We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, shabby hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafael Spinola Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Saint Julian's B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but wouldn't stay here again. The pool that looked amazing in the brochure was small and full of sand, beds+pillows very uncomfortable and the room smelled of cigarettes. But the location was very good! Not worth the money we paid for this.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miohtama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2008

Pretty shabby is the best way to sum this place up!

Room was tired and bathroom mouldy and in need of a total refit. Taps leaked and shower was non existant.. No double beds and just singles pushed together. The hotel website is a travesty of honesty. I am not sure where thy took the photographs. The Breakfast room has plaster & damp bulging the walls on the East side and the 'bar' is actually a fridge in the corner with no staff to help you.

Somebody earlier mentioned that they wash up at a sink in reception...They still do. The place is a shambles.

The place is actually a hostel for east european students who are studying English. No facilities in the Hotel (Hostel) for you if you wish to stay inside for a while. An enormous building site just outside with the workers onsite at 6.45am each day. Much noise.

Use at your peril

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mattandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

What Great Staff
1 have just come back from a great stay at the rafael spinola
rooms were clean,beds comfy,and the hotel is central for all parts of st julians,the bus stop is 2 mins away and for 0.47 euro`s you can get to valletta,and then on to all parts of the island,particular praise must go th the staff who make you feel welcome,sonia on reception allways had a cheery hello,and was able to answer most problems,any she did not know she found out for you next day,well done everybody

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller1959_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

This must have been one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in my entire life. I was in this hotel for six weeks as a part of an educationary programme, but these six weeks must have been the longest I've experienced. The entire hotel is dirty, and the staff actually does their dishes in the reception area cleaning them by hand, completely unacceptable by standards where they would was them sanitarily in a dishwasher. The hotel also receives a lot of noise, and you can pretty much hear anything going on in the hotel wherever you are in the building. At night the doors to the hotel close, and whenever someone rings the bell, the sound of the bell wakes you up at three in the morning, followed by the noise the staff makes with their keys.

The food is also terrible, and there was no variations at all. The hotel is slowly falling apart, and the floor tiles were cracked to, making it a very hazardous environment for people with limited vision, such as me.

Overall this is a terrible hotel, it is dirty, and I even got sick a couple of times because of the unsanitary conditions.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank otsegoim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

Thanks so much for a wonderful holiday. You all did so much to make us feel right at home. Hope to see you next year.
Ted and Esther Landymore from Suffolk

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaltaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2005

Where do I start? We wanted a "boutique" style near the nightlife, but not too close. The Rafael Spinola seemed to fit the requirements.

On arrival we found the location ok and, although the hotel and room where small, we were happy.

Unfortunately it was downhill from there. The room was dirty. Dust and dirt filling all sorts of gaps, the floor had old hair and rubbish on it. The bathroom floor and bath had old hair on it. The toilet seat was also dirty. Over the next 7 days...

No soap provided.
Sink not cleaned.
Toilet seat not cleaned.
Dust and dirt remained.

Finally we found a cockroach in bathroom (and captured it ourselves under a cup we had bought). We ask the staff to remove it, but 12 hours later it was still there. Complaining to reception, the receptionist asked if we could kill it ourselves! She eventually removed it.

2 nights later we came back late (around 2 am) to find perhaps 6 or so cockroaches "scatter" when we turned the lights on. Suffice to say we did not sleep that night! The staff/manager the next morning did not care at all and refused to even acknowledge a problem. We listed our (many) complaints then we moved to another room to calm down and shower.

We checked out and moved to another hotel, passing a pest control man on the way out.

This hotel is not suitable for tourist use. The staff are incapable of running it properly.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jimthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Just back from this place and I concur totally with what is written below. the hotel is tiny and situated in a rather dim street, off the main thoroughfare.

Inside the restaurant was a joke and the bar nonexistent. The breakfast was so bad we choose to eat elsewhere. The lift is tiny also and not for the faint hearted.

Staff were obnoxious at best and downright threatening at worst - our air conditioning was broken, as was the shower, and they simply refused to fix either. Beware of the night receptionist who will curse at you if you wake him!

Finally ive never stayed in anywhere quite like this, here in Northern Ireland this would be a guesthouse at best - not a 3* hotel.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tullynagardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafael Spinola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafael Spinola Hotel

Address: Upper Ross Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 10, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £25 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rafael Spinola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafael Spinola Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing