We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rafael Spinola Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Saint Julian's B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Just back from this place and I concur totally with what is written below. the hotel is tiny and situated in a rather dim street, off the main thoroughfare.

Inside the restaurant was a joke and the bar nonexistent. The breakfast was so bad we choose to eat elsewhere. The lift is tiny also and not for the faint hearted.

Staff were obnoxious at best and downright threatening at worst - our air conditioning was broken, as was the shower, and they simply refused to fix either. Beware of the night receptionist who will curse at you if you wake him!

Finally ive never stayed in anywhere quite like this, here in Northern Ireland this would be a guesthouse at best - not a 3* hotel.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tullynagardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2005

My wife and I spent a week of our honeymoon at the Rafael Spinola Hotel. We were very disapointed with both the hotel and the service. The hotel is located just outside the heart of Paceville in St.Juliens, but on a quieter street than most of the other hotels. The area is very dirty though, and you are surrounded by english language students who drink every night.

The room itself is functional at best. The matress of the bed must have been at least 10 years old as everytime you moved, the springs would pop. The sheets are not changed (although standard in most europe low market hotels). However, the pillows are a joke, are very very thin and you only get 2 per room. As a result we had to use coats as extra pillows. Its also recommended to bring your own towls as on more than one occassions we they changed our towls and did not replace them. When asked, we were told the hotel was full so there was not enough towls avaliable for all the guests. The toilet/shower is very small, and you feel clostrophobic sitting on the toilet. There is no view from the rooms except of the paceville carpark, which can get very noisy on Friday/Sat night from 10pm until 5am. The only redeming feature of the room is that there is air conditioning (although very lould and not very powerful).

The 'swimming pool' seen in the brochure photos is deceiving, as the pool is very small and cannot really be swam in, but is ok for cooling down in. There is a beach about 15 mintues walk from the hotel, but is very small and crowded.

The free breakfast that is advertised is also a joke, and consists of stale bread, processed cheese and ham, instant coffee and the fruit is a lemon slice (unless you get up very early in which you are rewarded with an orange), and the orange juice is dilluting juice.

We found the staff to be very irritated when asking simple questions (about Buses), and the cleaning staff ignored the 'Do not disturb' sign on two occasions. We found 2 cockroaches in our room on our final day.

Also beware that when you phone long distance with a phone card, you are charged 1Lire for the call by the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank kysersoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
112
Reviewed 2 February 2005

I have just come back from a 7 night stay at the Rafael Spinola. What a pleasant experience, we were on half board and ate every night in the cost restaurant upstairs, the food was lovely and the staff went out of their way on every occassion to help us. Our bedroom and clean and comfortable and the value for money couldnt have been better. This hotel comes highly recommended for a cosy, special hotel.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Meghina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Begär rum på andra,tredje våningen OCH Inte de som slutar på 01 eller 02.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
407 reviews
0 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
186 reviews
0 mi away
Green Grove Guest House
Green Grove Guest House
#3 of 16 in Saint Julian's
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
0 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
242 reviews
0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafael Spinola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafael Spinola Hotel

Address: Upper Ross Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 10, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £23 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rafael Spinola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafael Spinola Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing