We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafael Spinola Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Saint Julian's B&B and Inns
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2007

This must have been one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in my entire life. I was in this hotel for six weeks as a part of an educationary programme, but these six weeks must have been the longest I've experienced. The entire hotel is dirty, and the staff actually does their dishes in the reception area cleaning them by hand, completely unacceptable by standards where they would was them sanitarily in a dishwasher. The hotel also receives a lot of noise, and you can pretty much hear anything going on in the hotel wherever you are in the building. At night the doors to the hotel close, and whenever someone rings the bell, the sound of the bell wakes you up at three in the morning, followed by the noise the staff makes with their keys.

The food is also terrible, and there was no variations at all. The hotel is slowly falling apart, and the floor tiles were cracked to, making it a very hazardous environment for people with limited vision, such as me.

Overall this is a terrible hotel, it is dirty, and I even got sick a couple of times because of the unsanitary conditions.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Very dirty, and terrible condition
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank otsegoim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
5
11
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2006

Thanks so much for a wonderful holiday. You all did so much to make us feel right at home. Hope to see you next year.
Ted and Esther Landymore from Suffolk

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2005

Where do I start? We wanted a "boutique" style near the nightlife, but not too close. The Rafael Spinola seemed to fit the requirements.

On arrival we found the location ok and, although the hotel and room where small, we were happy.

Unfortunately it was downhill from there. The room was dirty. Dust and dirt filling all sorts of gaps, the floor had old hair and rubbish on it. The bathroom floor and bath had old hair on it. The toilet seat was also dirty. Over the next 7 days...

No soap provided.
Sink not cleaned.
Toilet seat not cleaned.
Dust and dirt remained.

Finally we found a cockroach in bathroom (and captured it ourselves under a cup we had bought). We ask the staff to remove it, but 12 hours later it was still there. Complaining to reception, the receptionist asked if we could kill it ourselves! She eventually removed it.

2 nights later we came back late (around 2 am) to find perhaps 6 or so cockroaches "scatter" when we turned the lights on. Suffice to say we did not sleep that night! The staff/manager the next morning did not care at all and refused to even acknowledge a problem. We listed our (many) complaints then we moved to another room to calm down and shower.

We checked out and moved to another hotel, passing a pest control man on the way out.

This hotel is not suitable for tourist use. The staff are incapable of running it properly.

Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jimthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Just back from this place and I concur totally with what is written below. the hotel is tiny and situated in a rather dim street, off the main thoroughfare.

Inside the restaurant was a joke and the bar nonexistent. The breakfast was so bad we choose to eat elsewhere. The lift is tiny also and not for the faint hearted.

Staff were obnoxious at best and downright threatening at worst - our air conditioning was broken, as was the shower, and they simply refused to fix either. Beware of the night receptionist who will curse at you if you wake him!

Finally ive never stayed in anywhere quite like this, here in Northern Ireland this would be a guesthouse at best - not a 3* hotel.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tullynagardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2005

My wife and I spent a week of our honeymoon at the Rafael Spinola Hotel. We were very disapointed with both the hotel and the service. The hotel is located just outside the heart of Paceville in St.Juliens, but on a quieter street than most of the other hotels. The area is very dirty though, and you are surrounded by english language students who drink every night.

The room itself is functional at best. The matress of the bed must have been at least 10 years old as everytime you moved, the springs would pop. The sheets are not changed (although standard in most europe low market hotels). However, the pillows are a joke, are very very thin and you only get 2 per room. As a result we had to use coats as extra pillows. Its also recommended to bring your own towls as on more than one occassions we they changed our towls and did not replace them. When asked, we were told the hotel was full so there was not enough towls avaliable for all the guests. The toilet/shower is very small, and you feel clostrophobic sitting on the toilet. There is no view from the rooms except of the paceville carpark, which can get very noisy on Friday/Sat night from 10pm until 5am. The only redeming feature of the room is that there is air conditioning (although very lould and not very powerful).

The 'swimming pool' seen in the brochure photos is deceiving, as the pool is very small and cannot really be swam in, but is ok for cooling down in. There is a beach about 15 mintues walk from the hotel, but is very small and crowded.

The free breakfast that is advertised is also a joke, and consists of stale bread, processed cheese and ham, instant coffee and the fruit is a lemon slice (unless you get up very early in which you are rewarded with an orange), and the orange juice is dilluting juice.

We found the staff to be very irritated when asking simple questions (about Buses), and the cleaning staff ignored the 'Do not disturb' sign on two occasions. We found 2 cockroaches in our room on our final day.

Also beware that when you phone long distance with a phone card, you are charged 1Lire for the call by the hotel as well.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank kysersoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 February 2005

I have just come back from a 7 night stay at the Rafael Spinola. What a pleasant experience, we were on half board and ate every night in the cost restaurant upstairs, the food was lovely and the staff went out of their way on every occassion to help us. Our bedroom and clean and comfortable and the value for money couldnt have been better. This hotel comes highly recommended for a cosy, special hotel.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafael Spinola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafael Spinola Hotel

Property: Rafael Spinola Hotel
Address: Upper Ross Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 10, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rafael Spinola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafael Spinola Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing