bathroom mouldy and in need of a total refit. Taps leaked and shower was non existant.. No double beds and just singles pushed together. The hotel website is a travesty of honesty. I am not sure where thy took the photographs. The Breakfast room has plaster & damp bulging the walls on the East side and the 'bar' is actually a fridge in the corner with no staff to help you.

Somebody earlier mentioned that they wash up at a sink in reception...They still do. The place is a shambles.

The place is actually a hostel for east european students who are studying English. No facilities in the Hotel (Hostel) for you if you wish to stay inside for a while. An enormous building site just outside with the workers onsite at 6.45am each day. Much noise.

Use at your peril

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mattandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

What Great Staff
1 have just come back from a great stay at the rafael spinola
rooms were clean,beds comfy,and the hotel is central for all parts of st julians,the bus stop is 2 mins away and for 0.47 euro`s you can get to valletta,and then on to all parts of the island,particular praise must go th the staff who make you feel welcome,sonia on reception allways had a cheery hello,and was able to answer most problems,any she did not know she found out for you next day,well done everybody

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller1959_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

This must have been one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in my entire life. I was in this hotel for six weeks as a part of an educationary programme, but these six weeks must have been the longest I've experienced. The entire hotel is dirty, and the staff actually does their dishes in the reception area cleaning them by hand, completely unacceptable by standards where they would was them sanitarily in a dishwasher. The hotel also receives a lot of noise, and you can pretty much hear anything going on in the hotel wherever you are in the building. At night the doors to the hotel close, and whenever someone rings the bell, the sound of the bell wakes you up at three in the morning, followed by the noise the staff makes with their keys.

The food is also terrible, and there was no variations at all. The hotel is slowly falling apart, and the floor tiles were cracked to, making it a very hazardous environment for people with limited vision, such as me.

Overall this is a terrible hotel, it is dirty, and I even got sick a couple of times because of the unsanitary conditions.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Very dirty, and terrible condition
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank otsegoim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2006

Thanks so much for a wonderful holiday. You all did so much to make us feel right at home. Hope to see you next year.
Ted and Esther Landymore from Suffolk

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafael Spinola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafael Spinola Hotel

Property: Rafael Spinola Hotel
Address: Upper Ross Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 10 , Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rafael Spinola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafael Spinola Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing