We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed for three nights around a friends wedding in Malta. St Julians is great location - lots of good bars and restaurants fringing a beautiful, azure bay.

She had negotiated a group booking rate so we had a good deal for the stay. We also got upgraded to a sea view room with balcony which was lovely.

The room was spacious and spotless: enormous bed was very comfortable and even though we were on the road side, there was absolutely no noise.

Breakfast was extensive and high quality fresh food with omlettes/eggs cooked fresh to order.

Mario the concierge was a great help, especailly trying to help my boyfriend watch the Champion League final on Sky TV in the downstairs bar the following morning!

Rooftop pool added an air of luxury and despite building work taking place on a neighbouring building's roof, it didn't really intrude on our relaxing/sun bathing.

One small annoyance was the hotel lifts. They seemed exceptionally slow - resulting in a long wait every time you called a lift - and perhaps four are not enough for a large hotel like this.

A small grumble though. Overall a great stay and would recommend for anyone looking for a well above average hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you and your partner enjoyed our facilities.

Your kind feed-back has been passed on to Mario and I would like to express my gratitude for your recommendation - it is truly appreciated.

With our best regards,
Franco Vella,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    847
    331
    105
    57
See reviews for
429
1,152
127
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a great time at the hotel, its lovely, clean and we had a suntrap of a balcony. We were facing away from the beach, which at first was a disappointment, but actually it turned out for the best.
Great location and fantastic breakfast with something for everyone. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We just spent a week at this hotel. The location is fantastic--right on the beach, close to a bus stop and a wide range of restaurants and bars to choose from in the area. However, the hotel itself was disappointing, especially for a five star. We booked a junior suite which was really cramped for two people with not enough storage space for clothes. The balcony was huge but the space should have been used for the rooms instead.

The hotel is very popular for parties and weddings and these are sometimes hosted on the terrace below the rooms so we were regaled with loud jazz music until almost midnight. I do not think that guests should be subject to someone's party. Also, the noise from the bar terrace carries easily to the rooms so it's pretty noisy. Add that to a church across the road that starts chiming from 6am and almost every half hour until 8am and then from 6pm onwards. So, if you are really seeking some quiet space, this hotel is definitely not well suited.

The choice at breakfast was vast but the quality of the food was not good and expensive at Euro 17.50 per person. The hotel really tries to sell their special evenings at the restaurants by leaving call back messages on your phone. You think it's an urgent message and it's someone selling you the restaurant specials for the next evening--very tacky for a 5 star establishment.

The spa was pretty good and the treatments very reasonably priced but with all the noise going on, it was hard to find somewhere to relax after your treatment. Be careful about five start hotels in Malta, they don't seem to be of the same standard as in other places.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Just returned home from a week in Malta at The Meridien in St Julians .
We had heard that Malta was a bit grubby so plumped for the best hotel we could afford and after searching through Expedia came up with this one .
Well Malta is a bit grubby , but if you like history and visiting anything historical you cannot go far wrong on Malta , we do and did. It was though lovely to retreat to this hotel after a hard day sightseeing.
The rooftop pool was great , water a little cool but acceptable , building work is going on next to the hotel ,(that seems to be the case nearly everywhere in Malta ) but it did not intrude too much.
The Spa pool was also a great place to relax , the sauna was hot and the ambience very peaceful, kids were allowed in here but only between certain times . We were with a teenager and she looks older than she is so we were ok any time. The Spa too expensive for our tastes, always think if they made it a little(a lot) cheaper more people would use it. Same can be said of the minibar and hotel bar too.
It is the room though that was our favourite . It was Large and clean , plenty of room for the three of us . Had a balcony with a partial Seaview , the rest of the view was quite poor , facing onto some building rears. This did not particuarily bother us though as we tended to only use it first thing or on return from eating to drink a bottle of wine from the local supermarket on.
The bathroom was superb , a corner bath and seperate shower, and a sink with a lit mirror which the family really appreciated , gonna buy similar for home . Dressing gowns for all of us were much used.
The aircon worked a treat , and it was very sticky whilst we were there so it was required.
It was very quiet , amongst the quietest I have used .
It was though not all sweetness and light !
The beds were too hard for me , the wife thought the pillows good.
The TV remote is a pain to navigate.
The Minibar is a rip off and they charge you 5 euros a day to have it removed. So we didnt !
The rooms are very dark with the lights out and curtains drawn , which is a plus but one night I walked into the wall on the way to the bathroom trying not to wake the family up , a huge bruise started to form so I went for the minibar to hold something cold against my head . Thankfully the swelling eventually reduced and the freezing cold can from the fridge stopped any visible bruise from forming , unfortunately it is an electronic fridge and we didnt realise and ran up a 45 euro bill by just moving things around . It senses when something is removed from the fridge and from a tray on the dressing table too. BE WARNED.The can I used was REd Bull , it cost me 7 Euros to cool my head and I drank it after I discovered that out !
The Receptionists were very helpful , not at all like I have read in earlier reviews.
The carparking is brilliant , free and readily available beneath the hotel. A real boon if you hire a car . I would, the buses are dreadful to use , ok for Valetta but to go further afield it would take all day .
The lifts are really poor if you hit them at a busy time , four of them and so slow, We were really glad to see the back of the lifts .
The bar and restaurant were expensive so we drank and ate out mostly .Not that it is cheap anywhere in Malta these days .
The reception is on the 3rd floor and it seems very odd there.....the rear of the hotel contains the main entrance yet the 'front' of the hotel , the entrance that veryone uses on the '0' level for access to the promenade and buses and the car park. Its ok when you get used to it but feels a little odd, and on arrival at the hotel can be a little confusing after a days travelling and driving through the Maltese streets from the airport. Driving is easy on Malta , not at all as bad as everyone says but it is a little hard finding routes as there is a tendancy for that most vital of signs to be either missing or only apparent as you pass the junction you should ahve gone down! You soon learn though :-)
Overall , I would recommend it with reservations , we would return and maybe one day will . Malta is a love it or hate it place . We loved it . It is not everyones cup of tea though and I guess the same can be said for this hotel.

Room Tip: high up, we were on the 8th floor do not go lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasujoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We went to the meridien in May for a friends 50th birthday, we only went for 3 nights but this turned into 7 as we were stuck due to the ash cloud, we were in the intercontinental hotel for the extra 4 nights, which was also a good hotel.

The rooms were very roomy and very clean.

We were only on a b&b basis so I can only comment on breakfast, the breakfast was plentiful and very good, however, on the Saturday and Sunday it was very busy due to all the weekend visitors.

People say in some reviews that the staff are not polite, however, in my opinion you reap what you sow, all the staff that we dealt with were courteous and polite and very helpful. There was however a number of guests who obviously think that please and thankyou is beyond them, you can't expect expect staff to be gushing if you can't show them some degree of politeness and respect.

A restaurant I would recommend in St Julians is 1927 and also a visit to Bezz Cafe is well worthwhile, great cocktails and very reasonably priced. You will find Bezz cafe on the sea front but you will need to look closely for it.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay in the meridien. Oh and the massages are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Loopyloo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We went here for my wifes birthday treat.
Booked online costing £100 a night we presumed we had a bargain for a 5 star hotel.
On arrival we were told our Valley View room was available and we checked in. Soon to find out the Valley view was the carpark and road behind with building works adjacent.
The room had a seperate toilet (smallest ever in the world... tiny, tiny, laughably small) to the bathroom and the room was on the small side for a family staying for a week, with a rather unsuitable single chair bed for our 9 year old. So we asked about an upgrade and paid more money again to have a family room, with again valley view as they wanted a further premium for a sort of half view of the bay below, Sea view.

The family room was great and at least our daughter had a double bed and there was floor space to move about etc The toilet at least now, you couls close the door and move in it.
Shower was amazing and bath was ok.
Bed was MASSIVE and comfy except for the poor quality cheap pillows provided. Asked a maid to be told no others available..... 5 star ???

The next shock was a small pool on the roof. Not big enough for all the guests!!! no more than 10 meters or so by about 5.
Infact there were only about 40-50 sunbeds and unless you went up first thing or last thing they were in use or reserved with towels!! When we complained to reception we were told it was a business hotel, not a family hotel!!!!!! WHAT.... they why take our money booking children in..... Not very good.
We asked to use the indoor pool, no children during the day... after 6 was ok,
We used it once at 6pm to have the chavy Maltese youth hog the jacuzzi. The pool was ok, but as its open as a health club as well as to residents its too busy.

The bar was good, happy hour a bonus... bar staff ask you to take a seat and they will be over. Can be hit and miss..... drinks can take a while to arrive and one night we waited and questioned the wait.... to be told they forgot our order!!!! we cancelled it and headed off out! Not 5 star.

The hotel is not 5 star for holiday makers... yes it has a spa room, conference center, business area....... Business 5 star maybe... not family holiday 5 star.

Each morning the drilling, banging and cutting from the building works next door drove us mad. In fact so much so... we escaped to nearby hotels and used their pools as ours was so poor.

Would we return..... No.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padimsddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Good points:
Great location - an easy stroll to St Julians and the bus to Valletta is efficient
Room - spacious with a sea view (decent sized balcony)
Food at breakfast - a lot of choice and good quality
Cleanliness - can't complain
Spa - lovely warm pool, good jacuzzi and quality of massage pretty high (but see below...)
Bad points:
Reception - our check in was not especially warm, she was most concerned about getting us to sign up to the preferred customer scheme than informing us about useful things like breakfast
Spa service - we were kept waiting about ten minutes (no apology at all) for our massages and the time was not made up. This is VERY disappointing and unacceptable - a good spa is important to me. I used the spa at the Meridien in Dubai and couldn't fault it.
Rooftop pool - due to the high winds, the sun shade in between us fell down. It was a huge heavy object and potentially could have killed us if we happened to be under it at the time - that really is not an overstatement. No-one was on duty so it was guests who went round and out the other shaes on the floor so not to injure anyone.
Bed - far too hard.
Please feel free to contact me if any queries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,479 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing